FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Error message on Maxxum Dynax 7 when turning on?

Author
SlothShooter View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 12 February 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote SlothShooter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Error message on Maxxum Dynax 7 when turning on?
    Posted: 04 December 2012 at 02:32
Hello, just purchased a Minolta Maxxum 7 from ebay and I occasionally get an error message when turning the camera on.

This happens about once every 10 start ups, most often after sitting awhile, but enough to have me worried.

A few details:

-Film roll counter states 40 rolls have been through the camera. Can't tell if it's been reset. Seems like it's in great condition.
-I've duplicated this issue with a Tamron 28-300, Minolta 50mm 1.7, 28-135 and 80-200 HS G lens.
-the person I bought the camera from said he ran two rolls of film through and had never experienced the error message, of course. :-)
-he also stated that the batteries were the same as when he bought the camera. They look O.K and there's no corrosion present in the battery compartment. Will buy new batteries tomorrow.
-there was a tiny bit of "liquid" under the control panel cover. Maybe he tried to clean the camera before selling it (it does suffer from sticky back) and there's no evidence of it since.
-no error message when I press the depth of field button, but I'm not using a D lens, not sure if that matters.

Really would like to keep the camera. Feel I got a good deal for $180 shipped, Tamron 28-300 and Vivitar flash included.

Any advice/thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
 



Back to Top
AudioDoc View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2006
Country: United States
Location: SLC Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 2791
Post Options Post Options   Quote AudioDoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2012 at 13:29
Hi Brett,

If I remember correctly there a few errors that the 7 can display. There is one common problem with the 7 caused by a defective or failing aperture base assy'. Parts to repair that problem a NLA. That is something to consider. So you might want to contact the seller right away and advice them of this issue. Let us know if when that error message occurs if it just says error or if there is also a number. I don't think the film data number can be reset, btw.

Regards,

Kelly

Back to Top
SlothShooter View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 12 February 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote SlothShooter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2012 at 13:36
Thank you for the reply Kelly.

No number to go along with the error message unfortunately.

I had read about the aperture problem, but couldn't duplicate the error message pressing the d.o.f. button and it hasn't happened while I'm taking pictures, so I'm hopeful that's not the issue.

We'll see if some fresh batteries does the trick today.

Glad to hear the data number can't be reset. Makes me excited that only 40 rolls of film went through it, even if it suffers from "sticky back".

Thanks again.
Back to Top
SlothShooter View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 12 February 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote SlothShooter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 December 2012 at 22:04
Well, I purchased a VC-7 and installed it with fresh AAs and now and then I still get the error message when turning the camera on. Turning it off and then on again solves the problem, but I'm worried for the future.

FYI, I'm currently using a 50mm 1.7 lens and the error message can occur with the lens cap on or off.

Is there any way to diagnose this problem? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11326
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 December 2012 at 22:59
According to the manual, you should take the batteries out and re-insert them when you get this error message, I guess you did that. If the problem remains, one should contact the Minolta technical services

I don't know what you could do. It seems something inside, in the electronics (?) seems to be faulty, but no idea what. The liquid you see might be the problem. The lenscap shouldn't make any difference.

Btw, the number of films can be reset.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
baybora View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 15 February 2021
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Post Options Post Options   Quote baybora Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 February 2021 at 08:17
I am wondering if you have been able to find a cure to the error problem. I have the same issue, but unfortunately I get the error upon pressing the DOF view button as well..I suspect this is the famous aperture plate issue.
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2636
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 February 2021 at 11:01
Originally posted by baybora baybora wrote:

I am wondering if you have been able to find a cure to the error problem. I have the same issue, but unfortunately I get the error upon pressing the DOF view button as well..I suspect this is the famous aperture plate issue.


A faulty aperture mechanism would cause the error message to come up .
Seeing as it comes up when you press the DOF preview button , it's a safe bet that's what the issue is .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > Film cameras

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.