FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Focus issues with Tamron 150-600 g1

Author
coolmanbis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 11 January 2021
Country: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote coolmanbis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Focus issues with Tamron 150-600 g1
    Posted: 13 January 2022 at 14:13
Hi everyone.

I've just purchased a Tamron 150-600 g1 lens from mbp. I have received it about a week ago but due to bad weather was only able to really test it out today.

Sadly it seems to have a major issue related to focusing. It seems to me that the lens behaves like its focus has been limited regardless of the focus limiter switch.

When it is beyond the focus limit it seems to perform fine. Birds that were far away could be captured with ease but birds much closer to me just seemed impossible.

I have showcased the issue in a video : https://youtu.be/ifklK45TpyA

Does anyone have any potential fix? Or should i just return it?

Edit : Forgot to add but this issue happens on both my A99 and my A99II.

Kind regards.

Edited by coolmanbis - 13 January 2022 at 14:29
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12458
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 January 2022 at 16:42
My guess would be that the switch (or the internal cable) is broken and the lens internally is stuck on the limited setting.

EDIT: you asked what to do. Depending on the price you paid, I would get into contact with MPB if you are okay with a repair. Maybe they will pick up the bill for the repair.

Edited by addy landzaat - 13 January 2022 at 17:07
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
coolmanbis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 11 January 2021
Country: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote coolmanbis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 January 2022 at 19:11
Yeah that would make a lot of sense. It's a shame as the lens was listed as "excellent" in their grade. Must have been an oversight.

Seems all i can do really is contact them so i will do that tomorow.

Thanks.
Back to Top
TomV View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 29 September 2015
Country: United States
Location: Annapolis MD
Status: Offline
Posts: 49
Post Options Post Options   Quote TomV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 January 2022 at 13:33
I cannot tell by your video what you were testing. The min focus distance is about 9 ft. I just tested on my G2. I would return you lens if you see no reaction to the switch position.
TomV
Back to Top
coolmanbis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 11 January 2021
Country: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote coolmanbis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 January 2022 at 13:45
In the video i had the lens pointed at my couch and i focused it manually to about 4 meters where it was in focus.

I then try to activate autofocus with the shutter button and it does nothing.

I then focus it manually to about 8 meters and pressed the shutter button again and it engages the autofocus but only goes down to about 7 meters.

It fails to focus closer than 7 meters regardless of the switch position
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > A-mount lenses

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.336 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.