FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Minolta RD-175

Page  12>
Author
sturatcliffe View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Stockport
Status: Offline
Posts: 1362
Post Options Post Options   Quote sturatcliffe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Minolta RD-175
    Posted: 21 January 2011 at 16:55
How much are these worth nowadays?

I know when they were released the rrp was $10,000

thanks
www.srphoto.co.uk
Wedding & Portrait Photography
 



Back to Top
Zony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 December 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 157
Post Options Post Options   Quote Zony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 January 2011 at 22:31
Oh the RD-175 has to be one of the worst photo investments ever. I think they are in the low hundreds now (from US $8,000). And a person needs a certain defunct memory card, and certain transfer cable...oh, my. It only gets worse the more you know, there are a myraid of reformatting issues, too. It seems an exceedingly hard way to extract a 1.5 megapixal image. If your buying one, patience and perseverence are required.
If you have one of those, don't sell it to anyone you concider your friend.

Edited by Zony - 21 January 2011 at 22:37
Back to Top
waleskeg View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 April 2007
Country: United States
Location: Metro Phila
Status: Offline
Posts: 2890
Post Options Post Options   Quote waleskeg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 January 2011 at 23:33
When you Google Minolta RD-175, a myriad of info comes up for you. Have fun!
Back to Top
solomonXX View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 March 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 292
Post Options Post Options   Quote solomonXX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 January 2011 at 23:52
Actually i still have a set of RD-175 but I have never get it used. It is a true DSLR. I am not sure what's the crop factor.
- Solomon
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2403
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2011 at 00:20
crop factors X2.the prisms for the 3 seperate CCD's alter things a bit.
i've also got a set up of one of these that work fine,shame minolta and sony couldn't keep the flash metering working like in this and the    RD-3000 (vectis mount)so the 1200af ring flash and wireless remote controller works.
edited;forgot to say paid about 75 gbp including all the cables,memory card hardware and software etc

Edited by neilt3 - 22 January 2011 at 11:10
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
ffrolvaag View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 November 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1065
Post Options Post Options   Quote ffrolvaag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2011 at 00:40
As from above one can be purchased 200-300 USD. I have one and have used it frequently in the past year or so. Here are some other fun facts about the camera.

- The max aperture (meaning widest open) is f6.7 due to light loss of the 2x crop factor
- Static ISO800
- Fully compatible with xi series flashes (3500xi and 5400xi) including wireless control, and ratio functions.
- Recording media is a PCMCIA hard drive
- 3 CCDs (green, green, red instead of a traditional RGB arrangement)
- Full resolution is 1.75 mp
- Raw files are a unique since camera raw didn't exist when the camera was produced. Through the Minolta legacy software, the raw can be converted to TIFF or JPEG. At one point, Adobe supported the raw files, but that functionality has been lost for a long time in ACR.
- x-synch speed is 1/90 sec.
- it had a 0.5 fps shooting rate (that is one frame per two seconds)

Agreed that it was a bad purchase, as is almost alpha technology (first to market, not Sony camera products). Another easy example is HDTVs. 5-6 years ago they were 10,000 USD, and now can be had for a few hundred dollars. The new models are many times better than first gen ones.

I think the thing that amazes me about the RD-175 is that although it is a limited camera, it was produced in 1995. There are features (flash compatability) that weren't met until the a900 was released. One may laugh at a 1.75 mp body, but with the right know how, it was capable of producing amazing images. That being said, it is outstripped in so many ways by a moder dSLR.
Franz



a900, a700, 5600hs, 1200 (w/MFC-1000), 3x converted f1.2 (Rokkor 58, Nikon 50 ais, and Pentax 50), 85mm f1.4, 100mm f2.8, 70-400G, and way too much other stuff to mention
 



Back to Top
ffrolvaag View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 November 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1065
Post Options Post Options   Quote ffrolvaag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2011 at 01:17
Given that the max aperture was f6.7, the camera is predominantly a studio camera. See below for a picture I took in October with my RD-175.
        Regards,
               Franz

Franz



a900, a700, 5600hs, 1200 (w/MFC-1000), 3x converted f1.2 (Rokkor 58, Nikon 50 ais, and Pentax 50), 85mm f1.4, 100mm f2.8, 70-400G, and way too much other stuff to mention
Back to Top
Zony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 December 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 157
Post Options Post Options   Quote Zony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2011 at 03:38
Franz;
A lovely pic. It's almost like there is a glow to little one's skin. I read something about this camera making reddish images. But, you obviously have a balanced output, here. Your image has a certain pleasing look I can't put my finger on...

Edited by Zony - 22 January 2011 at 03:44
Back to Top
Zony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 December 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 157
Post Options Post Options   Quote Zony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2011 at 03:41
So, Franz, is the image directly converted to a TIFF ? What kind of editing does the legacy software let you do ?

Edited by Zony - 22 January 2011 at 03:50
Back to Top
ffrolvaag View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 November 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1065
Post Options Post Options   Quote ffrolvaag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2011 at 15:20
The legacy software doesn't let you do much more than sharpening, and apply chromatic filtering. Otherwise, its main use is to convert the file to TIFF or JPEG (oh and PICT and bitmap) from the original raw type file. I did have to work with the resulting TIFF files quite a bit in photoshop in order to achieve the above results. Remember, when this camera came out, there really wasn't much in the way of digital photo editing software, and no standard for raw file formats.

Incidentally, I find that when using a flash, the color balance on the camera is spot on. The camera has several preset modes for color balance. If the lighting isn't exactly the color temperature of the presets, the color will certainly be off. Since color temperature varies so much, I think there is a tendency towards red in the way the presets are set. There is no manual color balancing, so that has to be done in post processing if the color is off.

Photos that are taken with the camera do suffer from moire issues. Few modern cameras suffer from this issue, so if you don't know what it is, it is a horizontal or vertical banding that results from the interpolation of the multiple CCDs. I find that Moire tends to be more of an issue when one works with without sufficient light. However, I think the glow you see from above is the softening and sharpening routines I had to put the file through to remove any moire issues.

Edited by ffrolvaag - 22 January 2011 at 15:23
Franz



a900, a700, 5600hs, 1200 (w/MFC-1000), 3x converted f1.2 (Rokkor 58, Nikon 50 ais, and Pentax 50), 85mm f1.4, 100mm f2.8, 70-400G, and way too much other stuff to mention
Back to Top
ffrolvaag View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 November 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1065
Post Options Post Options   Quote ffrolvaag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2011 at 15:22
Oh, one more thing to consider is that there are Twain drivers that need to be loaded on the camera (or specifically PCMCIA hard drive) via a SCSI cable. If you don't have a SCSI cable and card for your computer, setting up the camera is next to impossible.
Franz



a900, a700, 5600hs, 1200 (w/MFC-1000), 3x converted f1.2 (Rokkor 58, Nikon 50 ais, and Pentax 50), 85mm f1.4, 100mm f2.8, 70-400G, and way too much other stuff to mention
Back to Top
paso144 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 October 2009
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 359
Post Options Post Options   Quote paso144 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2011 at 15:27
There's on on ebay germany at this moment, if any one is interested.
A850, 16fish-eye, 17-35G, 20F2.8, 28-70G, 28-135, 50/1.4D, 58/1.2, 85/1.4D, 80-200/2.8APO black, 100macroD, 100/2, AT-X304, 500mirror, 5600D HS.
Back to Top
Zony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 December 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 157
Post Options Post Options   Quote Zony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2011 at 20:59
ffrolvaag: I understood the blur-filter that we all have on most single-sensor cameras addresses this moire issue. Also thought the 3-sensor design was impervious to moire, like the Sigma SD1/SD15. Ok, admittedly, the RD175 has some fundamental differences from the 3-CMOS Sigmas, but it's a bit of a shock to hear the Minolta suffers from this problem.
Back to Top
Sick View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 July 2009
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 1200
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2011 at 00:40
I thought the Software doesn't run on modern Windows versions?

And how could it use the old TTL flash metering?
Doesn't it require reflection off the film plane?
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.