FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

IMPORTANT: 7D / 5D adjustment program (2186)

Page  <1 1819202122>
Author
KAMSA View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 06 June 2012
Country: Netherlands
Location: Flevoland
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Post Options Post Options   Quote KAMSA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 October 2012 at 14:16
Have one working @ home on my laptop, so you have to wait til 19:00 GMT +1

Sent me a PM i wil give you a link

kind reg.
Sα200, KM5D,KM7D,KMDA200,M5000AF and a lot of SMA/MD/M42 Glass
 



Back to Top
Luis_Rubim View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 January 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote Luis_Rubim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 January 2013 at 00:23
Hi all, new here.

My 7D finally needed servicing. I have sent it for repair here in the UK and the camera is still not ok. The Anti Shake also seemed to start to fail, incidentally after the repair. Before it used to judder a bit but never failed. It went for a CCD replacement for damage due to bad sensor swabs (imagine that) and now the AS fails. I can only turn on the camera without failure if the camera is pointing down (by failure I mean not allowing me to take a pic). Apart from that, exagerated banding and other artefacts are all over the images which it never had before.

The reason I post this here is that I may need the 2186 program as the repairers may not have it. I am insisting on repairing this camera because it has sentimental value for me and has given me most of my press published work and was also a present from family. Aside from that, I prefer the image quality to anything else I got as well as the interface. As such, I am even considering ultimately, sending it to Runtime in Bremen for repair, if it comes back again unsatisfactory.

Could anyone help with a download or share link for the software plus the windows driver for the camera?

Thanks,

Luis
Back to Top
Lesuave View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 December 2007
Country: Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean
Status: Offline
Posts: 433
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lesuave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 January 2013 at 00:43
Hi Luis,

Welcome to dyxum. (link updated as download links are not allowed) I found this link.

I understand your sentimental attachment to your 7D. Mine has hardly been picked up from the box where it is stored since I bought an A77 one year ago but I don't want to sell it as I made excellent shot with it, some of them having been published.

Good luck.

Edited by Lesuave - 29 January 2013 at 23:43
Back to Top
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8523
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 January 2013 at 12:26
Welcome to Dyxum Luis.

The real problem is parts if your AS is shot - there aren't any in the UK or, IIRC, the USA.

The piezo rods which actuate the AS mechanism can snap and although replacing the entire AS mechanism (the ususal fix) is possible you need to get hold of the parts.

As I see it, if your AS is shot you have three choices.

1)Junk your 7D
2)Send it to Runtime in Bremen, Germany who still have a limited parts stock.
3)Get a donor camera (perhaps from the 'boneyard' in the external sales area of Dyxum) with a working AS mechanism and get it transplanted.

In the case of 2) and 3) the labour costs are likely to exceed the markt value of the camera.

It is possible to fix the sensor in position but again it's an expensive strip down and rebuild and you will of course lose AS.
I've been away!
Back to Top
Luis_Rubim View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 January 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote Luis_Rubim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 January 2013 at 23:22
Hi all,

Thank you so much for all your help. The Anti-Shake goes on as normal if I shake the camera as soon as I switch it on. I think it's just somehow or somewhat sticky.

And thanks Lesuave for your help too, I will keep the software just in case it's needed.

I need to get it repaired definately. At the moment the UK repairer contacted me to get the problem corrected and if he can't he will put the old sensor back in it and then I will send it to Bremen. I think it's been there before when Konica Minolta shut down as the rubber thumb pad had fallen off. So she will be going home for a while :D In the meantime, Runtime Bremen sent me an email saying repair is possible.

So things are looking up!
Back to Top
Saratoga View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 September 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Midlands UK
Status: Offline
Posts: 1018
Post Options Post Options   Quote Saratoga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2013 at 14:23
Considering the cost, condition and increasing rareity of the 5D and 7D, when my camera starts playing up I shall probably end up moving over to the Sony range, maybe something around the A700 model or something...

My camera will then go on The Shelf in the living room

Assuming also by then I had managed to get The Shelf up as well
ex-KM5D, Sony A700 & A55 Coventry UK. CovLtwt / Saratoga Flickr 2E0ELW
 



Back to Top
KAMSA View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 06 June 2012
Country: Netherlands
Location: Flevoland
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Post Options Post Options   Quote KAMSA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2013 at 17:05
My 5D, I repaired myself see another thread, witch I'm writing a document to put into the knowlidge base for anyone to use, It was not a easy repair and essemble and disassemble my 5D 4 times.

My 7D is a diverent story, after (I assume) an error 58 I can't call it the "first black frame error", becous the 5th frame was goin black after 5 frames and frezes the camera in burst mode.

Becouse I buy a200, the 7D was collecting dust, but when I try it after a year in the box It seems to have an empty internal battery, I put my grip on and two fresh full loaded NP400's in it and after 2 day's the problem was gone.

Used the 2186 adj program to see whats wrong but it has no dif. in the file I saved.

I just reset the camera to factory settings and the problem is gone, and stayes away to this day.

Hope your problem with your 7D can be solved, in my opinion the 7D is the most egonomic camera I ever had, and I can tel you if it fales me, biond repair it goes in a glasbox juist so I can look at it once a wile to wremember out good old times

Kind reg.
Sα200, KM5D,KM7D,KMDA200,M5000AF and a lot of SMA/MD/M42 Glass
Back to Top
Luis_Rubim View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 January 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote Luis_Rubim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 February 2013 at 11:30
Originally posted by Saratoga Saratoga wrote:

Considering the cost, condition and increasing rareity of the 5D and 7D, when my camera starts playing up I shall probably end up moving over to the Sony range, maybe something around the A700 model or something...

My camera will then go on The Shelf in the living room

Assuming also by then I had managed to get The Shelf up as well


I have the A700 by the way and I have never been 100% happy with it. Even with the sharpest glass, it lacks the biting detail sharpness that the 7D has and the colour too, hence another reason why I want to get my 7D repaired so much.
Back to Top
Luis_Rubim View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 January 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote Luis_Rubim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 February 2013 at 14:40
Hello all,

Just an update. My KM 7D came back from repair and is now working and producing the goods! The Camera Repair Workshop did a great job, in particular Dave Boyle who repairs the Minolta stuff. They replaced the sensor, tested it for 3 days and is now back. I couldn't be happier. The images are holding up well so far, all I need is a low light test, but I guess Dave must have got enough of me for a while :D But customer service there is superb, can't believe I can use my best and I dare say the best camera ever!
Back to Top
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8523
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 February 2013 at 14:53
Wonderful.

Dave's a good bloke.

May I ask how much the sensor replacement cost?
I've been away!
Back to Top
Luis_Rubim View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 January 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote Luis_Rubim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 February 2013 at 15:34
It was £125 + p&p . Not bad at all!
Back to Top
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8523
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 February 2013 at 15:50
That's very reasonable. Well done CRW!
I've been away!
Back to Top
Lesuave View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 December 2007
Country: Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean
Status: Offline
Posts: 433
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lesuave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 February 2013 at 16:36
Glad to see you've got your baby back. Fair price.
So, it seems there are still a few replacement sensors available for KM7D on this planet.
Back to Top
Luis_Rubim View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 29 January 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote Luis_Rubim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 February 2013 at 11:13
Well, the sensor is second hand, but as long as it has no problems and my camera produces the image quality it used to, I'm happy.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  <1 1819202122>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.066 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.