FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Maxxum 9 and Godox trigger

Page  123>
Author
beardedspoooon View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 December 2012
Country: United States
Location: Columbia, SC
Status: Offline
Posts: 724
Post Options Post Options   Quote beardedspoooon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Maxxum 9 and Godox trigger
    Posted: 28 October 2020 at 14:11
Any ideas on getting it to work? Maybe a setting or something? Purchased a Sony/Minolta to Sony multi-interface shoe adapter and have tried with a Sony trigger and a Fuji trigger.

I can get the flash to trigger using the R2 Pro trigger for Fuji with a Minolta XD11 and Fuji GW690II.

The flash icons are illuminated in the viewfinder when the trigger is attached and turned on, it just won't wire. From looking at the manual, it seems like the camera is always using TTL for flash power. Maybe that's why?

Edited by beardedspoooon - 28 October 2020 at 14:27
 



Back to Top
Stuart1701 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 October 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 462
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stuart1701 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 October 2020 at 14:49
Don't know if this is any help, but on my A900 I have found you need to run a flash sync cable from the camera to your godox controller mounted on the sony hot shoe (using the flash adaptor) to get it to fire correctly in Manual mode.

To do that on the A900 you need a male to male flash sync cable.
Stuart M.
Back to Top
beardedspoooon View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 December 2012
Country: United States
Location: Columbia, SC
Status: Offline
Posts: 724
Post Options Post Options   Quote beardedspoooon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 October 2020 at 15:25
Originally posted by Stuart1701 Stuart1701 wrote:

Don't know if this is any help, but on my A900 I have found you need to run a flash sync cable from the camera to your godox controller mounted on the sony hot shoe (using the flash adaptor) to get it to fire correctly in Manual mode.

To do that on the A900 you need a male to male flash sync cable.


Argh, I might give that a try. It's not important enough to spend too much money on, but thought it'd be fun to mess around with.
Back to Top
momech View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 2908
Post Options Post Options   Quote momech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 October 2020 at 17:49
Does your Maxxum 9 have the SSM upgrade? I don't recall the details but the upgrade definitely modified the flash protocols.
It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 October 2020 at 18:41
FWIW, I couldn't get my not-upgraded Dynax 9 to trigger a Godox flash using a Pixel TF-336 adaptor and a Godox Xpro-S trigger.
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
Fred_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 January 2017
Country: Netherlands
Location: Noord Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 8739
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fred_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 October 2020 at 19:54
How do you like the Xpro-S Howard?
 



Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 October 2020 at 22:34
Originally posted by Fred_S Fred_S wrote:

How do you like the Xpro-S Howard?
So far I think it's great. I started a project to explore flash during lockdown ... something I may have to return to over the winter. I find the Xpro-S much more reliable in terms of doing the main job of triggering an off-camera flash or two.

This portrait was done using two flashes triggered by the Xpro-S



One was fired up into a garden umbrella and the other used a large yoghurt pot as a flash diffuser.

Coming back to the original question, I also tried triggering the flash using a NEX-7 in place of the Dynax 9, and succeeded in triggering the flash remotely. (Same physical flash shoe.) With a Sony A100 I had no success.



Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
beardedspoooon View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 December 2012
Country: United States
Location: Columbia, SC
Status: Offline
Posts: 724
Post Options Post Options   Quote beardedspoooon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 October 2020 at 02:01
Originally posted by Howard_S Howard_S wrote:

Originally posted by Fred_S Fred_S wrote:

How do you like the Xpro-S Howard?
So far I think it's great. I started a project to explore flash during lockdown ... something I may have to return to over the winter. I find the Xpro-S much more reliable in terms of doing the main job of triggering an off-camera flash or two.

This portrait was done using two flashes triggered by the Xpro-S


One was fired up into a garden umbrella and the other used a large yoghurt pot as a flash diffuser.

Coming back to the original question, I also tried triggering the flash using a NEX-7 in place of the Dynax 9, and succeeded in triggering the flash remotely. (Same physical flash shoe.) With a Sony A100 I had no success.



You just reminded me that I have an NEX-7. I'll see for myself but guessing that my plans for OCF and the Maxxum 9 have hit a wall.
Back to Top
vitor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 10 August 2006
Country: Portugal
Location: Lisbon
Status: Offline
Posts: 1959
Post Options Post Options   Quote vitor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 October 2020 at 07:53
I'm currently waiting for the delivery of a ADP-AMA adapter.
While I don't have an Xpro I have an xt1.

During the weekend I can test with the following cameras 700si 5 7 9(Ssm upgraded) 7D and a900 and report here.

What mode are you using on the trigger? ttl or manual?
In theory you should be able to trigger using manual mode.
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 October 2020 at 09:49
I tried it in Manual mode - no luck. Nor with a 5 or 700si. I got it to trigger from an A65, but only when I set the flash to WL. I tried WL on the Dynax 9, still nothing.

One solution for off-camera flash would be to put the Godox into S1 or S2 optical slave mode (page 37 of Godox manual refers) and use the on-camera flash to trigger the the off-camera flash.

Or, for less than $30 you can find a Minolta 5400HS flash on eBay?
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2608
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 October 2020 at 11:05
I don't know if this is the problem your having , but I remember reading when the Sony multi interface shoe came out a lot if third party flashes and triggers wouldn't work on it .
The reason was they wouldn't quite mount in it proper , and centre pin didn't quite meet up with the centre contact on the Sony hotshoe .
A bit if modification was need where a touch of the leading edge of the foot was filed off .
So worth weighing up if things line up .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 October 2020 at 12:25
FWIW, the XPro-S has an indicator that appears when contact is made with the camera. It shows, but still fails to trigger the flash from the 9, using the Pixel adaptor. Flash and trigger in M mode, test button fires flash. In the camera viewfinder, Flash Ready and Flash On indicators show.
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
beardedspoooon View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 December 2012
Country: United States
Location: Columbia, SC
Status: Offline
Posts: 724
Post Options Post Options   Quote beardedspoooon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 October 2020 at 17:56
Originally posted by Howard_S Howard_S wrote:

FWIW, the XPro-S has an indicator that appears when contact is made with the camera. It shows, but still fails to trigger the flash from the 9, using the Pixel adaptor. Flash and trigger in M mode, test button fires flash. In the camera viewfinder, Flash Ready and Flash On indicators show.


Yep, that's my experience. And I just tested everything with the NEX-7, everything fires as it should. Brokedown and bought a PC sync cord, hopefully, that works.
Back to Top
beardedspoooon View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 December 2012
Country: United States
Location: Columbia, SC
Status: Offline
Posts: 724
Post Options Post Options   Quote beardedspoooon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 October 2020 at 18:03
Originally posted by vitor vitor wrote:

I'm currently waiting for the delivery of a ADP-AMA adapter.
While I don't have an Xpro I have an xt1.

During the weekend I can test with the following cameras 700si 5 7 9(Ssm upgraded) 7D and a900 and report here.

What mode are you using on the trigger? ttl or manual?
In theory you should be able to trigger using manual mode.


Yeah, I tried using the ADP-AMA adapter in manual mode. No dice. Also, Flashpoint lights won't fire. But the Sony-branded one I have does.

Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

I don't know if this is the problem your having , but I remember reading when the Sony multi interface shoe came out a lot if third party flashes and triggers wouldn't work on it .
The reason was they wouldn't quite mount in it proper , and centre pin didn't quite meet up with the centre contact on the Sony hotshoe .
A bit if modification was need where a touch of the leading edge of the foot was filed off .
So worth weighing up if things line up .


I was able to successfully fire it on the NEX-7. I also have the multi-interface trigger too. Maxxum 9 doesn't want to play nice.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > Film cameras Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.344 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.