FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Incompatible Lenses Index

Page  <1 234
Author
pdeley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 June 2008
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 2717
Post Options Post Options   Quote pdeley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 January 2010 at 04:10
For the incompatible lens list: I have a Sigma AF-alpha 35-135 f3.5-4.5 (serial nr 2063638) and an AF-alpha 75-300 f4.5-5.6 (serial nr 3045333) that work on my Maxxum 5000 & 7000 but not on later film bodies nor on my a100 or a700. CRIS in Arizona said they could no longer rechip them.

For the not-really-incompatible list: I also have a Sigma super-wide II 24mm f2.8 (serial nr 5140424) and a 50mm f2.8 macro (serial nr 1025620) that wouldn't quite turn all the way to full lock and didn't work on my a100, but did respond to my wife's a100 and are fine on my a700 as well. Rather than widening the locking slot on the lens mounts, I dremeled a tiny little bit off the edge of my a100's locking pin and that took care of the problem with both lenses.
a450, a500, a65, a7, 700si & other 35 mm bodies, Sig 15-30, sam 30 2.8 macro, Pentax 40 2.8 pan, Sig 70 f2.8 macro, Vivi 90 f2.8 macro, Mino 100-400 apo, 300 f4, 500 f8, 600 f4
 



Back to Top
joecichlid View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 05 January 2010
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote joecichlid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 February 2010 at 03:04
Originally posted by pdeley pdeley wrote:

Joe, I tested a Sigma 70-300 DL macro super for a few weeks, it worked fine on my a100 and a700 and was (to my eye) optically a little better than Sony's 75-300: at least as sharp at 300 and less prone to CA. Not very practical for macro though (heavy and with an odd mechanism for enabling/disabling the macro switch). A great bargain price-wise but definitely not as sharp as the Min 300 f4 I got later on, so I didn't hang on to the Sigma DL in the end.


Well I went for it. I got one (Quantaray APO? version) off of Tech For Less via ebay for $42 shipped and I love it on my A350 so far. Auto focus hunts a little from time to time but the image quality is pretty darned good for a lens that cost me next to nothing. Sadly the weather here has been utter crap for the last four weeks so I haven't been able to get out and really give it a testing. Hopefully in the next week or so I will get a chance to use it out in bright day light and really push it as hard as I can. I do have to say I like the macro feature (auto focus works there too) as I do a lot of wild life shots and nature shots where it isn't always easy to get that close to the subject. If all goes well I will be hitting up a butterfly farm in St. Thomas in a few weeks where I can have some real fun with it. I do love to shoot photos of the butterflies down there but now I can get a lot closer without having to be close to them.
As others have mentioned the fact that the end of the barrel turns during focusing is a bit of a pain when it comes to playing with CP filter but it was easy to find a round hood for it instead of flower peddle design. That should be showing up in the mail box Monday so I can't wait to try it out.
Gotta love ebay!

Joe

Edited by joecichlid - 08 February 2010 at 03:07
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2113
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2010 at 16:27
From my own observation with 28-80 xi and 35-200 xi, plus comments from others, full compatibility of xi lenses with the SLT-A33 and -A55 is not currently available. The missing functionality is focus while power zooming, which is particularly disappointing for cameras whose selling points include continuous focus video.
Ian
Back to Top
Kokkarani View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 September 2015
Country: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote Kokkarani Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2015 at 16:54
I have Sigma 60-200 zoom AF-Beta lens which works good with my sony A100 camera. The lens works in AF mode and it auto focus. Serial no. is 2030354
Back to Top
grebz2013 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 May 2016
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote grebz2013 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 May 2016 at 16:49
FYI...I reached out to Sigma directly about this when considering a potential purchase. Sony A57 and the Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 with product code 566-205 are NOT compatible. This lens appears to be first generation 70-200 and is in the Dyxum DB. Regards.
Back to Top
TomTomClub View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 07 September 2019
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote TomTomClub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 September 2019 at 20:24
Hello everyone,

I recently bought a sigma lens from ebay which is showing some odd behavior. I'm not sure if this related to the general sigma incompability issue, maybe someone has a clue or further knowledge which could be helpful.
That said the lens in question is a 60-200mm f4-5.6 and I am using it on SLT-a58. The lens uses a push-and-pull mechanism, filter size is 52mm and the serial numer starts with a 2. I couldn't find anything about it online.
First I thought everything was okay. The mount fitted perfectly, the zoom mechanism worked flawlessly beside the inevitable cteep. It focused fast and precisely. Then I wanted to take a picture and the finder went blank, then showed an error message, telling me to turn the camera off and then on again. So I did that with no result. Switched off, the error message remained until I took the battery out.
Now after a lot of experimentation I can now take some pictures, as long as I leave the autofocus off and the aperture above f8 or so. But obviously I can't use it for good in this limbus-like state, so any hint would be appreciated.
When I arrive at taking pictures, the results are good, but not overwhelming. Precisely sharp like seldom seen, but unbelievably pale and sort of washed out.
Thanks in advance

 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 9914
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 September 2019 at 21:13
It seems it is the lens discussed here on Pentax Forums and it seems it was build for the first generation cameras.

Some more information on the lens here and here on Dyxum. It seems it is hit or miss, quite like your experience.

And of course welcome to Dyxum
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 2642
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 September 2019 at 21:23
If you depress the aperure lever on the lens does it spring back quickly?

There may be mechanical fitment issues with the aperture lever and/or screw drive slot on old Sigmas.
Sony A7II A6000 A77II LA-EA3 LA-EA4 MC-11 MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 783
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 September 2019 at 22:40
I have a Sigma 60-200 - as I noted on the first of the threads Addy linked. It works well with my SLT bodies (2 x A58 & A77), but not with OVF bodies which don't recognise it is there. It's performance is nothing special and it doesn't come out of the drawer very often, but it's not a bad lens. I have no issues with exposure, everything works as expected.

Like QuietOC I suspect there is an aperture problem - lets face it, everything else seems to be working.

The camera may be objecting to an aperture mechanism that is jammed - so the camera goes into self-protect mode when it meets too much resistance.
Back to Top
TomTomClub View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 07 September 2019
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote TomTomClub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 September 2019 at 05:48
Thanks to all of you for the info and advice, I really appreciate it. Even more so, as you really helped me fix it. After reading QuietOC's post I checked the lever and there was something weird about it that I had not noticed before. The lever was stuck and there seemed to be something missing or at least it looked as if something had been cut off. So I took a tiny screwdriver and softly tried to push the lever. Then I realized, there wasn't anything missing, the opposite was the case. A little piece of plastic was stuck inside right in the path of the lever. It was hardly noticeable and looked as if it had been tailor made to fit in there. I have no idea who the he'll did that and I wonder for how long it had been there, but after I removed I tested the lens and everything works just fine. Amazing :-} so thank you so much, what a nice welcome!
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 9914
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 September 2019 at 06:58
Well, your a real camera repairman

Good to see it works now.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 783
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 September 2019 at 09:13
It seems an odd lens to choose but I have used a similar technique to close down the aperture on a lens I was using reversed. Perhaps it was to shut it down for use via an adapter without aperture control.

Whatever, I am pleased to hear all is now well - enjoy your lens and, perhaps, post a few of the results to Dyxum.

Edited by Phil Wood - 10 September 2019 at 09:49
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Dyxum Community > Knowledge Base Page  <1 234

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.