FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

flash on A77ii

Page  12>
Author
beccles View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 May 2012
Country: United Kingdom
Location: windsor
Status: Offline
Posts: 248
Post Options Post Options   Quote beccles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: flash on A77ii
    Posted: 25 April 2019 at 14:09
just been testing a lens just bought (for £12.50!). it's the sony 18-55 f3.5 SAM.
just took a few scenic shots in the garden, but the flash kept popping up, even though the light is good. i had flash set to auto so assumed it wouldn't be operative in good light, but it was. Am i going to have to keep going into the menu to set it off every time i don't want it, or am i missing something?
 



Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11348
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 14:48
What shooting mode are you using, Auto, P, A, S or M and what metering mode are you using? The more info you give us the more reliable the reply, what ISO was selected and what aperture dialed in?
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
beccles View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 May 2012
Country: United Kingdom
Location: windsor
Status: Offline
Posts: 248
Post Options Post Options   Quote beccles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 14:57
only does it in AUTO or SCN, not in any other mode. Metering mode setting not available in either of those
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 9795
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 16:00
You set autoflash in the menu?
What settings did the camera choose? (aperture, shutterspeed, ISO)

You say the light is good, but humans are very good in adjusting to lower light levels, so maybe it is not as good as you think!
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
beccles View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 May 2012
Country: United Kingdom
Location: windsor
Status: Offline
Posts: 248
Post Options Post Options   Quote beccles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 16:14
broad daylight and sunny...

yup, set autoflash in the menu..

for a landscape:
1/125
f8
iso 100

for a close up on a flower
1/100
f5.6
iso 160

flash fired on both
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 9795
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 16:33
Hmmm, I do not see a reason for the flash to be on. Was this with SCN or AUTO?
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
beccles View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 May 2012
Country: United Kingdom
Location: windsor
Status: Offline
Posts: 248
Post Options Post Options   Quote beccles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 16:37
tried both
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14207
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 18:54
Originally posted by beccles beccles wrote:

for a landscape:
1/125
f8
iso 100

for a close up on a flower
1/100
f5.6
iso 160

flash fired on both

In full AUTO or SCN modes, my A77 with 18-55 SAM II (and any other recognized lens I tried) does the same thing, firing the flash every time no matter what. The only way to avoid it is to turn Flash Off in the Fn menu. Those modes are extremely restrictive in their behavior.
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11348
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 19:57
If you're not up to using A, S or M modes yet you should go with P mode where any changes made while in that mode like Flash OFF are permanent.

Edited by stiuskr - 25 April 2019 at 20:00
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
beccles View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 May 2012
Country: United Kingdom
Location: windsor
Status: Offline
Posts: 248
Post Options Post Options   Quote beccles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 20:11
i use it 99% of the time for bird pics, where i have P set up to my own particular requirements, which don't include the on-camera flash. I am very familiar with A, S and M modes having been around SLRs since the 60s, the first one being a pentax S3. I still have my weston master :-) and used to do all my own film processing at home.
i'm not "struggling" but if you could tell me why with the flash set on auto and the light sufficient for the flash not to be required - i.e. bright sunlight - why, in A/S/M SCN AUTO modes it fires i would be most grateful...
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14207
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 20:45
Originally posted by beccles beccles wrote:

... if you could tell me why with the flash set on auto and the light sufficient for the flash not to be required - i.e. bright sunlight - why, in A/S/M SCN AUTO modes it fires i would be most grateful...

It fires in P,A,S,M modes because you chose to deploy the flash instead of leaving it closed. Flash set to Auto is not even an option those modes. It's On unless you turn it Off in the Fn menu. Set it to Flash Fill if you want autoflash exposure when you choose to deploy it.

It fires in AUTO and SCN modes because those modes force the flash to be deployed unless you specifically turn it off with the Fn menu. (In some cases it will also deploy if Flash is set to Auto, but it will never deploy if Flash is set to Off.) Sony chose to make those modes as dummy-proof as possible, meaning the camera enforces restrictions that are annoying to people who know what they're doing.

Edited by sybersitizen - 25 April 2019 at 21:00
Back to Top
beccles View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 May 2012
Country: United Kingdom
Location: windsor
Status: Offline
Posts: 248
Post Options Post Options   Quote beccles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 20:56
it doesn't fire in P when the light is good because i have set it off in P mode.. It does fire in ASM when the light is good, and i haven't "deployed" it.. it is set to auto so shouldn't be required in good light unless that's a design fault. My original question was do i need to go into the menu to turn it off in auto/scn if the light is good, and apparently i do. i still don't see why it would fire in any mode when set to auto, when the light is excellent. If i wanted that i would set it ON or FILL IN

to me AUTO means fires when needed. seems not to be the case with this camera

Edited by beccles - 25 April 2019 at 21:00
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14207
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 21:04
Originally posted by beccles beccles wrote:

it doesn't fire in P when the light is good because i have set it off in P mode.. It does fire in ASM when the light is good, and i haven't "deployed" it.. it is set to auto so shouldn't be required in good light unless that's a design fault.

My A77 does not allow Flash to be set to Auto in P,A,S,M nodes. The option is grayed out, so it can never deploy on its own in any of those modes. I have to raise it myself if I want it.

My original question was do i need to go into the menu to turn it off in auto/scn if the light is good, and apparently i do.

Yes, you do.

i still don't see why it would fire in any mode when set to auto, when the light is excellent. If i wanted that i would set it ON or FILL IN

to me AUTO means fires when needed. seems not to be the case with this camera

It is what it is simply because Sony made it that way - right or wrong.
Back to Top
beccles View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 May 2012
Country: United Kingdom
Location: windsor
Status: Offline
Posts: 248
Post Options Post Options   Quote beccles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2019 at 21:27
i can live with that.. so long as i know :-)
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lighting Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.