FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Incompatible Lenses Index

Page  123 4>
Author
Turerkan View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Moderator emeritus

Joined: 11 February 2006
Location: Turkey
Status: Offline
Posts: 6251
Post Options Post Options   Quote Turerkan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Incompatible Lenses Index
    Posted: 03 January 2008 at 19:22

Incompatible Lenses

Below is a list of old A-Mount lenses which are incompatible with current DSLR bodies. Note that this list may not inlcude all incompatible lenses. You can report missing incompatible lenses by replying to this post.

Sigma
Note that Sigma offers re-chipping for some of its incompatible lenses. Because of this, its possible to come by Sigma lenses that work with current bodies despite its listed as incompatible. If you want to learn whether a lens can be re-chipped, please directly contact Sigma technical support. There are also lenses with mounts that doesn't fit current A-Mount cameras, these mounts can be corrected manually by some work.

28-70mm F2.8-4 UC
70-210mm F4-5,6 UC II
70-300mm F4-5,6 APO macro super
70-300mm F4-5,6 DL macro super
Sigma 400mm f/5.6 (non-APO) (some units are incompatible, its known that Sigma ran out of replacement chips, upgrading is not possible anymore)

Following lenses were updated during production. Only serial numbers begining with 1... are incompatible:
24-70mm F3.5-5.6 Asp. HF
24-70mm F2.8 EX ASPHERICAL
20mm F1,8 EX DG ASPHERICAL
24mm F1,8 EX DG ASPHERICAL
28mm F1,8 EX DG ASPHERICAL
100-300mm F4 EX APO

Quantaray
Same as Sigma

Tokina
Unknown

Vivitar
Unknown


Edited by Turerkan - 04 January 2008 at 14:04
 



Back to Top
craiginscotland View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 May 2006
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Posts: 1195
Post Options Post Options   Quote craiginscotland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 19:45
When you say incompatible do you mean they won't work at all. I had the Sigma 20/1.8 and it worked on my 7D, and the serial number started with 1.

Edited by craiginscotland - 03 January 2008 at 19:46
Back to Top
Turerkan View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Moderator emeritus

Joined: 11 February 2006
Location: Turkey
Status: Offline
Posts: 6251
Post Options Post Options   Quote Turerkan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 20:17
really?... HotDuck mentioned here that this list was issued by sigma!
Back to Top
craiginscotland View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 May 2006
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Posts: 1195
Post Options Post Options   Quote craiginscotland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 20:52
The only problem I had with it was in the EXIF data it showed as 28mm instead of 20mm but the lens worked perfectly apart from that.

here, this pic was taken with it and as you can see it says 28mm at f2 but it was taken with the 20mm lens.
Back to Top
Turerkan View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Moderator emeritus

Joined: 11 February 2006
Location: Turkey
Status: Offline
Posts: 6251
Post Options Post Options   Quote Turerkan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 20:59
i have updated the list to reflect.
Back to Top
madcat207 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2007
Country: United States
Location: NM
Status: Offline
Posts: 1716
Post Options Post Options   Quote madcat207 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 21:19
Also add the original Sigma 400mm f/5.6 (non-APO). While later versions were given new chips, there still are copies out there with the original incompatible chips (and Sigma has no more replacements). I am not sure about serial numbers, so it is YMMV.

Craig - in regards to you lens - are you the first owner? If not, it is quite possible that it was rechipped by Sigma (or a 3rd party), who for some reason used a 28mm chip instead of the original 20mm (perhaps somebody had a 28 laying around and rechipped the 20).

Edited by madcat207 - 03 January 2008 at 21:21
My ever-growing flickr gallery:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dsbphotography
 



Back to Top
Turerkan View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Moderator emeritus

Joined: 11 February 2006
Location: Turkey
Status: Offline
Posts: 6251
Post Options Post Options   Quote Turerkan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 21:28
madcats idea is really a good story.. craig?
Back to Top
craiginscotland View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 May 2006
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Posts: 1195
Post Options Post Options   Quote craiginscotland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 21:45
I wasn't the first owner so it is possible. I bought it about 1 year after the 7D came out and used on a 800si for about 1 year before I got my 7D but I never knew how old the lens actually was.

On reflection your explanation makes sense, some techy guy at Sigma is more likely to have put the wrong chip in as a re-chip rather than it happening on the actual production line.

That also means there might be quite a few lenses with the serial number starting with 1... out there which do work on the DSLR's.

Edited by craiginscotland - 03 January 2008 at 21:45
Back to Top
yellowballoon View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 August 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 425
Post Options Post Options   Quote yellowballoon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 21:55
The only problem I had with my Sigma non-apo gun-metal 400mm f5.6 was it didn't quite fit on the camera's thread so I filed it down a bit and it works a-ok now. It's a really old battered one too...
-Yes sir, it has a 12mp CMOS sensor, ISO6400 capability, 11 point autofocus, HD capability, Live-view, SSS, one of the most technologically advanced...-Great, and how do you load the film?
Back to Top
madcat207 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2007
Country: United States
Location: NM
Status: Offline
Posts: 1716
Post Options Post Options   Quote madcat207 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 23:07
Originally posted by yellowballoon yellowballoon wrote:

The only problem I had with my Sigma non-apo gun-metal 400mm f5.6 was it didn't quite fit on the camera's thread so I filed it down a bit and it works a-ok now. It's a really old battered one too...

Short of trying it out on the camera, they are hit or miss. I know of one in a shop that is incompatible (will not AF or stop down on my a100); then again, I have another with a good chip. If you are buying from ebay, make sure a seller can confirm digital compatibility..
My ever-growing flickr gallery:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dsbphotography
Back to Top
matthiaspaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 940
Post Options Post Options   Quote matthiaspaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2008 at 00:15
Hi all,

Being aware of the fact that many of you won't be able to read it, I somewhat hate to post one link after another to our German Minolta forum... ;-) Be assured, my sole intention is to spread and share information in both directions for the benefit of both user communities (and actually all Minolta/Konica Minolta/Sony photographers).

It happens, that we started a similar collection of lens vs. body compatibility issues some years ago in these two somewhat lengthly threads:

http://www.mi-fo.de/forum/index.php?showtopic=4477
http://www.mi-fo.de/forum/index.php?showtopic=5294

Our approach includes compatibility issues with film bodies as well. Actually, a portion of the data has been collected even before the advent of the Konica Minolta 7D, so we may benefit from new listings of incompatibilities at Dyxum just as much as you may benefit from the older user experiences at our place.

Unfortunately, I don't currently have the time to participate in the data exchange myself, but I hope this posting may help a bit in "connecting" communities, and that some of our members who are also Dyxum members will help building up this new collection as well.

Greetings,

Matthias

Edited by Kiklop - 13 March 2008 at 12:38
--

Minolta-Forum (MiFo) - German forum for the Minolta, Konica, Konica Minolta and Sony world of photography: http://www.mi-fo.de
Back to Top
kiklop View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum owner

Joined: 14 July 2005
Country: Croatia
Location: Rovinj
Status: Offline
Posts: 10563
Post Options Post Options   Quote kiklop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2008 at 00:35
Thanks Matthias !

And .. as soon we do have some reliable list, i'm prepared to modify our lens database a bit and include this info in it for easier access.
Back to Top
brettania View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum factotum

Joined: 17 July 2005
Country: New Zealand
Location: Auckland
Status: Offline
Posts: 20650
Post Options Post Options   Quote brettania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2008 at 01:21
There is this list which may be of help . See.

It has a link in it to discontued lenses.

Edited by brettania - 04 April 2008 at 06:28
Back to Top
dutch-alpha View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 01 February 2007
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote dutch-alpha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 April 2008 at 16:58
sigma 24mm-2.8 does not seem to work on Alpha-100.
Anyone with same experience?
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Dyxum Community > Knowledge Base Page  123 4>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.