FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Metz mecablitz 15 MS-1 A7iii help.

Author
Jack View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 07 October 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Posts: 664
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Metz mecablitz 15 MS-1 A7iii help.
    Posted: 04 January 2021 at 16:35
Is anyone using one of these ring flashes with the a7iii, i have tried everything but i can't get it to work properly.

I purchased a trigger and a wire connection (after 3 attempts to get the right one.) I got it to flash once then didn't flash after that.

will anyone who has this please help with setting this up, next step if i can't sort it its a big For Sale sign LOL

Cheers
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2640
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2021 at 17:15
There usually controlled wirelessly via either the cameras pop up flash or via a HVL-F20M flash on the cameras hotshoe giving wireless TTL exposure.

IIRC , to connect it via a wire , it is just plugged into the cameras PC sync socket , assuming it has one .

If the adapter you have is a Sony MIS to PC sync it should work in manual mode still .

If your using a standard ISO hotshoe adapter to PC sync , they often don't line up correctly with the contacts .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 2829
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2021 at 17:48
I have faint memory that I've used Metz Megablitz 15 MS-1 with α7R series body (probably II or III, possibly I or IV), Sony HVL-F20AM (with hotshoe adapter) and Sony FE 2.8/90 Macro. And since this combination worked fine, so chances are that α7 III works as well.
Back to Top
michelb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 August 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Montréal
Status: Offline
Posts: 660
Post Options Post Options   Quote michelb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2021 at 18:43
Are you trying to use this in TTL mode ?

A cabled connection will only allow Manual flash and there is a power control on the flash so your range of distances and camera lens settings will be somewhat limited.

The real native way to use this is in WL TTL using a control flash on the body like mentioned above: HVL-F20M, HVL-F32M, HVL-F43M or HVL-F60M. Other older flashes could also be used with a proper adapter between control flash and camera body
Michel B
Back to Top
rastapartaman View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 03 March 2007
Country: Portugal
Location: Berkshire
Status: Offline
Posts: 511
Post Options Post Options   Quote rastapartaman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 January 2021 at 01:34
There is a learning mode on the flash. But if you attach a Sony flash in the hotshoe to act as a wireless controller if should work without issues.
Download user manual from here
Don't think, Just click it!!

my Flickr
Back to Top
Jack View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 07 October 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Posts: 664
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 January 2021 at 10:28
Thanks everyone. I have wasted money on controller and receiver, never mind it's the cost of learning,
 



Back to Top
Jack View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 07 October 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Posts: 664
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2021 at 14:26
I have it working through remote, NOW all i need is to find out how to stop it blowing everything out, I have followed the instructions and if I do minus 3 on the flash setting it's not bad but then i can't really see what i'm taking.

Back to Top
bonneville View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: East Midlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 1851
Post Options Post Options   Quote bonneville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2021 at 14:40
If you turn off "Live View Display" (Menu Camera2 page 6/9) you should be able to see what you are taking. At least that is what I do when using studio flashes and a remote for dog photography.
Back to Top
michelb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 August 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Montréal
Status: Offline
Posts: 660
Post Options Post Options   Quote michelb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2021 at 14:41
What is your controller ?

Please be specifi and maybe even show some pics of the set-up. In your earlier post you mentioned controller AND receiver and this may have been a bad idea if you did not choose a proper set.

I repeat, you only need a controller flash like Sony's HVL-F20M but a few others could have done the same all by themselves ( HVL-F32M, HVL-F43M, HVL-F60M or with a Sony ADP-MAA adapter: HVL-F20AM, HVL-F43AM, HVL-F58AM

This flash with the proper controller should provide TTL and not blow out your subject.

An unbranded cabled connection will not provide TTL so the flash will either fire at full power or whatever Manual setting you may set on the flash itself

Did you read the instructions to make it Sony compatible ?
Michel B
Back to Top
Jack View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 07 October 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Posts: 664
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2021 at 17:44
I am using the HVLf20Am, i gave up on trying to get it to work with the lead.

I had the answer all along, and it fires fine now. I set it up for the Sony and channel 1. I can't think i need anything setting different on the camera. I seem to have a blank when it comes to flash use. It's an age thing, i have to blame something.
Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 2829
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2021 at 18:19
This macro flash kit comes with the black clamp that you can attach to the flash head to block extra light from the commanding flash unit mounted on the hotshoe. For the small HVL-F20[A]M models this works like charm, not sure about how easily it fits the larger flash heads...
Back to Top
rastapartaman View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 03 March 2007
Country: Portugal
Location: Berkshire
Status: Offline
Posts: 511
Post Options Post Options   Quote rastapartaman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 January 2021 at 00:38
To block the light from the controller make a cap from used 35mm film. Use a rubber band to secure it in place. I did this even for the pop up flash. The clamp that comes with the Metz keeps unclipping
Don't think, Just click it!!

my Flickr
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lighting

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.