FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Minolta Alpha/Dynax 7 Exposure Compensation Dial

Author
Idleidolidyll View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2010
Country: New Zealand
Location: Aotearoa
Status: Offline
Posts: 811
Post Options Post Options   Quote Idleidolidyll Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Minolta Alpha/Dynax 7 Exposure Compensation Dial
    Posted: 25 September 2021 at 22:59
As much as I love my Minolta Alpha 7, the exposure compensation dial really pisses me off!

Yesterday I set it to +1/3rd to get a bit more shadow detail. A little later in the day, I looked at it and the dial had moved around to +2 and a 3rd. I don't believe it's my finger accidentally moving it, I reckon it's when I put it back in my backpack, camera bag or sling it around my neck/shoulder.
It locks at zero adjustment but is free to move from any other setting.

I guess I could say "at least my shots will be over-exposed and not under-exposed" but I was deliberately including the sky and clouds in many of the shots and using an orange or red filter.

I'll shoot the rest of the roll today (12 shots) and might just use compensating development to help 'just in case'. (Rodinal at 1+300 stand developed for 2 hours)
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2883
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 September 2021 at 00:30
If you want to expose the roll at a different EV , just manually set the ISO and leave the dial set to zero .
So if your using an ISO 200 film , set the camera to expose it as ISO 160 .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Idleidolidyll View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2010
Country: New Zealand
Location: Aotearoa
Status: Offline
Posts: 811
Post Options Post Options   Quote Idleidolidyll Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 September 2021 at 00:34
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

If you want to expose the roll at a different EV , just manually set the ISO and leave the dial set to zero .
So if your using an ISO 200 film , set the camera to expose it as ISO 160 .


Yeah, I've reached that same conclusion.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.093 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.