FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Luminar 4

Page  12>
Author
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 198
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Luminar 4
    Posted: 25 May 2020 at 01:34
Didn't see a dedicated thread for this so I decided to start ione. Curious to how many of you use Luminar 4. I have an Adobe LR/PS subscription and it works but it always seems so cumbersome for me. I have an enormous backlog of .arw files that need edited (raw files typically do not look good sooc) well over 3000 before culling and removing duplicates. I seem to get through this process so much quicker and easier with luminar. Wilt 'looks' I can get a baseline and tweak so much faster by typically a margin of tenfold or more. Especially some useful tidbits like AI sky replacement is awesome. I still think lightroom catalogs better (at least until I study luminar 4 more) and for bracketed shots, composites, HDR etc I still use lightroom/photoshop but Luminar 4 is my goto now for editing. After a session I start there edit and then if there are any leftover I go to LR/PS. The nice thing is buy once be done with it. I got a sale but for $54 I got Luminar 4. An e-book users guide and an add on pack of looks/skies.

Anyway it seems so much easier and quicker to use 95% of the time - wondering if anybody else uses and if so we could keep a q&a open for users that may not be sure the best way to do something.
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
 



Back to Top
rastapartaman View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 03 March 2007
Country: Portugal
Location: Berkshire
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Post Options Post Options   Quote rastapartaman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 08:34
I've use it to retouch portraits. Does a really great job for this with minimal effort.
Don't think, Just click it!!

my Flickr
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 2935
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 09:37
Originally posted by jkkyler jkkyler wrote:

The nice thing is buy once be done with it.


except you are not done because they release newer versions every year and stop updating the old ones. Its a hidden yearly subscription if you want your software updated.

my flickr
A7RIV
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2537
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 10:27
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

Originally posted by jkkyler jkkyler wrote:

The nice thing is buy once be done with it.


except you are not done because they release newer versions every year and stop updating the old ones. Its a hidden yearly subscription if you want your software updated.



Does that mean it doesn't work with newer cameras ( ie RAW files from cameras released after it came out ) or you just don't get the newer features etc of newer software ?

As long as it continues to work as intended with whatever camera you have when you bought it , that's not an issue .

see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Aavo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 03 April 2013
Country: Estonia
Location: Tallinn
Status: Offline
Posts: 5342
Post Options Post Options   Quote Aavo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 11:05
One day many years ago I got easy-one version of Luminar and I still use it for some special needs, as example photos for meeting/seminar reviews to show on the screens. But these are not for entertainment, these are technical/structural issues. After year I bought Luminar 3 for reduced price, but I do not use it.
My easy-to-use software is Zoner Photo Studio X version and it is all I need, including some ZPS presets on Develop module. So, for me Luminar is not software I really need.
a6500 & 20/2.8, 24/1.8, 56/1.4, 18-135/3.5-5.6 OSS
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 2935
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 16:26
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:



Does that mean it doesn't work with newer cameras ( ie RAW files from cameras released after it came out ) or you just don't get the newer features etc of newer software ?

As long as it continues to work as intended with whatever camera you have when you bought it , that's not an issue .



didn't say it was an issue
subscription model isn't an issue either if that's how someone chooses to model their business.
But just saying in case of luminar its not a simple you buy once and it will be updated for a long time type software. Many other software packages also do this like capture one or DXO. After a year or so you'll stop receiving updates or rather you need to buy a new version for updates. Almost like a hidden subscription model without needing to say it. While I cannot definitely claim it as selling on false pretences it clearly is a bit of clever marketing. Even LR was better pre-LR subscriptions because you for a good couple years out of it before a new version took over.

There are softwares like Topaz AI or Affinity that you do really buy once and they keep it updated (or at least for a very long time).

p.s. I own all three type of software (LR, Affinity, ON1, Topaz AI stuff and Luminar 3). Even got copies of silver efex and DXO from pre-merger.
I don't really have any issue with any of them, just noting the differences that's all.
my flickr
A7RIV
 



Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 29545
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 16:53
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

After a year or so you'll stop receiving updates or rather you need to buy a new version for updates. Almost like a hidden subscription model without needing to say it.
Well, there's a key difference, if you stop the subscription of for instance the Adobe package it no longer works as before while if you decide to stop the "hidden subscription" of the yearly updates at least your last version will keep working "forever" as it has always done.

For me that's the main reason not to step into the Adobe model yet and basically limit myself to perpetual licence versions until a new camera forces me me to abandon this tactic.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 29545
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 17:06
Originally posted by jkkyler jkkyler wrote:

have an enormous backlog of .arw files that need edited (raw files typically do not look good sooc) well over 3000 before culling and removing duplicates. I seem to get through this process so much quicker and easier with luminar. Wilt 'looks' I can get a baseline and tweak so much faster by typically a margin of tenfold or more. Especially some useful tidbits like AI sky replacement is awesome.
I haven't tried Luminar but I doubt I'll get a tenfold improvement in processing time to get from a SOOC raw and something presentable. I've been a Lightroom user since version 1 and can basically make something presentable in 10-15 seconds or less by a few slider moves. Obviously when you have to start local adjustments and colour changes etc. it takes obviously longer but that would be true for Luminar as well.

Do they have a version with a free 30 day trial or something? If yes I might give it a try and see how it works differently from Lightroom.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
digiton View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 January 2007
Country: Netherlands
Location: Hasselt
Status: Offline
Posts: 1351
Post Options Post Options   Quote digiton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 18:13
pegelli, Albert Dros is a Luminar ambassador, see here!
https://skylum.com/ambassadors/albert-dros
A7III and A6500 with glass from 10mm to 600mm my flickr
I use google translator to translate
Back to Top
digiton View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 January 2007
Country: Netherlands
Location: Hasselt
Status: Offline
Posts: 1351
Post Options Post Options   Quote digiton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 18:14
and there are lots more! luminar ambassadors
A7III and A6500 with glass from 10mm to 600mm my flickr
I use google translator to translate
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2537
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 18:59
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:



didn't say it was an issue
subscription model isn't an issue either if that's how someone chooses to model their business.
But just saying in case of luminar its not a simple you buy once and it will be updated for a long time type software. Many other software packages also do this like capture one or DXO. After a year or so you'll stop receiving updates or rather you need to buy a new version for updates. Almost like a hidden subscription model without needing to say it. While I cannot definitely claim it as selling on false pretences it clearly is a bit of clever marketing. Even LR was better pre-LR subscriptions because you for a good couple years out of it before a new version took over.

There are softwares like Topaz AI or Affinity that you do really buy once and they keep it updated (or at least for a very long time).

p.s. I own all three type of software (LR, Affinity, ON1, Topaz AI stuff and Luminar 3). Even got copies of silver efex and DXO from pre-merger.
I don't really have any issue with any of them, just noting the differences that's all.


What the question was that I meant was at the moment I'm using the stand alone version of Lightroom 5 .
Not the CC subscription stuff .
The cameras I use are all fully supported .
When they released Lightroom 6 as a stand alone software package they ceased to provide updates for LR 5 .
Thus means if I buy a camera that was released after LR 6 came out , LR 5 won't necessarily recognise the RAW files .

So being as though my main cameras are an a900 , a77ii and NEX 7 , if I bought an a99ii or a7iii , then my current software probably won't work with their RAW files , and I'll have to come up with a solution .
( That isn't a subscription !)

So my question isn't a case of does it update to include new features of the newer versions , just will it still work with new cameras that come out after it's been replaced ?
And just do what it did with them that it did when you payed for it .

Edited by neilt3 - 25 May 2020 at 19:02
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Snegren View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 November 2011
Country: Netherlands
Location: Zuid Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 4875
Post Options Post Options   Quote Snegren Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 18:59
If you import your images into LR with a suitable preset you are 90% presentable unless your exposure is whacky. And there always is the AUTO button in the current LR that gives a decent starting point. Everything subject to taste naturally, nothing works for everybody.
Unspoken expectations are the foundation on which disappointment is built
My Flickr
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 2935
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 19:37
Originally posted by pegelli pegelli wrote:

Well, there's a key difference, if you stop the subscription of for instance the Adobe package it no longer works as before while if you decide to stop the "hidden subscription" of the yearly updates at least your last version will keep working "forever" as it has always done.

For me that's the main reason not to step into the Adobe model yet and basically limit myself to perpetual licence versions until a new camera forces me me to abandon this tactic.


I never said otherwise, while I perhaps wasn't clear that's what I meant by "While I cannot definitely claim it as selling on false pretences". Yes it isn't subscription in strictest sense of it. The only point I wanted to make was after year your updates stop. And if anyone wants the updates they'll have to dish out regularly.


Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:


What the question was that I meant was at the moment I'm using the stand alone version of Lightroom 5 .
Not the CC subscription stuff .
The cameras I use are all fully supported .
When they released Lightroom 6 as a stand alone software package they ceased to provide updates for LR 5 .
Thus means if I buy a camera that was released after LR 6 came out , LR 5 won't necessarily recognise the RAW files .

So being as though my main cameras are an a900 , a77ii and NEX 7 , if I bought an a99ii or a7iii , then my current software probably won't work with their RAW files , and I'll have to come up with a solution .
( That isn't a subscription !)

So my question isn't a case of does it update to include new features of the newer versions , just will it still work with new cameras that come out after it's been replaced ?
And just do what it did with them that it did when you payed for it .


I believe Luminar (like Affinity) will work with any RAW files your computer can open. My iMac can read Sony RAWs up to A7RIV so they can open and will work up to this body.

Despite the lack of a DAM affinity is a much better software than Luminar IMO with a steeper learning curve. But the DAM in Luminar (if you can call it that) suck anyway.
my flickr
A7RIV
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 29545
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 19:49
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:


I never said otherwise, while I perhaps wasn't clear that's what I meant by "While I cannot definitely claim it as selling on false pretences". Yes it isn't subscription in strictest sense of it. The only point I wanted to make was after year your updates stop. And if anyone wants the updates they'll have to dish out regularly.
I never said you did, I just wanted to make clear that ending a subscription is different from no longer upgrading a program and staying with an older version, which is a point you didn't mention.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.055 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.