FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

how to watermark an image

Page  12>
Author
RosieA100 View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Moderator emeritus

Joined: 27 October 2006
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 4824
Post Options Post Options   Quote RosieA100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: how to watermark an image
    Posted: 20 November 2007 at 21:59
Can someone plse let me know how to do this the most simple way? I found a program called Picture Shark, which was easy enough but the watermark is set at a pixel size so on cropped pictures it is bigger annoying and I NEED something by the end of today before I get some prints made. Surely there is something that is basic which will let me mark multiple images at the same time... tia
a700,a100
16-80Z, 50/1.7, 70-210/4, 75-300G SSM, 100-400APO, 15-30, 28-300, 90 macro, 19-35, 100/3.5, Lensbaby Composer

 



Back to Top
wetapunga View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 September 2007
Country: New Zealand
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Posts: 5164
Post Options Post Options   Quote wetapunga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2007 at 22:13
I use the free version of Umark. Umark lite.

It allows you to watermark up to 50 images at a time. And you can specify the font-size to match. The drop-down menu only goes up to 32 pt, but you can over-write that with 48, 60, whatever.

The only trick is you have to put the water-marked images in a different folder to the originals. It won't let you over-write existing images.

I'm going to be chained to a PC most of today if you want any other help.

Chthonic regards- B
a7R, a77ii, QX100 | Minolta 17-35mm G, 20mm, 35-105mm O, 50mm M, 70-210 beercan, 85mm G, 100mm M, 300mm G | Sony 16-50mm, CZ16-80mm, 70-200mm G, 135mm f2.8 STF | Tokina 11-16mm
Back to Top
RosieA100 View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Moderator emeritus

Joined: 27 October 2006
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 4824
Post Options Post Options   Quote RosieA100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2007 at 22:17
So when you say you can specify the font-size to match does that mean you have to change the size with the different cropped pictures??
a700,a100
16-80Z, 50/1.7, 70-210/4, 75-300G SSM, 100-400APO, 15-30, 28-300, 90 macro, 19-35, 100/3.5, Lensbaby Composer

Back to Top
wetapunga View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 September 2007
Country: New Zealand
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Posts: 5164
Post Options Post Options   Quote wetapunga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2007 at 22:23
I'm afraid so, you have to process similar-sized photos in distinct batches.

There doesn't seem to be any way of making the watermark proportional to the size of the photo.
a7R, a77ii, QX100 | Minolta 17-35mm G, 20mm, 35-105mm O, 50mm M, 70-210 beercan, 85mm G, 100mm M, 300mm G | Sony 16-50mm, CZ16-80mm, 70-200mm G, 135mm f2.8 STF | Tokina 11-16mm
Back to Top
keith_h View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 May 2006
Country: Australia
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Posts: 3055
Post Options Post Options   Quote keith_h Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2007 at 22:41
Check this months pbase magazine. There is a good tip there for anyone using CS.
Back to Top
eddyizm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 2145
Post Options Post Options   Quote eddyizm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2007 at 23:18
rosie,
don't you have photoshop?
i'm not sure if you can create actions in elements, but i have one created for CS2 and it works great, it resizes by % so its always on and i can batch process as well.
 



Back to Top
dilettante View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 April 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2970
Post Options Post Options   Quote dilettante Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2007 at 23:24
Originally posted by eddyizm eddyizm wrote:

rosie,
don't you have photoshop?
i'm not sure if you can create actions in elements, but i have one created for CS2 and it works great, it resizes by % so its always on and i can batch process as well.


Annoyingly, you can't do actions in Elements, as far as I know. I do my watermarks in PSE using the 'Process Multiple Files' option, where you get to specify size (in points), colour, position (to some extent) and opacity. I just wish they would come out the same size on landscape and portrait pictures.
Back to Top
H20boy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 March 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1486
Post Options Post Options   Quote H20boy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2007 at 23:41
Yah, I hear ya rosie. Percent of print size would be perfect but I haven't found anything that perfectly fits the bill yet. I have PSP x2, so maybe someone who has our pp software has an action they created, just need to type up different content?

I'll be watching this thread with much interest.   
Matt - TX l Maxxum-m42 adapter - that's it   :(     l My Galleries
Back to Top
Octupi View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Knowledge Base Contributor

Joined: 28 August 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 5601
Post Options Post Options   Quote Octupi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 November 2007 at 00:08
Here is one...not sure how it works, but lets you batch process them...and for $20, if it works well, it'd be worth it. (this is not an endorsement...i have never used it)

uMark

this one has a demo trial mode:

Twiga

Another one w/ a free trial

BatchPhoto

Here is a free one for personal use



Picture Shark

And lastly a link to links



Link
Back to Top
RosieA100 View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Moderator emeritus

Joined: 27 October 2006
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 4824
Post Options Post Options   Quote RosieA100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 November 2007 at 02:32
aarrrhhh I am going nuts... I have followed the instructions in the pbase magazine (thanks Keith) and have got everything done right up until making the droplet... $%^#$* I just don't understand what I am supposed to be doing or what I am doing wrong, is there anyone who is able to look at this and give it to me in ULTRA BASIC
a700,a100
16-80Z, 50/1.7, 70-210/4, 75-300G SSM, 100-400APO, 15-30, 28-300, 90 macro, 19-35, 100/3.5, Lensbaby Composer

Back to Top
Rno. View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 May 2006
Country: United States
Location: Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 1793
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rno. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 November 2007 at 04:00
delete

Edited by Rno. - 21 November 2007 at 04:00
Ungeeking
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11353
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 November 2007 at 05:34
Haven't used it yet, but PSPPX2 has a watermarking feature.
EDIT: I've always added my sig in my pics with the text tool with a nice font selected, and then reduce it's overlay till it blends in a little.

Edited by stiuskr - 21 November 2007 at 05:38
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
RosieA100 View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Moderator emeritus

Joined: 27 October 2006
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 4824
Post Options Post Options   Quote RosieA100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2007 at 01:47
ok, I have got the watermark thingy happening - I think - now I am having trouble getting the into PS - it works fine here but in my PS is gives me ? I don't get it
a700,a100
16-80Z, 50/1.7, 70-210/4, 75-300G SSM, 100-400APO, 15-30, 28-300, 90 macro, 19-35, 100/3.5, Lensbaby Composer

Back to Top
dilettante View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 April 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2970
Post Options Post Options   Quote dilettante Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2007 at 10:00
Originally posted by RosieA100 RosieA100 wrote:

ok, I have got the watermark thingy happening - I think - now I am having trouble getting the into PS - it works fine here but in my PS is gives me ? I don't get it


Looks like you've worked out how to type a symbol (Alt+0169 on the numeric keypad). If it's showing up as a ? in PS, it may be because you're using an obscure font that doesn't have that symbol? If all else fails, (c) is perfectly clear.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.