FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

FIXED! A300 viewfinder offset from image

Page  123>
Author
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: FIXED! A300 viewfinder offset from image
    Posted: 29 June 2011 at 15:07
I tried google search and found a few vague threads with my issue but none had any sort of solution I could try and follow.

Camera: A300 (purchased used last year). I went through the 9999 counter twice already.

Recently I noticed that the image (picture) that is recorded by the camera is offset from what I see in the viewfinder (OVF or Live View) by a whopping 1.5". Looking at my recent pics, I think it was progressively getting worse over the last 1-2000 shots or so. Here is a picture I took that had the ruler in full view from top to bottom and shows how big the shift is:


Anyone know if and how I could fix this (preferably myself). Is there some kind of an adjustment I can tweak?

I had an offset issue with my A100 but in addition the motor was making constant noise. To repair it was over $200 so I decided to buy a used A300 for just a little more instead. Now the A300 is having a similar issue. I'm not having luck with the Sony's...maybe it is a sign that I need to switch to Cannon...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Edited by xtnct - 05 July 2011 at 13:33
 



Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11480
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 15:23
That's a symptom of SSS failure, the sensor is now not centered with the SSS mechanism froze in place. When you first turn the camera on are you hearing any noise? And yes, it will require a parts replacement at a service center to fix it, if that is what is happening.

Edited by stiuskr - 29 June 2011 at 15:26
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 17:19
Thanks for the tip. When I turn on the camera, it makes a quick 1 sec noise and vibration. It feels like the cleaning mechanism and it was there from the very beginning. In other words, I did not notice any new noises from the camera at all.

The camera has more pics out of focus than usual, but it would make sense if I see one thing through the viewfinder and the camera is actually looking in another spot for its data points.

Anyone know how much the SSS replacement would run? May not be worth it to fix it as is in most cases. Can I just re-align the adjustment and use the camera without the SSS feature somehow?
Back to Top
thomcher144 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 April 2008
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey USA
Status: Offline
Posts: 1500
Post Options Post Options   Quote thomcher144 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 17:35
Try contacting precision Camera, I have used them in the past and have no complaints. April is in charge of the Pro Repair dept., make sure you mention Dyxum.com.

April Trujillo
pro@precisioncamera.com 1-800-665-6515

or
link to website

You can get an online quote from the website, but you should still call them to make sure the SSSS repair is covered.

TOM

Edited by thomcher144 - 29 June 2011 at 17:35
TOM A350, A580, 550si, a complete set of Maxxum crossed x len's (minus the 300mm), Tam 17-50 2.8, 70-200 2.8. 70-300 5-6.3 USD, 90 2.8 macro
Photographs are memories we can see and share.
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11480
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 17:40
Some people can hear the SSS motor on start up as it goes from the park mode to an active state, my ears aren't that good enough and I've never noticed that with mine but IIRC it's a whirring type of sound. I'm not going to say it's a commom occurance but it isn't unusual, a few members here have had the same failure. Just hang tight for a day or so and you'll get some replies from those people who've had to deal with this.

oh, yeah. Forgive my manners, but Welcome to Dyxum! You've definetly come to the right place.

Edited by stiuskr - 29 June 2011 at 17:51
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 17:58
Originally posted by stiuskr stiuskr wrote:


oh, yeah. Forgive my manners, but Welcome to Dyxum! You've definetly come to the right place.


Thanks! This forum is great & very helpful! I have been visiting on and off for a while but never had anything useful to contribute. Lots of great info I learned here and even picked up some stuff from the classifieds in the past. I was a member before, but my user id was not recognized anymore so I had create a new account. Some of the pics you guys take & share are just phenomenal!!!
 



Back to Top
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 18:33
Precision Camera has a $200 min charge that restores the camera to like new condition. Which is not bad, but for a little extra, I could possibly upgrade to a mid-range model (A500,550)... I'm in this tough situation again as with the A100 (which I bought new when they first came out). Figured these things would last at least few years...

If I can't adjust the alignment myself and keep using the A300 without SSS (someone tell how if possible), What should I do?

1) spend $200 to fix but have like new camera (paid $300 for it last year)
2) spend ~$400 for a used A350/A500/550?
3) buy a G12 (I really liked the G5 we had until wife spilled a bottle of water over it) and save up until I got enough cash to replace with a A55 or just sell all my lenses off and go with Cannon







Back to Top
OldClicker View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowledge Base Contributor

Joined: 18 February 2009
Country: United States
Location: Mundelein, IL
Status: Offline
Posts: 632
Post Options Post Options   Quote OldClicker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 19:14
If it is SSS failure, the indicator in the viewfinder will just flash and not show the bars going up/down. - Terry
Back to Top
thomcher144 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 April 2008
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey USA
Status: Offline
Posts: 1500
Post Options Post Options   Quote thomcher144 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 20:27
Bad manners here too! Welcome to Dyxum.
One more sign that the SSSS has failed is the camera body will get very warm where your right thumb rests while shooting. At least it did on both of my A100's when it failed. If you don't want to have it repaired , I have an A330 kit with an extended warranty good until 2/14 listed here

TOM
TOM A350, A580, 550si, a complete set of Maxxum crossed x len's (minus the 300mm), Tam 17-50 2.8, 70-200 2.8. 70-300 5-6.3 USD, 90 2.8 macro
Photographs are memories we can see and share.
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14453
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 23:55
To confirm that the sensor has shifted out of position and is stuck: Set the camera to 'M' mode and Bulb shutter speed. Remove the lens, press and hold the shutter button, and look at the sensor to see if it's centered in the opening or not.

To my knowledge, nobody has ever posted a DIY solution to this problem.
Back to Top
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 June 2011 at 04:09
Thanks everyone!

You are correct. The indicator bars are flashing and not going up and down. Sybersitizen's instructions also confirmed that the sensor is shifted out of the center (the top of the sensor is hiding up into the camera).

Taking a chance, I decided to take the hammer approach as an experiment (as the camera is pretty much useless at this point). I took one of those precision screwdrivers and forced the sensor down back into position (there is a metal tab holding the sensor in place - this is what I used to push against). It took some force to move it. Took a test shot and camera became usable again, had it aligned pretty well again - minus the SSS of course.

But once I turn the camera off/on again, the sensor reverts to the top offset position - darn it!! So close!!

There must be a way to move that default sensor position down and make it stay there. Anyone have any ideas? Maybe I could disconnect the motor that move that sensor. I would have to take the case off - but I never taken a camera apart and don't know what things look like or what I'd be looking for to disconnect. Are there any instructions on how to take the case off the camera out there?
Back to Top
jvsanchez View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 October 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Status: Offline
Posts: 1607
Post Options Post Options   Quote jvsanchez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 June 2011 at 05:09
Originally posted by xtnct xtnct wrote:

Thanks everyone!

You are correct. The indicator bars are flashing and not going up and down. Sybersitizen's instructions also confirmed that the sensor is shifted out of the center (the top of the sensor is hiding up into the camera).

Taking a chance, I decided to take the hammer approach as an experiment (as the camera is pretty much useless at this point). I took one of those precision screwdrivers and forced the sensor down back into position (there is a metal tab holding the sensor in place - this is what I used to push against). It took some force to move it. Took a test shot and camera became usable again, had it aligned pretty well again - minus the SSS of course.

But once I turn the camera off/on again, the sensor reverts to the top offset position - darn it!! So close!!

There must be a way to move that default sensor position down and make it stay there. Anyone have any ideas? Maybe I could disconnect the motor that move that sensor. I would have to take the case off - but I never taken a camera apart and don't know what things look like or what I'd be looking for to disconnect. Are there any instructions on how to take the case off the camera out there?


There are no DIY instructions because i don't think this is a job anyone here would recommend as a DIY. I've never found any instructions for removing the case of the camera, and i'd say that's pretty risky business... but there's a multitude of screws around the sides and bottom of the camera, so i'd start there.

Before you destroy your camera though, why not send it off to a repair center and get a quote for a repair? Sensor stabilization repair probably wouldn't cost more than $300.

Edited by jvsanchez - 30 June 2011 at 05:10
- Vincent
α7 IV | CZ 55/1.8 | Σ 35/2 C | FE 20-70/4 G | FE 70-200/4 G | FE 200-600/5.6-6.3 G
Back to Top
jvsanchez View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 October 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Status: Offline
Posts: 1607
Post Options Post Options   Quote jvsanchez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 June 2011 at 05:12
Originally posted by xtnct xtnct wrote:

To repair it was over $200 so I decided to buy a used A300 for just a little more instead. Now the A300 is having a similar issue. I'm not having luck with the Sony's...maybe it is a sign that I need to switch to Cannon...


That's part of the risk in buying second hand. You've gone through the file counter twice, but there's no way of knowing how many times it'd been rolled over before you bought it

And hey, welcome to dyxum!
- Vincent
α7 IV | CZ 55/1.8 | Σ 35/2 C | FE 20-70/4 G | FE 70-200/4 G | FE 200-600/5.6-6.3 G
Back to Top
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 June 2011 at 13:18
Originally posted by jvsanchez jvsanchez wrote:

Before you destroy your camera though, why not send it off to a repair center and get a quote for a repair? Sensor stabilization repair probably wouldn't cost more than $300.


Right, spending $300, even $200 to fix it is not worth it for me (especially on a entry level camera). I'd rather add a little more cash and just get something slightly used again and give this thing to my kids to play with (I have an old Tamron lens that I don't care about).

Yes, buying used is a risk of course, but there are also great great buys from honest people out there as well. A similar problem happened to my A100 which I bought brand new.... so... just not having luck with the A series I guess :(

Edited by xtnct - 30 June 2011 at 13:19
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.