FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

FN button

Author
ubordsc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 August 2019
Country: United States
Location: EGR Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote ubordsc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: FN button
    Posted: 25 August 2019 at 16:55
I'm having an issue with the FN button on my A77ii that I seem unable to fix/understand. Often - about 1/2 the time - when I activate it, the "Send To Smartphone" setting appears and not the FN menu settings I've specified.   I'm able to revert to the menu setting screen by cycling the "On/Off" switch.   But then the next time I use it, it goes back to the Smartphone setting. Is this normal ?   How do I (can I ?) change this so that only the function menu of settings is displayed. I'm assuming this problem is due to my lack of A77ii knowledge and can be easily remedied.
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14227
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 August 2019 at 18:14
Originally posted by ubordsc ubordsc wrote:

I'm assuming this problem is due to my lack of A77ii knowledge ...

Yep. Look at this page, where the behavior of the Fn button (identified as #13) is described. It has two different operating modes depending on whether you're shooting or viewing.
Back to Top
ubordsc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 August 2019
Country: United States
Location: EGR Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote ubordsc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 August 2019 at 19:09
If I understand correctly, you are (and Sony is) saying that when I'm in shooting mode, pressing the FN button should ALWAYS show the camera settings menu, and "Send To Smartphone" should only be displayed when I'm in view mode. Correct ?

Perhaps I'm not perfectly clear about shooting mode, but I think I am in "Shoot" when "Send To...." comes up.    I seldom view images on the camera, except for the image that is displayed immediately following the exposure.   Does that (immediate auto-review following exposure) constitute switching from "Shoot" to "View" ?   

As an example, yesterday I was shooting pictures of a lighthouse and after several shots I wanted to change the "drive" setting (ie 2 second timer). So I pressed FN. And I got "Send To Smartphone".   Had the camera changed into View Mode ?   I hadn't press any other buttons since taking the last picture (pressing the shutter release).   
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14227
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 August 2019 at 19:55
Originally posted by ubordsc ubordsc wrote:

If I understand correctly, you are (and Sony is) saying that when I'm in shooting mode, pressing the FN button should ALWAYS show the camera settings menu, and "Send To Smartphone" should only be displayed when I'm in view mode. Correct ?

Correct.

Perhaps I'm not perfectly clear about shooting mode, but I think I am in "Shoot" when "Send To...." comes up.

You think so, but you don't know. You now need to confirm the actual behavior in both modes by testing.

I seldom view images on the camera, except for the image that is displayed immediately following the exposure.   Does that (immediate auto-review following exposure) constitute switching from "Shoot" to "View" ?

Test it. It probably does.

As an example, yesterday I was shooting pictures of a lighthouse and after several shots I wanted to change the "drive" setting (ie 2 second timer). So I pressed FN. And I got "Send To Smartphone".   Had the camera changed into View Mode ?

I don't know because I wasn't there.

I hadn't press any other buttons since taking the last picture (pressing the shutter release).

Can you be absolutely sure about what you remember? The way to know what's going on is to test, using your new knowledge.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2310
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 August 2019 at 20:11
I have an a77ii too and have never had that message come up .

The option wouldn't be available to me as I have the camera set to "airplane mode " so wi-fi is disabled to save battery power .
I never use wi-fi on it so this suites me .
If you don't need wi-fi , turn it off.

Likely as not your hitting the Fn button while the image is being reviewed .
Remedy to that is don't hit the Fn button until your back on live view , alter the length of time the image is reviewed to the minimum .
If it's set to 5 seconds , change it to 2 seconds .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14227
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 August 2019 at 20:15
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

Likely as not your hitting the Fn button while the image is being reviewed .

Exactly, and testing will provide the answer.

Remedy to that is don't hit the Fn button until your back on live view , alter the length of time the image is reviewed to the minimum .
If it's set to 5 seconds , change it to 2 seconds .

Or half-press the shutter release to immediately return to shooting mode before pressing the Fn button.

Or turn off Auto Review completely. It only takes a moment to press the Play button if you want to see what you just captured.
 



Back to Top
ubordsc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 August 2019
Country: United States
Location: EGR Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote ubordsc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 August 2019 at 11:41
Thanks ! I believe looking at Shoot-View is the best 1st step towqrd a solution.
Back to Top
ubordsc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 August 2019
Country: United States
Location: EGR Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote ubordsc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 August 2019 at 11:55
I do believe that a possible shift from Shoot to View modes is not due to an accidental change. My problem has been too consistent for too long. I'm thinking the best solution runs along the lines of disabling the auto review that follows each shot.    I'll get a chance to explore this idea later in the week. (trip to Vermont).   I appreciate all help and advise.
Back to Top
ubordsc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 August 2019
Country: United States
Location: EGR Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote ubordsc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 August 2019 at 12:01
I have turned off WiFi (airplane mode).   Even if there is no effect from this, saving battery power make good sense. I (too) never use it. And I think your suggestion that I'm pushing FN before moving beyond the auto review also sounds good.   I'll play with that idea and maybe turn it off too.   Thank you !    
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.