FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How to run old Minolta scanners on Vista & 7

Page  <1 910111213>
Author
harperstan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote harperstan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 September 2015 at 22:11
Originally posted by Freddan_6 Freddan_6 wrote:

We ended up in changing OS to 32-bit Win 7, and then the scanner was possible to install ( I believe in XP compatibility mode).


This is a very intriguing idea. I didn't think of installing 32 bit Win7 on 64 bit machine. In my searches for a solution, I found 32 bit SCSI driver for Win Vista, which is supposed to work in 32 bit Win 7. So if the K-M driver setup will work, I should be on my way. Will let you all know.
Stan
 



Back to Top
Cliff View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 November 2006
Country: United States
Location: Richmond Va
Status: Offline
Posts: 702
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cliff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2015 at 16:26
XP compatibility mode in Win7 is 32bit regardless of the native version of Win7. Shouldn't have to reinstall 32bit Win7 to run 32 bit xp compatibility mode because it's really just a virtual machine so it's independent of the native OS version on the computer.

FWIW installing a virtual machine using XP might be a decent solution with any newer OS. We've had good luck with VM Virtual Box, and the price is right. It could be a solution for the life of the scanner.
Contax RF, Minolta7000i, Sony A100, A65, Nex5T, A7ii, A6500. 2 many lenses, mostly ordinary Minolta & 3rd party A, MC/D, other mf, vintage Vivitars & cats, LA-EA2,3,4 E16-50&55-210mm
Back to Top
fritzenm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 February 2010
Location: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 158
Post Options Post Options   Quote fritzenm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2015 at 19:13
The question of reactivation of my Minolta Scanner certainly would be of interest for me - at the moment when I will be able to discover what may be wrong (probably physically) with my unit which, in the last attempts to get it back to work again connected on a XP notebook didn't pull in the film holder (or better, did not recognize that the holder was present already).

Because the part of making the device work from software side / drivers / connection (as long as it's USB) doesn't worry me too much. Afterall for other reasons I'm running older SW from XP times just fine on both Win 7 and Win 8.1 via Oracle's VM VirtualBox which runs a virtual XP system built from my original XP CDs. With support of external devices like mouse, external HDs, printer.

Perhaps I'll give it another try just installing first as suggested above by another poster a different scanning SW (Vuescan or different) before installing the proper KM scanner SW.
Back to Top
harperstan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote harperstan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2015 at 20:28
Originally posted by Cliff Cliff wrote:

XP compatibility mode in Win7 is 32bit regardless of the native version of Win7 ...


I have tried both, XP Mode and the Virtual Box, without success. The reason is that in native Win XP the SCSI drivers were embedded in the OS and not available from Adaptec or other SCSI vendors. XP Mode being really Win 7 does not contain those drivers, and Virtual Box for some reason does not install them during XP installation process. When you try to update the SCSI driver from Device Manager it fails to find it on line, and as I mentioned. it is not available from vendor. Catch-22 here.
Stan
Back to Top
fritzenm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 February 2010
Location: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 158
Post Options Post Options   Quote fritzenm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2015 at 21:50
How is the scanner connected physically to your computer? I'm asking because from my experience with installing XP in a virtual machine via VirtualBox the installation process is equal to that of a physical XP machine. And XP is installed completely, not an excerpt only. Meaning that if/when a new device is connected and recognized the required driver is installed. (Edit: Do you have Internet access activated in VB so that the virtual XP system can search there for drivers?)

As far as I remember the installation process for the scanner requested to install first the driver / SW before connecting the scanner for the first time.

Perhaps the key point of the problem is that while this preparation could be done in the virtual XP machine, the physical connection of the scanner is to the host machine. So if the scanner isn't recognized by the host system it won't be listed in the "Devices" list in toolbox of the virtual machine (as USB device) which would be necessary for allowing to use this device ("activate" it for use in the virtual XP machine).

OTOH if the scanner is an USB device I don't see why it shouldn't be recognized physically by the host system.

Edited by fritzenm - 02 September 2015 at 21:53
Back to Top
harperstan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote harperstan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2015 at 22:49
Originally posted by fritzenm fritzenm wrote:

How is the scanner connected physically to your computer?

The scanner is connected to the computer through SCSI host adapter. The host OS detects the SCSI board and attempts to install a driver (yes, there is internet connection). The attempt fails, a baloon error message is posted and the Device Manager / Other Devices / SCSI Controller shows an error condition. That process is automatic on startup. Now, if I open VM and start XP machine, the Device Manager does contain Other Devices but there is no SCSI Controller node. Selecting "Scan for hardware changes" does not detect SCSI controller. As a result, the scanner is not detected, the process being stopped at the SCSI layer. I am sure that the situation is completely different for USB based scanners, the VM XP does contain USB drivers with no error conditions.
Stan
 



Back to Top
Cliff View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 November 2006
Country: United States
Location: Richmond Va
Status: Offline
Posts: 702
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cliff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2015 at 03:39
Catch-22 sucks, sorry you've encountered it even virtually. Have you tried asking Adaptec if they have a current card that will replace your old one?

Here's a possible, think maybe it was referred to earlier.
"If you can find someone with a Vista x64 system there is an "Adaptec AIC-7870 PCI SCSI Controller (Emulated)" driver in the Driver Store on that system that will work with Windows 7 for a AHA-2940 card. For some reason, that driver was dropped from the in-box drivers in Windows 7.

It is located in the C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\djsvs.inf_6451fbc2 folder. Copy that djsvs.inf_6451fbc2 folder to your Windows 7 computer.

To install it, go to Device Manager, select your SCSI adapter, right click and choose Update Driver Software. In the Window that appears choose "Browse my computer for driver software". In the next window, enter the location of the djsvs.inf_6451fbc2 folder on your computer, then click Next. You will get warnings about the driver being unsigned and that it may not work. Say yes, you really do want to install the driver -- it will work." link

FWIW, I've got an XP machine I keep around just for stuff that needs it. It's air gapped so it doesn't get exposed to the web. The easiest way to run old hardware is on a machine where it was native. Arguing with computers hasn't ever been very productive for me. Giving them what they want is usually less frustrating.
Contax RF, Minolta7000i, Sony A100, A65, Nex5T, A7ii, A6500. 2 many lenses, mostly ordinary Minolta & 3rd party A, MC/D, other mf, vintage Vivitars & cats, LA-EA2,3,4 E16-50&55-210mm
Back to Top
fritzenm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 February 2010
Location: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 158
Post Options Post Options   Quote fritzenm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2015 at 12:48
Stan:

Sorry the fact that your scanner is connected via SCSI had escaped me. So the host doesn't recognize the device and/or install an apropriated driver. No wonder that the virtual machine can't find / operate anything when the host system isn't positive about the presence.

But now I was thinking that this type of problem might have been common in the transition time when USB ports appeared first. And I found the following article about an SCSI-to-USB adaptor. Perhaps a solution?

http://www.tech-faq.com/how-to-connect-scsi-to-usb.html
Back to Top
harperstan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote harperstan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 September 2015 at 23:00
Here are the results of my various attempts to run Minolta Scan Dual I in Windows 7. First of all, the results apply only to scanners with SCSI interface. I followed the advice of Christoph Oldendorf here to obtain the SCSI drivers. If you don't own the installation DVD for Win Vista 64 or 32 and you don't know anyone that does, you can still download the .iso file and extract the driver without having a key. Just Google for Vista iso. If you are lucky, the search for djsvs.sys may get you that file directly. Important note, there are two versions for djsvs.sys: the 64 bit which is about 87 kB and 32 bit which is 70 kB. The djsvs.inf file will work for both versions.

Once you have the driver file, you can add the SCSI device using Device Manager. If you want to run Minolta software, the only way to do it, is to install Win 7 32 OS on your machine. On my installation, I use a Hard Drive rack that allows me to swap disks with various variants of OS. If you have only 64 bit version of Windows 7, Google for "Windows 7 32 bit iso" and you can download the file. Burn the DVD and use your 64 bit version key to install the system. Really. The Minolta software install under 32 bit Win 7.

If you insist on using only 64 bit Win 7, install the 64 SCSI driver and then download and install VueScan. It will run the Minolta scanner.
Stan
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2113
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 September 2015 at 09:21
Originally posted by harperstan harperstan wrote:

... If you want to run Minolta software, the only way to do it, is to install Win 7 32 OS on your machine. On my installation, I use a Hard Drive rack that allows me to swap disks with various variants of OS. If you have only 64 bit version of Windows 7, Google for "Windows 7 32 bit iso" and you can download the file. Burn the DVD and use your 64 bit version key to install the system. Really. The Minolta software install under 32 bit Win 7....


If you wish to avoid multiple hard drives and dual boot, you can use a Virtual OS. I have found VMWare Player very good, and it's free. Applications which cannot run on 64-bit and involve custom hardware interfaces just work. e.g. supports WinXP 32-bit under Win10 64-bit.

Edited by IanL - 12 September 2015 at 09:25
Ian
Back to Top
tbroadley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 31 January 2010
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 272
Post Options Post Options   Quote tbroadley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 September 2015 at 00:10
You can get the scan multi pro to work with the original dimage software ( if you have it). The details are available through the scan multi pro group on Yahoo.
Tim
Back to Top
harperstan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote harperstan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 September 2015 at 00:51
I have tried both: XP Mode and VirtualBox with loaded Windows XP. The virtual machine does not install SCSI drivers and there is no bridge to the installed drivers on host OS.
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2113
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 September 2015 at 08:05
I understand that VMWare supplies SCSI drivers which function under the virtual system. Apparently, a floppy disk image is downloaded and mounted on a virtual floppy drive, to install the drivers into the virtual system.

Edited by IanL - 16 September 2015 at 08:10
Ian
Back to Top
harperstan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote harperstan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 September 2015 at 21:39
Just for fun, I installed the VMWare Player and added Windows XP as a "guest". The player is very similar to VirtualBox and just like the VirtualBox, it failed to run the Minolta scanner. The VMWare allows you to install only a default SCSI virtual controller connected to a virtual CD ROM, but there is no connection to the physical Adaptec SCSI card. So, unless someone makes a discovery, you need to boot 32 bit Win 7 in order to run Minolta scanner software, or run VueScan on 64 bit Win 7. (Again, this applies only to Minolta scanners with the SCSI interface.)
Stan
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Dyxum Community > Knowledge Base Page  <1 910111213>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.