FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Luminar 4

Page  <12
Author
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2543
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 20:00
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

   




I believe Luminar (like Affinity) will work with any RAW files your computer can open. My iMac can read Sony RAWs up to A7RIV so they can open and will work up to this body.

Despite the lack of a DAM affinity is a much better software than Luminar IMO with a steeper learning curve. But the DAM in Luminar (if you can call it that) suck anyway.


Thank you .
I'm on windows 10 on one computer and windows 7 on a laptop .
I can't remember if they can open a RAW file on their own , so should probably check .

I'm not really a computer person so I have to ask these things .
I did a search on "DAM" as I've not heard of it in computer terms .
The only thing I could find was about the big thing that holds back water !
So still non the wiser on that one !
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
 



Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 2941
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 20:09
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:


Thank you .
I'm on windows 10 on one computer and windows 7 on a laptop .
I can't remember if they can open a RAW file on their own , so should probably check .

I'm not really a computer person so I have to ask these things .
I did a search on "DAM" as I've not heard of it in computer terms .
The only thing I could find was about the big thing that holds back water !
So still non the wiser on that one !


I believe you can download the required software from Sony website to support latest RAWs on your computer.

DAM stands for digital asset management, basically all the stuff LR provides like the library, catalogue, database, soft/virtual copies etc.
p.s. You can get Luminar 3 for free (or could couple weeks back anyway, the offer might have been running till the end of May).

Also Affinity is on an excellent half-price offers. Affinity has some really power tools inc. focus stacking, panos etc. A bargain for everything it offers.
my flickr
A7RIV
Back to Top
PER View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 December 2019
Country: United States
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote PER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 20:28
I have Luminar 4, ON-1, Affinity (i-OS) and while I appreciate what they do (and they do it well) I never felt as comfortable with the UI as I did with LR, therefore, I bit the bullet and started subscribing to LR. I have recently been using the Luminar Flex plugin with LR and like what it does however, one needs to be careful to not ďover do it.Ē
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 2941
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 20:40
I agree LR does pretty much everything just about good enough not to need much else. Bit sad I have to dish out on the subscription but I buy couple years together on offer so its not as expensive. I wouldn't pay the full price though.
my flickr
A7RIV
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2543
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 21:36
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:


Thank you .
I'm on windows 10 on one computer and windows 7 on a laptop .
I can't remember if they can open a RAW file on their own , so should probably check .

I'm not really a computer person so I have to ask these things .
I did a search on "DAM" as I've not heard of it in computer terms .
The only thing I could find was about the big thing that holds back water !
So still non the wiser on that one !


I believe you can download the required software from Sony website to support latest RAWs on your computer.

DAM stands for digital asset management, basically all the stuff LR provides like the library, catalogue, database, soft/virtual copies etc.
p.s. You can get Luminar 3 for free (or could couple weeks back anyway, the offer might have been running till the end of May).

Also Affinity is on an excellent half-price offers. Affinity has some really power tools inc. focus stacking, panos etc. A bargain for everything it offers.


IIRC using the Sony software to open a file is fine , but to edit it in Lightroom the RAW file would need to be converted into a JPEG or TIFF ( if Sony software supports that ) or convert with Adobe Camera RAW into their RAW format to process it in LR .
More steps to do before processing .

It does seem that a common opinion is that these newer camera have such good JPEG engines that RAW isn't as necessary .
If so then just tweaking it in LR would be simple .
I'm not sure I'd want to stop shooting RAW though .

Other software I'm looking at is Dark Table .
Very similar to lightroom , seems to continue supporting new cameras .
And it's free !
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
RichardT View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 February 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: North West
Status: Offline
Posts: 959
Post Options Post Options   Quote RichardT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 22:10
I tried Luminar 3 (I think) but got various error messages which after a long search meant that my old computer wasn't up to Luminar standards so I had to abandon it, what little I did do seemed OK.
I have the last buyable LR - 6 ? but use it only in desparation and use the free Faststone Image Viewer for 98% of my shots & which works well for me. It can't do perspective correction though.
Like one of the earlier correspandants I've pretty well given up using RAW as the jpgs are so easy to manipulate and & can get good (at an appropriate viewing distance) 45" x 30" prints from them.
Slightly off topic but remember with Luminar - check your computor is good enough
All the best
Richard T
So many wines, so little time......
 



Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 198
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 22:30
I don't have presets for LR but it is truly so much better at digital asset management and cataloging. I open LR and then select my photo and use luminar as a plug in. The pre-made looks- sky and foliage AI and sky replacement tools along with the small, medium, and large, details enhancers and a few other things just work so much better and easier for me. I always seem to fumble in LR although the more I shoot, the better exposed and composed my images are and the less I have to do in PP. But like somebody said they are 15-30 seconds in LR, I am like that now in Luminar and 4-5 min in LR tweaking and figuring stuff out.

I do like the buy it and use it until you want to upgrade model - bought Luminar 3 a few years back and it still works fine. It is on the computer in my HT room but I am editing at a desktop in my den where I was teaching form when schools were shut down. I am not a fan of forced subscriptions if you want to continue to use a product. Outside of utilities the only subscriptions that I have are Directtv, Adobe LR/PS and Netflix.
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 198
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 22:41
Originally posted by pegelli pegelli wrote:

Originally posted by jkkyler jkkyler wrote:

have an enormous backlog of .arw files that need edited (raw files typically do not look good sooc) well over 3000 before culling and removing duplicates. I seem to get through this process so much quicker and easier with luminar. Wilt 'looks' I can get a baseline and tweak so much faster by typically a margin of tenfold or more. Especially some useful tidbits like AI sky replacement is awesome.
I haven't tried Luminar but I doubt I'll get a tenfold improvement in processing time to get from a SOOC raw and something presentable. I've been a Lightroom user since version 1 and can basically make something presentable in 10-15 seconds or less by a few slider moves. Obviously when you have to start local adjustments and colour changes etc. it takes obviously longer but that would be true for Luminar as well.

Do they have a version with a free 30 day trial or something? If yes I might give it a try and see how it works differently from Lightroom.


There is a trial - I think it is only seven days but it should be sufficient. One of the novelty thing I like is the sun/god rays feature. Drop a sun with rays in any landscape seamlessly with a few clicks. also intelligent sky replacement is a breeze. I think the heal feature ('erase' in luminar) is a tad better than LR as well but is isn't as quick.

trial version can be d/l here under Luminar heading top left
https://skylum.com/luminar
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 2941
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 22:52
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:



IIRC using the Sony software to open a file is fine , but to edit it in Lightroom the RAW file would need to be converted into a JPEG or TIFF ( if Sony software supports that ) or convert with Adobe Camera RAW into their RAW format to process it in LR .
More steps to do before processing .

It does seem that a common opinion is that these newer camera have such good JPEG engines that RAW isn't as necessary .
If so then just tweaking it in LR would be simple .
I'm not sure I'd want to stop shooting RAW though .

Other software I'm looking at is Dark Table .
Very similar to lightroom , seems to continue supporting new cameras .
And it's free !


LR has its own RAW engine. Affinity for example can use the RAW engine installed on your computer to open the files.
Not sure what luminar does.
my flickr
A7RIV
Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 198
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 2020 at 01:50
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:



IIRC using the Sony software to open a file is fine , but to edit it in Lightroom the RAW file would need to be converted into a JPEG or TIFF ( if Sony software supports that ) or convert with Adobe Camera RAW into their RAW format to process it in LR .
More steps to do before processing .

It does seem that a common opinion is that these newer camera have such good JPEG engines that RAW isn't as necessary .
If so then just tweaking it in LR would be simple .
I'm not sure I'd want to stop shooting RAW though .

Other software I'm looking at is Dark Table .
Very similar to lightroom , seems to continue supporting new cameras .
And it's free !


LR has its own RAW engine. Affinity for example can use the RAW engine installed on your computer to open the files.
Not sure what luminar does.


From skylum - developer of Luminar:

Luminar 4 RAW processing is based on our own powerful RAW engine. We regularly update our library and make our own improvements to provide perfect support for new cameras.

You can check the full list of supported cameras here: http://l.skylum.com/luminar-4-supported-camera
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 2941
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 2020 at 08:00
Originally posted by jkkyler jkkyler wrote:



From skylum - developer of Luminar:

Luminar 4 RAW processing is based on our own powerful RAW engine. We regularly update our library and make our own improvements to provide perfect support for new cameras.

You can check the full list of supported cameras here: http://l.skylum.com/luminar-4-supported-camera


I guess that means to answer Neil's question one will have to buy the later versions of Luminar with they want their latest and greatest bodies supported.
Anyway Luminar 3 still supports my A7RIV so I have no real need for Luminar 4 (though I am sure they have new features)
my flickr
A7RIV
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14342
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 2020 at 08:43
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

LR has its own RAW engine. Affinity for example can use the RAW engine installed on your computer to open the files.

What is meant by "the RAW engine installed on your computer"?

Oh, I guess it's a Mac thing.

Edited by sybersitizen - 26 May 2020 at 08:46
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2543
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 2020 at 09:10
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

Originally posted by jkkyler jkkyler wrote:



From skylum - developer of Luminar:

Luminar 4 RAW processing is based on our own powerful RAW engine. We regularly update our library and make our own improvements to provide perfect support for new cameras.

You can check the full list of supported cameras here: http://l.skylum.com/luminar-4-supported-camera


I guess that means to answer Neil's question one will have to buy the later versions of Luminar with they want their latest and greatest bodies supported.
Anyway Luminar 3 still supports my A7RIV so I have no real need for Luminar 4 (though I am sure they have new features)


Yes , it sounds like I should carry on using what I have while it works with the cameras I have until I buy a camera that's no longer supported .

I'm not sure the newer functions of the software would get much use to be worth buying it just yet .


see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.