FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

interesting Meike MK-320 flash

Page  <123
Author
mrnewba View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 04 November 2013
Country: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote mrnewba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2016 at 02:13
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

Just tried the flash on my a3000 with the 18-55mm lens on .
Works perfect .
Spot on exposure when set to TTL in any mode . aperture priority , shutter priority or manual .
Correct exposure regardless of if it was direct flash or bounce flash .
Tried it with the supplied diffuser in both positions , exposure was still spot .
Changed the aperture on the camera , and the correct aperture is shown on the back of the flash .
At all apertures , exposure is spot on .
Took some shots close up and some up to about 3 metre away .
All shots were correctly exposed .

Whatever the issue is , it's not a compatibility issue .

Put your camera on the green auto mode on the dial .
That will rule out if you've got a setting wrong on the camera .
Then , if that doesn't give a correct exposure , it must be a setting on your flash .

The only other thing is could be is if the flash is faulty .
Do you know anyone else with a Sony camera to try the flash on ?


Omg, I'm even more afraid now. I tried two mk320 on my a3000. One of them I know that is working because it was my friend's flash that he uses on his a6000 and nex 6 and works ok. But on my a3000 it didn't work. :(

The weird thing is that we also tried his hvl-f60m and everything work perfect.

What firmware version your a3000 runs? Mine is 1.00.

If you don't mind, could you please record a video to show exactly how you are doing? I think I'm doing something stupid and things are not working because of that.

Edited by mrnewba - 18 October 2016 at 02:26
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2310
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2016 at 02:33
Firmware V 1.00 is the only firmware version .
There have been no updates .
The fact that a f60 flash functions correctly rules out the camera having a faulty hot shoe .
But the fact that you've tried another 320 flash on the camera that you know works on a Sony camera , but not yours is strange .
Did your flash work fine on his camera ?

Have you tried it with the camera on auto ?

Very puzzling .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2310
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2016 at 02:40
I've no idea how to post a video to show you !

If you haven't got it sorted by tomorrow I will put some pictures on of the setting on the flash and the camera so you can make sure both are set up the same way .
It's 2:30 in the morning in this part of the world , so I need some sleep !
Good luck .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
mrnewba View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 04 November 2013
Country: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote mrnewba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2016 at 02:52
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

Firmware V 1.00 is the only firmware version .
There have been no updates .
The fact that a f60 flash functions correctly rules out the camera having a faulty hot shoe .
But the fact that you've tried another 320 flash on the camera that you know works on a Sony camera , but not yours is strange .
Did your flash work fine on his camera ?

Have you tried it with the camera on auto ?

Very puzzling .


I don't have my flash anymore. I returned it for refund. :/

I tried on full auto but it didn't work either. This is driving me crazy. Lol
Back to Top
mrnewba View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 04 November 2013
Country: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote mrnewba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2016 at 02:54
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

I've no idea how to post a video to show you !

If you haven't got it sorted by tomorrow I will put some pictures on of the setting on the flash and the camera so you can make sure both are set up the same way .
It's 2:30 in the morning in this part of the world , so I need some sleep !
Good luck .


Thank you very mutch, sir. It will be of great help if you could upload some images.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2310
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2016 at 00:29
Originally posted by mrnewba mrnewba wrote:


Thank you very mutch, sir. It will be of great help if you could upload some images.


It's very straight forward .

This is how the display on the flash is ;

Meike MK320 setup for TTL
by Neil , on Flickr

And this is what the LCD on the camera shows ;

a3000 set up for flash
by Neil , on Flickr

TTL flash metering is fine , exposure compensation works fine .
Everything works as it's supposed to .

Borrow your mates flash , check it's set up the same , and see if it's working correct .
Can't see why it wouldn't .
If that one works on his camera and a Sony flash works on yours , it should rule out and faults such as a bad connection .
And as you can see , it's works fine with my a3000.
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
 



Back to Top
mrnewba View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 04 November 2013
Country: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote mrnewba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2016 at 01:32
Hi, thank you again my friend. I will try again. I just bought a f58am plus the adaptor adp maa. When every thing arrives here we will try again. I also have an a37.

Is there a way to check mk320 firmware? It has a micro USB slot.

Every thing is pointing to a bad connection.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2310
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 October 2016 at 11:17
I've no idea about the flashes firmware .
I can't find the manual for the flash to check , might be worth looking on Meikes website .
I bought the flash when it first came out , so it must have the original firmware on it , never updated it .
The a3000 is as it came out of the factory , again these haven't had a firmware update , and everything works correctly .
So that shouldn't be an issue .

It's hard to say how it could be a connection problem .
You've had the HVL-f60m flash on your camera , and that worked fine .
So you know the cameras fine .

The MK320 works fine on your friends a6000 .
So you know the flash is fine .


If camera and flash were set up as seen in the photo's , everything should be good .

Very strange .


see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
mrnewba View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 04 November 2013
Country: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote mrnewba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2016 at 14:00
Hi, my f58am arrived yesterday and I tested it on my a37 and on my a3000 with adp-maa adapter. It worked flawlessly on both cameras. I think you solved the problem: bad connection. I'll not buy another mk320. Perhaps the new godox for sony MI.

Thank you all for you help. :-)
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3404
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 October 2016 at 22:24
I've used the Meike a bit on my A58 now, so I thought I'd write some impressions from the point of view of someone who is still a comparative novice with flash.

First the gripes:
With only two AA cells, battery life is short. I had trouble initially getting it to work at all with rechangeable cells, but buying a couple of new sets cured that. It will run them down if left in, so I take a spare set of charged cells whehn I'm planning to use it.

It has a number of interesting functions and some quite useful ones, but no HSS, so if you want fill-in flash at wide aperture in daylight you'll need a large ND filter, and the Meike is just powerful enough to do this if you're not too far away.

On Camera:
It works well on the camera, with accurate TTL and EV compensation either off camera, or in-camera provided I remember to set the A58 to ADI flash (pre-flash TTL seems to ignore the -2EV fill-in command). However I find the ISO and apertures repeated on the flash are usually wrong (typically twice the real ISO).

For a cheap flash it is more than powerful enough for portraits and groups in low light levels. It also will reduce power to less than the A58's on-camera flash, which is good because the A58 flash won't go low enough for f1.8 portraits at 1-2m.

I find that Gary Friedman's advice to use a piece of bent white card as a reflector/diffuser works well with the Meike, giving some nice modelling. I use a shirt-stiffener cut into a wedge shape and held on with an elastic band. Seems to work best if the model looks away from the flash.

Off-camera:
The Meike has S1 and S2 modes, so it can be used off-camera with either the camera flash as a trigger (which has a pre-flash in all modes) or a manual flash as trigger. But it only works in manual mode off-camera (and can't be adjusted form the camera), which is fine for posed portraits where you have time to adjust things but a nuisance for shots on the fly.

I found with off-camera portraits (direct flash, not bounce) I needed 1/64 power at 2m with an f1.8 50mm lens which worked well, and leaves plenty of power for bounce when the room isn't strongly coloured.

Other stuff:
I converted a small cheap flash diffuser into a magnifier (with two fresnel lenses back to back replacing the diffuser screen) for birding which doubles the Gn but runs the batteries down really quickly.

The flash is quite dinky so it will sit in a side pocket of the gadget bag without displacing any lenses, and with the 'Friedmann diffuser' it takes some pleasing portraits on camera which is something of a nivelty for an on-camera flash! The diffuser fits into the gadget bag easily too, so the Meike has earned its place for this, at least until I decide to get smething better.




Edited by Miranda F - 28 October 2016 at 22:28
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
Matt View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 November 2005
Country: Netherlands
Location: Maastricht
Status: Offline
Posts: 584
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 June 2019 at 08:43
I bought this flash to be used on my A55 and A77II.

On the A77II:

  • TTL works, but is underexposed. When replacing the eneloop batteries in the flash by Duracell AA batteries, the underexposure with TTL was a lot less. Eneloops were freshly charged.

  • Manual works fine.


On the A55:

  • ADP-AMA adapter has to be used (I have the original Sony).

  • TTL does NOT work. You can see the pre-flashes for the TTL measuring, but the flash does not send out the main flash pulse, so you end up with a very dark picture. The problem is not the adapter. I have a pair of Nissin Di700A flashes, and they work fine on the A55 in TTL with the ADP-AMA adapter. I tried with the camera in ADI and pre-flash TTL mode.
    I also tried the Meike flash on the my ancient Konica-Minolta DiMAGE A2 using the ADP-AMA adapter. Exactly the same bevahiour as on the A55.

  • Manual works fine.



As TTL does not work on the camera I intended to use it, which is the A55, I will return it. Since the Nissin flashes work fine on the A55 (and even the old A2), the firmware in the Meike is not fully compatible with all Sony cameras.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3404
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 June 2019 at 09:59
Curious. I still carry that sometimes, but also use the Godox X1 which is not much bigger and has HSS.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
Matt View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 November 2005
Country: Netherlands
Location: Maastricht
Status: Offline
Posts: 584
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2019 at 13:47
I tried again on the A55 + ADP-AMA adapter, just to be sure.

Tried the Nissin Di700A flash: works fine

Tried the Meike MK-320: does not work. What I noted also is that the aperture indication on the flash is always F3.5, whatever I set on the A55. So the Aperture information is not received correctly by the flash for whatever reason. This again points into the direction of an incompatibilty between older Sony cameras and this flash.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lighting Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.