FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Metadata for milliseconds

Author
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2916
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Metadata for milliseconds
    Posted: 13 May 2020 at 15:19
I'm not sure digital darkroom is the right place for this, but I'm trying to work out if the milliseconds of a shot are stored in metadata.

From DPreview is seems there is capacity for the three fields of SubSecTime, SubSecTimeOriginal, SubSecTimeDigitized (chat here

From what seems to be a very exhaustive exif tool ([url=http://exif.regex.info/exif.cgi]here[\url]), those fields don't appear in an example file from my A7iii, so I imagine not?

I like having all my images saved in format 'YYYY-MM-DD at HH-mm-ss', but doing some bursts shooting recently means photos have identical filenames. WhenCaptureOne imports these it adds a sequential count after subsequent images to avoid actual dups, but this seems random and not consecutive. This is really annoying for focus stacking where they need to be in order of focus (which equals the order they're taken.

I'd like to avoid appending the original filename to the end of every file because it's unnecessarily long and ugly (DSC0000). Sony do kindly have a sequence ID, but it seems CaptureOne can't read it.

I'm not sure anyone can help, think I just came here to rant :)
A7iii, 15f2, 16-35f4, 24-105G, 35f1.8, 85f1.8, 135f1.8GM, 100-400GM, 1.4xTC // A mount: Sig180 3.5 Macro, Gitzo Traveller, Flashes+PixelKings website
 



Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 28617
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2020 at 15:32
Hi Simon, I automatically rename my files (in Lightroom, but maybe C1 can do it as well) in the format:

PEG_"camera"_"sequence number"_YYYYMMDD

As long as you keep the "sequence number" somewhere in the renamed file the shots will remain in order

So your new name could be YYYY-MM-DD at HH-mm-ss_"sequence number"

At least in Lightroom when this option is used the letters DSC don't show up anymore.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2916
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2020 at 10:09
Originally posted by pegelli pegelli wrote:

Hi Simon, I automatically rename my files (in Lightroom, but maybe C1 can do it as well) in the format:

PEG_"camera"_"sequence number"_YYYYMMDD

As long as you keep the "sequence number" somewhere in the renamed file the shots will remain in order

So your new name could be YYYY-MM-DD at HH-mm-ss_"sequence number"

At least in Lightroom when this option is used the letters DSC don't show up anymore.
Thanks Pieter, that's a great suggestion, thank you. Unfortunately though it seems C1 doesn't recognise sequence number or sequence ID. I can see it in EXIF viewers, but the filed it appears blank in C1. I'll raise a ticket with them to see if this is a bug. Thanks again - and I like the idea of including the body at the start
A7iii, 15f2, 16-35f4, 24-105G, 35f1.8, 85f1.8, 135f1.8GM, 100-400GM, 1.4xTC // A mount: Sig180 3.5 Macro, Gitzo Traveller, Flashes+PixelKings website
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 28617
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2020 at 10:42
Hi Simon, I just looked at C1 (version 10) and when you rename on import (eg. from a memory card) using the original filename somewhere in the filename is a field you can use. Only difference with Lightroom importing/renaming the same way is that the letters DSC will still show up.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2916
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2020 at 10:49
Originally posted by pegelli pegelli wrote:

Hi Simon, I just looked at C1 (version 10) and when you rename on import (eg. from a memory card) using the original filename somewhere in the filename is a field you can use. Only difference with Lightroom importing/renaming the same way is that the letters DSC will still show up.
Hi Pieter, yes, it appears as an option an the field exists, but the data doesn't appear in C1, at least not from shots taken on my A7iii. Reading on C1 help it seems those fields might be a bespoke to their phaseone cameras and not connected to the identically named standard exif fields

EDIT: sorry, ignore this, I thought you were talking about sequence number, not the file name I'm trying to avoid using the original filename though as it's so long and ugly. Sequence number would be such a clean solution

Edited by Tricky01 - 14 May 2020 at 11:04
A7iii, 15f2, 16-35f4, 24-105G, 35f1.8, 85f1.8, 135f1.8GM, 100-400GM, 1.4xTC // A mount: Sig180 3.5 Macro, Gitzo Traveller, Flashes+PixelKings website
Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Online
Posts: 2396
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2020 at 14:42
If ExifTool solution is ok, here is the recipe to rename files into timestamps and include count suffix in case there is already file with the same timestamp:

exiftool '-FileName<CreateDate' -d %Y-%m-%dT%H%M%S%%-c.%%e <files>

I've used T as separator between date and time, but of course it is trivial to change that to some other character.
 



Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2916
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2020 at 21:29
Originally posted by Hezu Hezu wrote:

If ExifTool solution is ok, here is the recipe to rename files into timestamps and include count suffix in case there is already file with the same timestamp:

exiftool '-FileName<CreateDate' -d %Y-%m-%dT%H%M%S%%-c.%%e <files>

I've used T as separator between date and time, but of course it is trivial to change that to some other character.
Thanks for the code, that's a great back up
A7iii, 15f2, 16-35f4, 24-105G, 35f1.8, 85f1.8, 135f1.8GM, 100-400GM, 1.4xTC // A mount: Sig180 3.5 Macro, Gitzo Traveller, Flashes+PixelKings website
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.