FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Minolta 300mm F2.8 APO Old, advice needed please

Page  <12
Author
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2020 at 19:44
Hi Neil

Another useful thread, cheers.

I have 2 50mm 1.7 lenses, one sigma macro 2.8 and and 2 28mm. Probably the 1.7 will be the best, (won't be using my 100mm😊).

Having said that I am not in a rush. Will wait and see what comes from James if he responded.

I received the lens today, earlier than expected. Really pleased with it, in mint condition, not a scratch. Used it manually through the window with a99ii and boy, what a lens. Got me thinking why would I change anything on it. Good news it is after all an easy fix.

So I will give James some time and try to msg him again.
It will be interesting to see and document the effects of chips with shorter focal length though .

The worst is to use it in manual mode which l am kind of happy with (well, until I try the af, I guess 😊).

Badr
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2570
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2020 at 21:45
Don't get impatient waiting for James to respond .
It can sometimes take a couple of weeks !

Maybe he travels around for work ... who knows ?

Anyway , he's clearly still selling them as there still on ebay .

If you need to cannibalise your lenses , if you've got a couple of 28mm f.2.8's , I'd probably use one of them as the largest aperture is already f/2.8 , same as the 300mm .
Just switch your image stabilisation off , and keep your shutter speed up .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2020 at 23:47
Yes, will wait for him first. Thanks
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2020 at 19:47
Great news!

Received a reply from James and ordered. In the meantime will get a dremel and practice with it🙂.

Thank you all for the help.I'll post his massage here including the website:


(New message from: james_dn (94Blue Star)
hi,
The chip can fix the screw driver AF lens. So you can order the m42c-l1 for a non-SSM version 300/2.8 APO lens.
You can order from eadpt.com/en
Best Regards)


eadpt.com/en

Badr
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2570
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 October 2020 at 00:33
Good news .

Be aware that unless you pay silly money for a quicker delivery , then your in for a 4 to 6 week wait .
I forget how long it took mine to arrive , but I was aware of this before ordering , so not an issue .

You'll soon have it back to full working order , just remember to mark out where it needs to be epoxied first !

Thanks' for the updated website link , the old one no longer works .

EDIT , clickable link ;

http://eadpt.com/en/

Edited by neilt3 - 22 October 2020 at 00:36
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 October 2020 at 08:06
Thanks Neil

Still not feeling the full confidence of doing it, based on previous failed DIY attempts with lenses. The thread you linked previously is very helpful.

Once I received the chip and removed the mount I will try and take some pictures and post it here to know exactly which part to remove (the minolta one looks very thin) . I have ordered a dremel.

Badr
 



Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 October 2020 at 02:12
Interesting thoughts on my dpreview thread:

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/64460772
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2570
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 October 2020 at 13:56
It could quite easily be a dry joint that needs re-soldering .
On my teleconverter it was the ribbon cable that gave out .
An electrical engineer with the required soldering abilities could have repaired it .
I know my limitations , so didn't even try to do it myself .
Get a short due to a bad joint and you could do serious damage to the camera .

Replacing it with the new chip only required marking out on the metal lens mount where the contacts need to line up .

Paying someone , if I could find someone would have cost more than buying a chip and doing it myself .
And in my case I wouldn't have enabled the 300mm f/4 to still have AF with a 2x teleconverter .

It's doubtful you would find a technician to even look at your lens as even after identifying the problem if they can't get parts would still have to charge you for not repairing your lens .

Testing the joints is a DIY job , but unless you have the correct soldering iron ( sufficiently fine ) and the required skills to use it ( I don't ) you run the risk of having a broken camera and a still faulty lens !

Incidentally , do you have a hot melt glue gun ?
If so after carefully positioning the chip with a dab at both ends , you can test fit the lens on the camera body .
If all good , then you can fill the gap between blobs with araldite , building it up in a couple of layers .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 October 2020 at 22:22
Hi Neil

Yes I have glue gun, sounds good idea.

Like you said I said I will see if there is any obvious soldering fault and don't think I am confident enough to go beyond that. Planning to remove the mount after receiving the chip so I don't do it twice. A bit apprehensive about the trimming part but will try and mark it first and do it very slowly.

Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2960
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 October 2020 at 10:23
Long ago, fellow member ricardovaste chipped a Samyang MF lens for me. Obviously was only communication wit the camera rather than anything AF related, but if you were concerned about doing it yourself and looking for help in the UK, Richard may be able to help.
A7iii, 15f2, 16-35f4, 35f1.8, 85f1.8, 135f1.8GM, 100-400GM, 1.4xTC // A mount: Sig90f2.8 and Sig180f3.5 Macros, Gitzo Traveller, Flashes+PixelKings website
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 October 2020 at 10:59
Thanks for the suggestion, good to know. I will give it ago first. I have a feeling that I should have ordered 2 chips, just in case.
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 November 2020 at 00:02
Update
I received the chip this afternoon. It is actually thinner than I anticipated and matches the original in this regard, so hopefully not much space needed.

Also it is an 8 pins chip.

Having said that, I decided against DIY.
About 3 weeks ago I needed to service some other manual lenses I have and found a local camera repairs guy who seemed to understand quickly what I am intending to do with the 300mm.

I will explain to him the placement and the to mark the places of the pins as mentioned in the Dpreview thread above, thanks to Neil.


Not sure if he will agree to take some photos but I will ask anyway.

Only problem is that it has to be after the Lockdown.

Badr
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2570
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 November 2020 at 01:30
Thats good then .
Do you have a lens that has 8 contacts ?
if so , take it with you when you go in so he can see where they need to match up on the flange .
ie , which end the extra 3 go on .
Only another couple of weeks to wait !
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Badr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 02 February 2018
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Newcastle upon
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote Badr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 November 2020 at 11:31
Yes I do. That is actually a very good idea, saves time explaining. On a quick look, and similar to the 6 pins one, the extra Pins go right side.

Edited by Badr - 15 November 2020 at 11:45
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > A-mount lenses Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.062 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.