FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

First picture is black

Author
the_fat_zebra View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 20 February 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Post Options Post Options   Quote the_fat_zebra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: First picture is black
    Posted: 06 March 2010 at 11:25
I saw this in the camera talk forum, and thought I'd pose the question here to A2/3xx users. Have you had this problem where the first exposure you make is a black picture, for no particular reason? It sometimes happens to me (and yes of course the lens hood is off) So anyone else who has sporadically encountered this issue on an A230?
 



Back to Top
Stamp View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 31 December 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 80
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stamp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 19:52
Nope... Can't say that I have... If I did, I'd surely be sending it in for warranty work.
Back to Top
dca1213 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 December 2008
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Posts: 3780
Post Options Post Options   Quote dca1213 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 19:57
I've never experienced that with my A200, that was an old Minolta problem with the 7D.
Dennis
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14436
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 20:23
I saw a recent similar complaint regarding a Sony model around here somewhere. But yes, there was a more serious and probably unrelated issue with the KM 5D/7D.
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14436
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 23:53
Originally posted by sybersitizen sybersitizen wrote:

I saw a recent similar complaint regarding a Sony model around here somewhere.


Here it is.
Back to Top
mz-n10 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 June 2009
Status: Offline
Posts: 390
Post Options Post Options   Quote mz-n10 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 March 2010 at 00:04
Originally posted by the_fat_zebra the_fat_zebra wrote:

I saw this in the camera talk forum, and thought I'd pose the question here to A2/3xx users. Have you had this problem where the first exposure you make is a black picture, for no particular reason? It sometimes happens to me (and yes of course the lens hood is off) So anyone else who has sporadically encountered this issue on an A230?


you need to take off the lens cap not the hood

no i have not had this happen to this on my a200.
a900|a200|M70-210f4|M50f1.4|S17-80|∑28-80|24-70Z|T17-35|Samyang 14|Samyang85f1.4
 



Back to Top
pkh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 21 March 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote pkh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 March 2010 at 21:49
I also have the same "Black Frame" problem with my Sony a230. After taking about 5000 images (in about 4 months), I had 5 TOTALLY black images up to now. As far as I can tell, it only happens after turning the camera on; the first taken picture is totally black, the second picture will be OK (I don't even need to turn the camera off, only the first image is lost ~ totally black).

This gets annoying with the time :(

Hopefully Sony has an answer to that!
Back to Top
pkh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 21 March 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote pkh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2010 at 14:47
I sent my a230 back for the service and after about ~3 weeks I got the camera back :)

The following parts were replaced:

+ Shutter unit
+ Slider unit

It seems that the "Black Frame" problem is gone! hopefully forever :)

I Just wanted to let you know, if you have the same problem with your a2xx or a3xx, then it is covered by the guarantee (within 2 years).

After the guarantee period this service would cost about ~200 EURO!!
Back to Top
the_fat_zebra View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 20 February 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Post Options Post Options   Quote the_fat_zebra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 April 2010 at 11:40
I bought it in the UK, so I'll send it across the channel as soon as planes start flying again
Back to Top
Akunde View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 March 2010
Country: Australia
Location: Brisbane
Status: Offline
Posts: 480
Post Options Post Options   Quote Akunde Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 April 2010 at 02:36
Interesting. My partner has the A230 and has mentioned that every now and then she gets a black picture on the first shot.

Would it be harming the camera as a whole if she kept on using it as it is now? If its not harming the camera, I cant see her sending it in to get repaired...
A7r+VG, A900+VG, A700+VG & 70-400mm G, CZ 24-70mm, 10-20mm & 100mm Macro
Back to Top
pkh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 21 March 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote pkh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 April 2010 at 10:13
I also didn't know if I should send the camera for service or not! BUT after I got a very strange shutter sound (like something breaks), the camera showed the following error message for the first time:

"Camera Error"

I took a second picture and it was fine!
After that I emailed Sony people and told them what had happened. They wrote me back, that this is the right time to send the camera for service

I believe, Sony is well aware of this issue and that is why it is covered by the guarantee.

Besides, it was annoying to me, that there is a chance the first picture I'm shooting is gone! Sometimes you don't get the second chance to take a picture of your subject.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.