FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Mac mini (Apple M1 silicon)

Page  123>
Author
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: Southwest
Status: Offline
Posts: 2463
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mac mini (Apple M1 silicon)
    Posted: 03 December 2020 at 23:08
I do all my serious photo editing thru my computer. I thought some here in the forum might take interest.
Black Friday I purchased the latest Apple mac mini, which only became available here in the US the last week or so
they say:
the Mac mini (Apple M1 Silicon) w the new M1 chip is not a next step for Mac its another level entirely. I got it w the 16 gig RAM
it is so revolutionary that they built the Big Sur OS specifically for the chip.

"Its our most powerful software ever running on our most advanced hardware yet".
It sounds so super duper, I couldn't resist
I have a "late 2014" mini now that just isn't capable of handling all the editors I do have, well. I'm therefore , much looking forward to this; another level entirely.

To my delight I was even capable of getting $50 dollars off the total price
however the ETA is 2 weeks to 4 weeks🤞🏻

Joseph


(thank you Mr Monitor )

Edited by Coast - 03 December 2020 at 23:11
a6000, a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Sony 70-350G, Rokinon 12mm f.2 , Keep it simple, Travel lite (travel photography)
 



Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3304
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 December 2020 at 23:20
i had mine on order and i ended up canceling my M1 mac mini because of lack of support for monitor calibration, possibly my printer and also couldn't get a straight answer about the performance of the topaz AI suite i use quite a lot.

I am still quite interested. there are vague rumours too that there will be space grey mac mini which might be smaller but with newer processor released next year. if you see the inside of the M1 mac mini you will notice that it's actually largely empty space unlike the intel one thanks to the 5nm SoC design. So there is plenty of space to cut down on in the future.

but i am still selling my iMac in the mean time while its worth a decent amount.

look forward to hearing your experience of it.
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3429
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 December 2020 at 23:49
I am interested in what Apple brings out in the future. I tried a 2017 iMac 5K this summer, but managed to kill it trying to add more storage to it. I sold off most of the parts. I still have the case and original Apple/Samsung SSD.

These new machines are sure to be more profitable for Apple. They will probably depreciate more quickly too. 16 GB is not going to be enough for very long.
Sony A7RIV NEX-5T HVL-F45RM LA-EA5 Metabones-IV Sigma MC-11 Yongnuo EF-E II TLT ROKR MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9 AF-P/Q
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3304
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 00:13
Originally posted by QuietOC QuietOC wrote:

I am interested in what Apple brings out in the future. I tried a 2017 iMac 5K this summer, but managed to kill it trying to add more storage to it. I sold off most of the parts. I still have the case and original Apple/Samsung SSD.

These new machines are sure to be more profitable for Apple. They will probably depreciate more quickly too. 16 GB is not going to be enough for very long.


you cannot compare 16GB on the M1 machines with 16GB on intel machines.
M1s are very efficient with memory unlike intel based ones.

a good example of this is actually looking at benchmark of iphones vs. android phones that have 2-3 times more RAM but iphones still tops them (p.s. not defending iphones by any means, I greatly dislike them for all intents and purposes)
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12231
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 08:55
Well, I have a Windows machine I bolted together in 2015 that is running fine, even with 60mp RAW files. If you buy a Mac, you buy it as-is. If you want to tinker with it, get a Windows machine. Or a Hackintosh - but those will disappear in a few years.

The reviews of these M1 computers are amazing. The 16Gb internal memory seems to be a bit limited. It might be fine for everyday use, but I would've expected a 32Gb option for the MacBook Pro. But maybe 16Gb is a hardware limitation for this first generation?

re. depreciation: I buy computers to use them, not for their resale value. But, as these are the first generation of the new series and there are a lot of Apple fanboys around, I expect that resale value of these will be fine. Better then the last generation of Intel Mac's.

Now I go on thinking if I will upgrade my 5th generation i5 to an AMD Ryzen 7 5800x (if I can find one as they are sold out everywhere)
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26745
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 09:42
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

Now I go on thinking if I will upgrade my 5th generation i5 to an AMD Ryzen 7 5800x (if I can find one as they are sold out everywhere)


I've been toying with an upgrade from my venerable A6 Phenom II to a Ryzen (started looking at 2600, but this has been overtaken by 3600 and latterly 5000 series, which does sound impressive)... What I'm not sure about is whether I will need a new Windows licence due to the change of motherboard and processor (the old version was w7 OEM version, which has since gone up to w10).

My PC has been upgraded incrementally, with a new power supply, new SSDs and cooler, and now I've got a new case for all the old bits to go into. Once the motherboard and processor get an upgrade it will be a proper "grandfather's hammer" (as in "My grandfather's hammer had two new heads and three new shafts, but it is still the same hammer...")
 



Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3304
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 11:06
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:


The reviews of these M1 computers are amazing. The 16Gb internal memory seems to be a bit limited. It might be fine for everyday use, but I would've expected a 32Gb option for the MacBook Pro. But maybe 16Gb is a hardware limitation for this first generation?


people who say this are comparing RAM with intel based computers. its not really a "apples for apples" comparison.
I don't think 16GB RAM is a limitation for these macs the same way as 16GB would be intel based models.

But I imagine higher models will have 32GB and may be even 64GB on something like iMac Pro.
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3304
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 11:11
Originally posted by Bob J Bob J wrote:


I've been toying with an upgrade from my venerable A6 Phenom II to a Ryzen (started looking at 2600, but this has been overtaken by 3600 and latterly 5000 series, which does sound impressive)... What I'm not sure about is whether I will need a new Windows licence due to the change of motherboard and processor (the old version was w7 OEM version, which has since gone up to w10).

My PC has been upgraded incrementally, with a new power supply, new SSDs and cooler, and now I've got a new case for all the old bits to go into. Once the motherboard and processor get an upgrade it will be a proper "grandfather's hammer" (as in "My grandfather's hammer had two new heads and three new shafts, but it is still the same hammer...")


I am stealing the "grandfather's hammer" phrase

As much as I'd love to build my own grandfather's hammer, space is a big limitation for me. For those with the intent, time and space to do this its probably the most efficient way of going about building and upgrading your computer. The cost is also spread over many years and doesn't sting as much. you normally get full use of all our parts till end of life.
That's one of my biggest peeves with the iMac I have. I cannot use it as a screen alone and if i have to replace the computer or the screen both has to go. I have learnt my lesson now... or rather I learnt it long back but I had alredy spent the money on it so just went along with it.

Edited by nandbytes - 04 December 2020 at 13:06
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12231
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 14:17
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:


The reviews of these M1 computers are amazing. The 16Gb internal memory seems to be a bit limited. It might be fine for everyday use, but I would've expected a 32Gb option for the MacBook Pro. But maybe 16Gb is a hardware limitation for this first generation?


people who say this are comparing RAM with intel based computers. its not really a "apples for apples" comparison.
I don't think 16GB RAM is a limitation for these macs the same way as 16GB would be intel based models.

But I imagine higher models will have 32GB and may be even 64GB on something like iMac Pro.
I think I have seen reviews showing slowing with bigger 4k files. But it doesn't matter - marketing does matter. Apple does not say in their marketing material that 16GB is like 32GB in intel-based macs. Also, the option to get a 32GB version for the Pro would make clear why one should buy the Pro.

Like I said, I think there is a hardware limitation. I mean that the chip at the moment cannot address more then 16GB. Because otherwise there would have been a 32GB version.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3304
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 16:40
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:


I think I have seen reviews showing slowing with bigger 4k files. But it doesn't matter - marketing does matter. Apple does not say in their marketing material that 16GB is like 32GB in intel-based macs. Also, the option to get a 32GB version for the Pro would make clear why one should buy the Pro.

Like I said, I think there is a hardware limitation. I mean that the chip at the moment cannot address more then 16GB. Because otherwise there would have been a 32GB version.


I can't really comment on that you think you may have seen. There's equally reviews showing how it's the best think since sliced bread. But I know people using it in real life and I know on a technical level about SoC design (is nothing new) so I am pretty sure these M1 macs will out perform Intel macs with more RAM.
Do you believe everything marketing does say then and anything they don't say can't be true?
Marketing were never going to draw that comparison between RAMs because you can't sensibly do that. For mobiles phones i.e. iPhones they don't even quote the RAM or any specs but it's no secret iPhones have less that 2-3 times the RAM compared to many android phones yet they either match or handsomely beat many of them not only in benchmarks but also in how smoothly they run and also longevity.
The new macs follow the same architectural philosophy. The hardware is designed such that the RAM usage is a lot more efficient and hence not held back as much by having less of it.
I work with someone who has been using the M1 MacBook Pro for video editing since a week after it got announced. He says he sees no real slowdown while editing and exporting 4K footage.

Btw I am not saying less RAM is better, it's always better to have more resources but the way the other components and software makes use of those resources is also equally important.
I am certain in that apple silicon macs don't need as much RAM as Intel ones for the same type of workloads, but couldn't draw conclusions like 16GB with M1 equals 32GB with Intel and so on.

I am sure there'll be higher models out next year and these are clearly the base models and the cheapest ones.
Could be a hardware limitation but also could be that apple are just limiting it to make a clear cut difference between the base and higher models. I simply don't know.
Doesn't take anything away from the efficient performance of the ones out now though.

I'll be getting my hands on one later this month and it's only a 8GB model. I'll definitely report back on how it performs for photography apps.

Edited by nandbytes - 04 December 2020 at 16:45
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: Southwest
Status: Offline
Posts: 2463
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 18:52
This is the Mac mini (Apple M1 silicon) presentation Apple sent me
https://www.apple.com/mac-mini/
a6000, a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Sony 70-350G, Rokinon 12mm f.2 , Keep it simple, Travel lite (travel photography)
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12231
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 21:55
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:

I can't really comment on that you think you may have seen. There's equally reviews showing how it's the best think since sliced bread. But I know people using it in real life and I know on a technical level about SoC design (is nothing new) so I am pretty sure these M1 macs will out perform Intel macs with more RAM.
If it is better then sliced bread, more memory might still be better.

You're missing the point I am making. The M1 with 16GB might be better then an i9 with 32GB, Apple is not saying this. So, why would people buy it? In the end, Apple is in the business of selling stuff. They are great at this, that is why I am surprised Apple is not selling a 32GB version. I am sure that if it is possible, they would sell a 32GB version as it makes commercial sense.

It does not matter that the M1 outperforms the Intel versions if they do not sell them. That makes marketing important: they need to make the advantages of these new computers clear.

Seeing all these reviews, the M1 Mac's are much, much better then the Intel versions. But they have to sell them.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 3304
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2020 at 22:18
Because they have to sell M1 macs along with the rest of their (more expensive) intel inventory too which is now already unattractive as it has limited time of support (3-4 years probably).

If they come out and say look our £999 MacBook air here can perform as well as your £2699 intel MacBook Pro who will buy it

That M1 macs are priced rather conveniently below the intel machines without much overlap.

Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

Apple is in the business of selling stuff. They are great at this, that is why I am surprised Apple is not selling a 32GB version. I am sure that if it is possible, they would sell a 32GB version as it makes commercial sense.


I don't think it does. And if you think apple is company that sells or adds things/features simply because it's possible I don't think you know Apple. So you think apple can't add 8-12GB RAM in their iPhones, yet they stick with 4GB RAM. Apples philosophy (and this is from mouth of Steve Wozniak not mine) is to design and provide a computing platforms that operates smoothly with great user experience rather than beat down competition on spec sheets. If they can provide that smooth experience with limited RAM in iPhones, iPads and now their computers they'll do just that and at the same time charge you for that privilege

Edited by nandbytes - 04 December 2020 at 22:21
my flickr
A1, A7C
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: Southwest
Status: Offline
Posts: 2463
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2020 at 01:53
I found this 22 minute you tube video ___"M1 Mac Mini vs Intel i7 Mac Mini + eGPU for Pro Apps!"____ ( https://youtu.be/59gAjXT7qyw ) extremely educational and extremely well presented and it will clear up any RAM concerns as well as most other questions
a6000, a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Sony 70-350G, Rokinon 12mm f.2 , Keep it simple, Travel lite (travel photography)
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.