FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

FIXED! A300 viewfinder offset from image

Page  <123>
Author
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 July 2011 at 15:35
I DID IT!!!! I made the camera usable again. Obviously SSS is not working, but I managed to center the sensor and prevent it from moving up by physically adding some double sided padded tape - basically setting the sensor into a fixed position. Took me 2 hours. Hardest part was figuring out how to disconnect the various flat wires.

No idea if this will burn out some motor down the line but it does not matter in my case. I'll take a guess that it will also affect the self cleaning feature but other than that, I went from a useless camera to a DIY fixed camera that can again be of use minus a feature that one can live without all for the cost of some tape.

Next up, do the same fix on my A100. :)

If you still got those A series cameras with a shifted sensor in some junk drawer, they can probably be resurrected into use again!

 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14453
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 July 2011 at 16:14
Originally posted by xtnct xtnct wrote:

Hardest part was figuring out how to disconnect the various flat wires... No idea if this will burn out some motor down the line...

Sounds like you disabled the piezo actuators (not really motors) that do the shifting. What kind of disassembly was required to reach them?
Back to Top
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 July 2011 at 16:38
Originally posted by sybersitizen sybersitizen wrote:

Originally posted by xtnct xtnct wrote:

Hardest part was figuring out how to disconnect the various flat wires... No idea if this will burn out some motor down the line...

Sounds like you disabled the piezo actuators (not really motors) that do the shifting. What kind of disassembly was required to reach them?


No - I did't disable the motors/actuators. I meant disconnecting and then reconnecting the wires on the back circuit board (that sits under the back cover) so that I could get to the sensor underneath it. All the gold looking wires in the first pic.

Process was not bad, take off back cover, disconnect the wires on the circuit board and lift it off, remove the sensor protection plate and that was it. I took some pics... if I have time I'll write up a DYI for it. Would they post on this site if I did that?




Edited by xtnct - 05 July 2011 at 13:19
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11480
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 July 2011 at 19:28
Post all you want, we're curious about this endeavor. It'd be nice if you could overlay some arrows or letters in the images for a better description for others who might want to try.

Congrats on the fix, I'll edit the threads title to reflect that.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
DaveK View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowledge Base Contributor

Joined: 08 October 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Center
Status: Offline
Posts: 3960
Post Options Post Options   Quote DaveK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 July 2011 at 19:39
You're a hero! I would never dare that! Congrats!
Best regards, Dave
A7r & A7r3
Let's make a colorful world!
Gallery
Back to Top
bartman View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 10 August 2010
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 957
Post Options Post Options   Quote bartman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 July 2011 at 19:49
Originally posted by xtnct xtnct wrote:

I DID IT!!!! I made the camera usable again. Obviously SSS is not working, but I managed to center the sensor and prevent it from moving up by physically adding some double sided padded tape - basically setting the sensor into a fixed position. Took me 2 hours. Hardest part was figuring out how to disconnect the various flat wires.

Next up, do the same fix on my A100. :)

If you still got those A series cameras with a shifted sensor in some junk drawer, they can probably be resurrected into use again!



With compliments
It's a pity that last week I sold my a100 with the same problem for just 40euros...
 



Back to Top
paso144 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 October 2009
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 471
Post Options Post Options   Quote paso144 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 July 2011 at 19:54
You can also do it the more crude way. When the stabilization of my A100 gave up after a fall I just took a small screwdriver and positioned the sensor from the front using sensor clean mode. You can stick the screwdriver on the side of the sensor and just move it.
A99, A850, 16fish-eye, 17-35G, 28-70G, 24-105D, 28-135, 50/1.4D, 50macroRS, 58/1.2, 85/1.4D, 80-200/2.8APO black, 100macroD, 100/2, AT-X304, 500mirror, 5600D HS.
Back to Top
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 July 2011 at 22:33
Originally posted by paso144 paso144 wrote:

You can also do it the more crude way. When the stabilization of my A100 gave up after a fall I just took a small screwdriver and positioned the sensor from the front using sensor clean mode. You can stick the screwdriver on the side of the sensor and just move it.


If you read my earlier posts, I have tried that. But the camera reset to be offset after turning it on and off. That is why I had to take this more involved approach.
Back to Top
xtnct View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote xtnct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 July 2011 at 13:36
Official detailed step by step DIY created. Enjoy!

http://www.jgajewski.org/SonyAlphaDSLRSensorFixDIY/index.php

Edited by Micholand - 05 July 2011 at 18:04
Back to Top
puddleduck View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 November 2009
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Cumbria, UK
Status: Offline
Posts: 1259
Post Options Post Options   Quote puddleduck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 July 2011 at 08:32
Originally posted by xtnct xtnct wrote:

Official detailed step by step DIY created. Enjoy!

http://www.jgajewski.org/SonyAlphaDSLRSensorFixDIY/index.php


Excellent write up there!
--Andy
Back to Top
PacoR View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 April 2014
Country: Spain
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote PacoR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2014 at 10:08
Thank you!!! Good diy solution. But, let me recommend an easier one. Just disconnect the SSS unit from the mainboard: in step 6, the wires on the bottom of the picture, the third by the left. Bye bye Mr. SSS!!!!

Back to Top
StuG View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 03 April 2023
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote StuG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 April 2023 at 10:44
Thank you as well. I was able to fix my A350 with your describption. Unfortunately the link is dead so I had to use a different source to find out how to open up the camera: LINK.

Perhaps I don't have any stabilization anymore, but the picture and composing with liveview and the viewfinder are matching better.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 15065
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 April 2023 at 21:17
Nice that a nine year old thread is useful
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Tsmoodi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 August 2023
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tsmoodi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 August 2023 at 04:45
The original guide is available on wayback machine:

https://web.archive.org/web/20121113040153/http://www.jgajewski.org/SonyAlphaDSLRSensorFixDIY/index.php

Can't believe I'm creating an account on an 11 year old thread to post this
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  <123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.