FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How to run old Minolta scanners on Vista & 7

Page  <1 1213141516>
Author
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 16:27
Hi Guys,

I have a (Konica) Minolta RX-3 Scanner which I am trying to get to work. Does anyone have any suggestions for where to find a driver or can I use the .inf file provided and add a line for the scanner? I am going to be using VueScan for the scanner but there site doesn't mention support for this scanner. Any help is appreciated.

Cheers

Reiss



 



Back to Top
robca View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2019
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote robca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:06
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

Hi Guys,

I have a (Konica) Minolta RX-3 Scanner which I am trying to get to work. Does anyone have any suggestions for where to find a driver or can I use the .inf file provided and add a line for the scanner? I am going to be using VueScan for the scanner but there site doesn't mention support for this scanner. Any help is appreciated.

Cheers

Reiss




Isn't that a super-old SCSI scanner? If so, none of the methods described here will work, since all of these rely on the standard USB driver, just telling Windows that the connected scanner is, indeed, just a standard USB scanner

SCSI-based devices need dedicated drivers. Even getting the SCSI card to work in a modern version of Window might be a challenge
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11098
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:13
Why do you describe it as a "(Konica) Minolta RX-3"? It is a Konica RX-3 a.k.a. Sony UY-S100.
Found the press release date: september 2002. Konica and Minolta merged in August 2003 (announced January) so, it is fully Konica.

You can find the specifications here on Cnet.

It seems these are professional scanners. Vuescan does not mention Konica or Sony as a scanner make. You probably already saw this post in this thread.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:23
Thanks guys, yep I checked them forums, So what can I do to get it to work on Windows then? It is from 2002 by thr way.
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26158
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:24
I can't find anything on an RX3 scanner - what can you tell us about it?

It sounds like it might have been a sort of add-on to Konica's mini-lab stuff. How much effort and money is worth putting into it may well depend on what sort of spec it has.

I would not have thought it would have an ICE/infrared pass capability - can you confirm? Do you know a resolution and how large a negative it will take?
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26158
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:27
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

Thanks guys, yep I checked them forums, So what can I do to get it to work on Windows then? It is from 2002 by thr way.


If it is SCSI only, you need a SCSI card (not cheap) - you might have more luck finding an old PC from 20 years back that has a card in place and an OS that is more likely to drive it (w97?/ME).
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11098
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:28
Originally posted by Bob J Bob J wrote:

I can't find anything on an RX3 scanner - what can you tell us about it?
See my post

Originally posted by Bob J Bob J wrote:

It sounds like it might have been a sort of add-on to Konica's mini-lab stuff. How much effort and money is worth putting into it may well depend on what sort of spec it has.
Would be my bet as well.

Originally posted by Bob J Bob J wrote:

I would not have thought it would have an ICE/infrared pass capability - can you confirm? Do you know a resolution and how large a negative it will take?
It is 35mm scanner it seems without ICE.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:28
Hi,

Its for sale for 20 pounds, which is not much. it takes 35mm negatives and 35mm slides as well as aps film. I think it was originally an addon for the Mini-Lab stuff, it does 2700 DPI and bulk scanning. I assumed with a bit of perserverance I can get it to work but I cannot find any drivers etc for it. Except from Sony Drivers.
Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:30
By the way I have a SCSI card and it works. I have a Nikon LS-30 also which is working on the SCSI card. I just do not know if I plug the scanner into SCSI if it will work out of the box
Back to Top
robca View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2019
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote robca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:31
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

Hi,

Its for sale for 20 pounds, which is not much. it takes 35mm negatives and 35mm slides as well as aps film. I think it was originally an addon for the Mini-Lab stuff, it does 2700 DPI and bulk scanning. I assumed with a bit of perserverance I can get it to work but I cannot find any drivers etc for it. Except from Sony Drivers.

Well, there is a reason why it's "only" 20 pounds, and it's still too expensive to sell

Unless you find a 20 years old PC with the original software and drivers (and working SCSI), there isn't enough perseverance in the world to make it work on a modern PC

It's probably a good deal for someone who wants to gut it and use its parts (for example, the main lens must be worth much more than 20 pounds, if you need one)
Back to Top
robca View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2019
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote robca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:35
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

By the way I have a SCSI card and it works. I have a Nikon LS-30 also which is working on the SCSI card. I just do not know if I plug the scanner into SCSI if it will work out of the box

Unlike USB, SCSI was never really developed into a standard for scanners. Each scanner had its own custom driver code

Out of curiosity, what OS are you using that still works with a SCSI card and Nikon SCSI drivers?
Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:36
Originally posted by robca robca wrote:

Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

By the way I have a SCSI card and it works. I have a Nikon LS-30 also which is working on the SCSI card. I just do not know if I plug the scanner into SCSI if it will work out of the box

Unlike USB, SCSI was never really developed into a standard for scanners. Each scanner had its own custom driver code

Out of curiosity, what OS are you using that still works with a SCSI card and Nikon SCSI drivers?


Windows 10 Latest Build
Back to Top
robca View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2019
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote robca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:40
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

Originally posted by robca robca wrote:

Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

By the way I have a SCSI card and it works. I have a Nikon LS-30 also which is working on the SCSI card. I just do not know if I plug the scanner into SCSI if it will work out of the box

Unlike USB, SCSI was never really developed into a standard for scanners. Each scanner had its own custom driver code

Out of curiosity, what OS are you using that still works with a SCSI card and Nikon SCSI drivers?


Windows 10 Latest Build

Then according to this https://www.colorperfect.com/Vuescan/Adaptec-SCSI-controller/AHA-2940-etc/driver-for-64-Bit-Windows-7-and-8/ you might be able to have Vuescan recognize it, assuming Vuescan knows about a similar enough SCSi scanner.
Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 17:46
Originally posted by robca robca wrote:

Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

Originally posted by robca robca wrote:

Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

By the way I have a SCSI card and it works. I have a Nikon LS-30 also which is working on the SCSI card. I just do not know if I plug the scanner into SCSI if it will work out of the box

Unlike USB, SCSI was never really developed into a standard for scanners. Each scanner had its own custom driver code

Out of curiosity, what OS are you using that still works with a SCSI card and Nikon SCSI drivers?


Windows 10 Latest Build

Then according to this https://www.colorperfect.com/Vuescan/Adaptec-SCSI-controller/AHA-2940-etc/driver-for-64-Bit-Windows-7-and-8/ you might be able to have Vuescan recognize it, assuming Vuescan knows about a similar enough SCSi scanner.


Ahhh so I just plug it in and if windows recognises it then VueScan should work?
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Dyxum Community > Knowledge Base Page  <1 1213141516>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.