FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Minolta 300mm F2.8 APO Old, advice needed please

Page  <12
Author
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2020 at 19:44
Hi Neil

Another useful thread, cheers.

I have 2 50mm 1.7 lenses, one sigma macro 2.8 and and 2 28mm. Probably the 1.7 will be the best, (won't be using my 100mm😊).

Having said that I am not in a rush. Will wait and see what comes from James if he responded.

I received the lens today, earlier than expected. Really pleased with it, in mint condition, not a scratch. Used it manually through the window with a99ii and boy, what a lens. Got me thinking why would I change anything on it. Good news it is after all an easy fix.

So I will give James some time and try to msg him again.
It will be interesting to see and document the effects of chips with shorter focal length though .

The worst is to use it in manual mode which l am kind of happy with (well, until I try the af, I guess 😊).

Badr
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2543
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2020 at 21:45
Don't get impatient waiting for James to respond .
It can sometimes take a couple of weeks !

Maybe he travels around for work ... who knows ?

Anyway , he's clearly still selling them as there still on ebay .

If you need to cannibalise your lenses , if you've got a couple of 28mm f.2.8's , I'd probably use one of them as the largest aperture is already f/2.8 , same as the 300mm .
Just switch your image stabilisation off , and keep your shutter speed up .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2020 at 23:47
Yes, will wait for him first. Thanks
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2020 at 19:47
Great news!

Received a reply from James and ordered. In the meantime will get a dremel and practice with it🙂.

Thank you all for the help.I'll post his massage here including the website:


(New message from: james_dn (94Blue Star)
hi,
The chip can fix the screw driver AF lens. So you can order the m42c-l1 for a non-SSM version 300/2.8 APO lens.
You can order from eadpt.com/en
Best Regards)


eadpt.com/en

Badr
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2543
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 October 2020 at 00:33
Good news .

Be aware that unless you pay silly money for a quicker delivery , then your in for a 4 to 6 week wait .
I forget how long it took mine to arrive , but I was aware of this before ordering , so not an issue .

You'll soon have it back to full working order , just remember to mark out where it needs to be epoxied first !

Thanks' for the updated website link , the old one no longer works .

EDIT , clickable link ;

http://eadpt.com/en/

Edited by neilt3 - 22 October 2020 at 00:36
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 October 2020 at 08:06
Thanks Neil

Still not feeling the full confidence of doing it, based on previous failed DIY attempts with lenses. The thread you linked previously is very helpful.

Once I received the chip and removed the mount I will try and take some pictures and post it here to know exactly which part to remove (the minolta one looks very thin) . I have ordered a dremel.

Badr
 



Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Yesterday at 02:12
Interesting thoughts on my dpreview thread:

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/64460772
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2543
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Yesterday at 13:56
It could quite easily be a dry joint that needs re-soldering .
On my teleconverter it was the ribbon cable that gave out .
An electrical engineer with the required soldering abilities could have repaired it .
I know my limitations , so didn't even try to do it myself .
Get a short due to a bad joint and you could do serious damage to the camera .

Replacing it with the new chip only required marking out on the metal lens mount where the contacts need to line up .

Paying someone , if I could find someone would have cost more than buying a chip and doing it myself .
And in my case I wouldn't have enabled the 300mm f/4 to still have AF with a 2x teleconverter .

It's doubtful you would find a technician to even look at your lens as even after identifying the problem if they can't get parts would still have to charge you for not repairing your lens .

Testing the joints is a DIY job , but unless you have the correct soldering iron ( sufficiently fine ) and the required skills to use it ( I don't ) you run the risk of having a broken camera and a still faulty lens !

Incidentally , do you have a hot melt glue gun ?
If so after carefully positioning the chip with a dab at both ends , you can test fit the lens on the camera body .
If all good , then you can fill the gap between blobs with araldite , building it up in a couple of layers .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Yesterday at 22:22
Hi Neil

Yes I have glue gun, sounds good idea.

Like you said I said I will see if there is any obvious soldering fault and don't think I am confident enough to go beyond that. Planning to remove the mount after receiving the chip so I don't do it twice. A bit apprehensive about the trimming part but will try and mark it first and do it very slowly.

Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > A-mount lenses Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.