FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Lightroom Classic update problem.

Author
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 1921
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Lightroom Classic update problem.
    Posted: 31 December 2020 at 17:28
When I opened LR yesterday it updated my catalog - and now thousands of images are gone. Not all but most.

They don't even appear as greyed out placeholders, they are just not showing in their folders. Ironically files I moved (using LR) to an external drive are shown as missing files.

They are, however, still on my disk.

I tried opening an earlier catalog - same result, you cannot open a catalog without updating it.

So I tried importing from my disk into the catalog - a real pain as keywording and edits would, presumably, be lost, but better than nothing.

And now the really weird part - most of the missing files cannot be imported because they 'appear to be duplicates' of images already in the catalog.

I like LR because of its excellent processing tools and familiarity. But I'm losing patience with it!
 



Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3302
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 17:33
I don't know how you have organised your catalogue or rather the library. when you import do you use LR's default date (YYYY-MM-DD) folder naming scheme? can you see those folders or is everything gone?
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
dCap View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 August 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 6124
Post Options Post Options   Quote dCap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 17:41
@phil - are you on the new M1 mac? there is apparently some weird adobe thing specific to M1 macs if the external hard drive has a capital letter in the drive title [Philsphotos or philsphotos]?

I stopped using LR a while back but heard this 'no solution' in a podcast last week. If it is that (and I'm remembering correctly), either Adobe and/or Apple said they have no intention of fixing it.
Walk out if it doesn't feel right
I can tell you're only lying
If you've got something better tonight
Then don't mess up my mind with your crying
Just Walk Out In The Rain
Eric Clapton, 1978
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3302
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 17:58
I am using a M1 Mac and my external drive has uppercase at the beginning, end and in the middle
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
dCap View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 August 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 6124
Post Options Post Options   Quote dCap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 18:10
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

I am using a M1 Mac and my external drive has uppercase at the beginning, end and in the middle

does what I mention ring any new bells?
I'm non mac and non LR so I was only half listening to this topic in the podcast
Walk out if it doesn't feel right
I can tell you're only lying
If you've got something better tonight
Then don't mess up my mind with your crying
Just Walk Out In The Rain
Eric Clapton, 1978
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 32487
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 18:35
Are you sure you haven't got any filter active. If you can't import them because they're duplicates they must be in there but an inadvertant filter can make you don't see them.


UPDATE:
Or even simpler, in the library module/left column have you in the top window (Catalog) selected "All Photographs" and what are you seeing in the window below (Folders), are all the drives/folders still there and do they show the number of photo's in them?


As a last resort you could go to the Adobe Lightroom website/forum and see if more people are experiencing the same problem.



Edited by pegelli - 31 December 2020 at 19:23
You can see the April Foolishness 2021 exhibition here Another great show of the talent we have on Dyxum
 



Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 1921
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 19:37
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

I don't know how you have organised your catalogue or rather the library. when you import do you use LR's default date (YYYY-MM-DD) folder naming scheme? can you see those folders or is everything gone?


I use the default folders, many are gone, all from 2020. Some folders are there with photos in, some with one or two of many, some with all I expect.
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 1921
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 21:20
I use a Windows laptop - not ideal, I keep meaning to migrate to something better.

I have now gone back to the beginning and created a new catalog and am in the process of importing photos. On my machine this is a slow process, but it's getting there.
Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 3257
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 21:32
Originally posted by Phil Wood Phil Wood wrote:

I use the default folders, many are gone, all from 2020. Some folders are there with photos in, some with one or two of many, some with all I expect.
I cannot help with any LR specific issues since I don't use it. but can you see the missing image files on the disk using other applications? I'm just thinking about the worst case scenario that there might be disk defects, although probably you would be seeing some error messages when such problems start to show up...
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 1921
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 22:57
Originally posted by Hezu Hezu wrote:

Originally posted by Phil Wood Phil Wood wrote:

I use the default folders, many are gone, all from 2020. Some folders are there with photos in, some with one or two of many, some with all I expect.
I cannot help with any LR specific issues since I don't use it. but can you see the missing image files on the disk using other applications? I'm just thinking about the worst case scenario that there might be disk defects, although probably you would be seeing some error messages when such problems start to show up...


The files are there, I've imported about 20,000 into a new catalog and only 4 had problems. The good news is that keywords and edits are there, so I've only lost a few hours of importing.
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3302
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 23:10
that's better than nothing.... did you move your files from from your machine to external harddrive using LR?
I have read this method can cause corruptions and LR can screw up. its better to migrate them manually and then right-click on the greyed out folder in Library and use the "Find missing folder" option to point it to the new location on the external hard drive. this is the method I used anyway.
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 1921
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 23:43
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

that's better than nothing.... did you move your files from from your machine to external harddrive using LR?
I have read this method can cause corruptions and LR can screw up. its better to migrate them manually and then right-click on the greyed out folder in Library and use the "Find missing folder" option to point it to the new location on the external hard drive. this is the method I used anyway.


I did use LR to move the files - assuming it would be the best way to maintain the catalog. Until now had not caused many problems, a few files not moving being about it. Now I've found that importing from scratch maintains the keywords etc I may well move them outside of LR and just reimport from the new location, this will be simpler than finding 90 or so folders (I typically move files every three months or so).
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3302
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2020 at 23:55
Originally posted by Phil Wood Phil Wood wrote:


I did use LR to move the files - assuming it would be the best way to maintain the catalog. Until now had not caused many problems, a few files not moving being about it. Now I've found that importing from scratch maintains the keywords etc I may well move them outside of LR and just reimport from the new location, this will be simpler than finding 90 or so folders (I typically move files every three months or so).


I have read a few times online that using LR itself to move a huge amounts of file can cause them to go missing because LR can catch itself in a twist. I don't see why as its not a hard operation but I do it manually for this reason. Also manually copying/migrating means if things die halfway while copying for whatever reason I still have my original location fully intact.
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.096 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.