FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Minolta Dimage Scan Dual

Author
AndySRT View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 March 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 60
Post Options Post Options   Quote AndySRT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Minolta Dimage Scan Dual
    Posted: 22 June 2009 at 07:09
has anyone used this scanner? i have a chance to pick one up and was wondering if anyone on here has any sort of opinion on it? whats normal going price for one?

Thanks

Andy
Camera: sony a700 & minolta 7
Lenses: minolta 18-70f3.5-5.6,sony 70-200mm G,50mm minolta f1.7
 



Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26733
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 June 2009 at 07:46
Check on the resolution possible and the interface - some work off a SCSI card, while others are USB. For the older ones the control software might not work on newer operating systems, but I understand you can fall back on VuScan to control... I think the last version I heard of was the Dual Scan IV..
Back to Top
fmajor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 May 2006
Country: United States
Location: Front Range
Status: Offline
Posts: 522
Post Options Post Options   Quote fmajor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 June 2009 at 13:46
I have a DiMage Scan Dual III and it was, i think, the first in the Minolta line to use a USB interface. As Bob mentioned, check to be sure otherwise, a SCSI to USB adapter may be needed if your computer doesn't have one on-board.

As to functionality, it works pretty well - it's my first/only scanner. The DiMage software is 90's and i haven't tried it with my new OS (Vista 64 bit). I had a hard time getting used to the scanning process *(still am honestly), but once in the "groove", the Scan Dual does pretty well - depending on the condition of the media.

Price depends on which iteration you're buying. The Scan Dual III's were ~$250 when i bought mine last year. The Scan Dual IV's were ~$300 and the one i'd like to get - DiMage Elite 5400 II - were ~$500 and up IF you could find one.
|KM 7D|a200|Sig 15-30mm| Min 28-85mm|Min 28-135mm| Min 70-210mm F4|S75-300|S18-70

my flickr
Back to Top
zk-cessnaguy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 June 2007
Country: New Zealand
Location: Auckland
Status: Offline
Posts: 1705
Post Options Post Options   Quote zk-cessnaguy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 June 2009 at 13:49
Originally posted by fmajor fmajor wrote:

I have a DiMage Scan Dual III and it was, i think, the first in the Minolta line to use a USB interface. As Bob mentioned, check to be sure otherwise, a SCSI to USB adapter may be needed if your computer doesn't have one on-board.


The Scan Dual II is also USB.
There is nothing, absolutely nothing, half so much worth doing, as simply messing about in boats
Back to Top
AndySRT View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 March 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 60
Post Options Post Options   Quote AndySRT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2009 at 05:39
this one is only 50 dollars and i have a SCSI port on my computer. does this sound like a good deal?
Camera: sony a700 & minolta 7
Lenses: minolta 18-70f3.5-5.6,sony 70-200mm G,50mm minolta f1.7
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14400
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2009 at 05:47
I have a Scan Dual II right here. The interface is USB, not SCSI, and the driver and software work with Windows XP. I don't know about Vista compatibility. It's only a mediocre scanner, but yes, it's worth $50. It requires a carrier for strip film and another for mounted slides; so be sure those are included or you'll have to hunt them down separately. I'm not sure if the software can be downloaded from anywhere at this point, but if you can't locate it, let me know.
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14400
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2009 at 05:53
Found the Windows and Mac drivers here.
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14400
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2009 at 06:17
Oops, ignore what I was saying. Sounds like you're talking about the original Scan Dual, which is totally different from what I have and is probably not worth $50.
Back to Top
PieterB View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 May 2007
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 1345
Post Options Post Options   Quote PieterB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2009 at 07:23
I have a Scandual 2 and it also uses usb.
It is really hard work to scan negatives and for this I use vuescan which is really superior to the Minolta software. It is a lot of work to get the colours right.

Slides is a lot easier.
Pieter
Sony A77/HVL-F42AM Sigma 70 / F2,8 Sigma 10-20/F4-5,6
Tamron 70-300 usd, Sony 16-50/F2,8,Sigma 18-250,
A6000, Sony 16-50oss PZ, TAMRON 18-200/f3.5-6.3VC,Sigma 19/2,8, Sony 50/1,8 Rkkr 50/1,4
Back to Top
DavidFixesThings View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 20 November 2021
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote DavidFixesThings Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2021 at 21:50
I have recently loaded Dimage scan Dual III software into my HP2000 laptop running Windows 10 home version 1901 64bit. The original Scandual software is version 1.1.1. The computer has 4.0 GB.
I loaded it once and it didn't run. Error message was either 'timeout' immediately on startup or "cannot find scanner on 'DS Dual3 Utility' and 'DS Dual3 Easy Utility'.
The scanner was purchased in 2003 and used then but not for the last many years.
To load it, I followed the instructions and when it didn't work, I uninstalled it. Then I installed it again and it now goes with no problem, just like it did on WinXP
David
Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 November 2021 at 00:31
There are LOTS of "older" hardware that will not run in Windows 10.

Microsoft does not create drivers for every possible piece of "old" hardware, and typically, the hardware manufacturers do not create drivers for new operating systems -- they want you to buy their NEWER gear.

The best you can do is to find the latest driver for your hardware -- be it XP, 7, or 8, and see if it works. If not, uninstall the driver, and reinstall it or the setup program using Windows 10 COMPATIBILITY MODE. You choose what operating system the driver was made for. That may or may not work.

If all else fails, do what I do -- use another computer with an older operating system with drivers that the hardware was designed for -- or buy new hardware.

I've got a computer running Windows 98 because that's the only operating system that will work with some of my GREAT, OLD hardware and software!
Back to Top
pdetombe View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 27 June 2007
Country: France
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 69
Post Options Post Options   Quote pdetombe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2021 at 10:04
You may want to give Vuescan software a try ...

https://www.hamrick.com/

A2/7D/A900

too many lenses to list

Minolta user since 1995
Back to Top
JosR View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 21 August 2007
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 107
Post Options Post Options   Quote JosR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2021 at 12:39
Most of these old Minolta scanners can be made to work perfectly under Windows 10, see info/links in this topic:
https://www.dyxum.com/dforum/topic140146.html
ILCA-77M2 + SAL1680Z, SAL70300G, SAL70400G2, ILCE-7RM4 + SEL2470Z, SEL100400GM, LA-EA3
Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2021 at 14:03
Originally posted by JosR JosR wrote:

Most of these old Minolta scanners can be made to work perfectly under Windows 10, see info/links in this topic:
https://www.dyxum.com/dforum/topic140146.html


That's good to know. I've got a GREAT HP 4890 scanner for my 4x5" negatives, but it's from the XP days, and I've had no luck trying to get it to work with Windows 10. It seems to be hardware AND software incompatibility issues -- so it's nice to hear a success story.

There's no explaining it. I've got an old Epson printer from the Windows 3.1 days that works great in Windows 10, but my Dell printer from the much later XP days won't!!! Go figure.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > Film cameras

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.