FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

List of Radio triggers that work with Sony Alpha

Page  <1 15161718>
Author
Majestictone View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 August 2014
Country: United States
Location: West Texas
Status: Offline
Posts: 272
Post Options Post Options   Quote Majestictone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2015 at 17:22
Maybe if I get a PC cord and try it that way? That maybe the only way to go. I recently purchased a Sekonic Litemaster PRO L-478DR and I think the only way to take full advantage of this is to get the pocket wizards set up. Just need to sell another guitar for that set up...
A99V,A77ii, Min 17-35G, Min 28-70G, Sony 16-50mm f/2.8 SSM, Min 85 f/1.4, Min 35-70mm f/4 Mini-Beercan, Min 50mm f/1.4, Min 70-210mm f/4.0 Beercan
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14205
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2015 at 17:40
^ There must be something strange happening with your A77II. The hot shoe contacts in A-mount cameras are supposed to be functional at any time. They are never supposed to be dependent on having the pop-up flash raised - that would in fact be completely wrong because normal shoe-mounted flashes would be unable to work.
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2113
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2015 at 18:01
I don't have an oscilloscope, so I have tried to make some measurements of the two "main" hotshoe contacts on my a77II using a multimeter. There appears to be some ac-like voltage on the contacts.

It has no effect on triggering my Metz 15 MS-1 using the hotshoe, an adapter and the PC cable, which worked perfectly with the pop-up in the down position. It is only millivolts, but it may have an effect on the radio triggers in question.

Edited by IanL - 31 December 2015 at 19:36
Ian
Back to Top
PeterTheJet View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2009
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Tyneside
Status: Offline
Posts: 310
Post Options Post Options   Quote PeterTheJet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2015 at 20:32
Hi All
Long shot, all gear is newish but have the contacts been cleaned with alcohol?
Pete
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2113
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2015 at 23:14
But why then does it work when the pop-up is raised?
Ian
Back to Top
Majestictone View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 August 2014
Country: United States
Location: West Texas
Status: Offline
Posts: 272
Post Options Post Options   Quote Majestictone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2015 at 23:28
Peter The Jet.... I came home, cleaned up the base plate, hooked up the set up and we have ignition !!!! Thanks everyone for chiming in helping me out with this dilemma..
A99V,A77ii, Min 17-35G, Min 28-70G, Sony 16-50mm f/2.8 SSM, Min 85 f/1.4, Min 35-70mm f/4 Mini-Beercan, Min 50mm f/1.4, Min 70-210mm f/4.0 Beercan
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14205
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2015 at 23:49
Originally posted by IanL IanL wrote:

But why then does it work when the pop-up is raised?

Seeing Majestictone's reply, one guess is that the pop-up was pressing on the transmitter just enough to force a couple of intermittent contacts to touch.
Back to Top
Majestictone View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 August 2014
Country: United States
Location: West Texas
Status: Offline
Posts: 272
Post Options Post Options   Quote Majestictone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2015 at 23:58
Actually with the adapter I needed in order to to use ISO, that raised up the transmitter high enough that the pop up did not even touch.
A99V,A77ii, Min 17-35G, Min 28-70G, Sony 16-50mm f/2.8 SSM, Min 85 f/1.4, Min 35-70mm f/4 Mini-Beercan, Min 50mm f/1.4, Min 70-210mm f/4.0 Beercan
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14205
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 January 2016 at 00:16
^ Then I have no explanation as to how raising the pop-up could overcome a problem caused by an intermittent contact that needed cleaning... except as a coincidence.
Back to Top
Majestictone View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 August 2014
Country: United States
Location: West Texas
Status: Offline
Posts: 272
Post Options Post Options   Quote Majestictone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 January 2016 at 00:20
Sure do appreciate the advice and knowledge from a fellow Californian...
A99V,A77ii, Min 17-35G, Min 28-70G, Sony 16-50mm f/2.8 SSM, Min 85 f/1.4, Min 35-70mm f/4 Mini-Beercan, Min 50mm f/1.4, Min 70-210mm f/4.0 Beercan
Back to Top
PeterTheJet View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2009
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Tyneside
Status: Offline
Posts: 310
Post Options Post Options   Quote PeterTheJet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 January 2016 at 00:36
[QUOTE=IanL] I don't have an oscilloscope, so I have tried to make some measurements of the two "main" hotshoe contacts on my a77II using a multimeter. There appears to be some ac-like voltage on the contacts.

Go to simple things.
glad it is sorted
Pete

Back to Top
mrnewba View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 04 November 2013
Country: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote mrnewba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2016 at 21:52
Hi, did anyone tested the godox x1t for sony with the godox tt685s flash on a sony a3000 with success? Thank you!
Back to Top
mambo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Winnipeg
Status: Offline
Posts: 1416
Post Options Post Options   Quote mambo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2016 at 22:03
Originally posted by mrnewba mrnewba wrote:

Hi, did anyone tested the godox x1t for sony with the godox tt685s flash on a sony a3000 with success? Thank you!


I have tested it on an A77ii and A99 with success.
Charles M

A99,A77ii, Minolta:600 f4HS|300f2.8|200f2.8HS|85G|SAL50f1.4Z|SAL24F2Z|∑35f1.4Art|50f2.8macro|Tamron 180f3.5|
Back to Top
mrnewba View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 04 November 2013
Country: Brazil
Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote mrnewba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2016 at 14:00
Originally posted by mambo mambo wrote:

Originally posted by mrnewba mrnewba wrote:

Hi, did anyone tested the godox x1t for sony with the godox tt685s flash on a sony a3000 with success? Thank you!


I have tested it on an A77ii and A99 with success.


Great, thank you!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lighting Page  <1 15161718>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.045 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.