FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Minolta V lenses

Page  123>
Author
Velocina View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 September 2012
Country: Italy
Location: Friuli
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote Velocina Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Minolta V lenses
    Posted: 10 March 2014 at 22:26
I've searched for Minolta V-mount lenses here in Dyxum forum, but I've not found an answer about which lenses can be mounted natively on the Minolta RD3000 2.7 Mpx. DSLR.

The RD3000 brochure shows the camera lens line composed by these glasses:

- V Lens 22 80mm f/4 5.6
- V Lens 80 240mm f/4.5 5.6 Apo
- V Lens 28 56mm f/4 5.6
- V Lens 50mm f/3.5 Macro
- V Lens 17mm f/3.5 RD

Under the scheme, there is this disclaimer:

" The V 56 170mm f/4.5 5.6, V Reflex 400mm f/8 and V 25 150mm f/4.5 6.3 lenses can be attached to the RD 3000, but may not perform to 100% of their capabilities. "

Anybody knows why not all the V Lenses suitables for the Minolta Vectis S1 and S100 cameras "may not perform to 100% of their capabilities" on the RD3000 DSLR ?

Again, why sell two separate zooms so closed themselves (V 22-80 and V28-56 ), is the V28-56 so much better than the V22-80 or it is only for the wider end of the first (crop factor of the Rd3000 is approx. 1.5X) ?

Any information, suggestion and comment are welcome !


Luca

P.S.: I'm waiting for an RD-3000 bought in Germany today to pair with the other "vintage" DSLR I own, the RD-175
 



Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26541
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 March 2014 at 23:12
No idea - the reviews I have been able to find on the internet do not mention any restrictions - the only thing I can think of is that the lenses image circle would have been large enough for APS-H on film while the RD3000 sensor is only APS-C...

I don't think the standard zoom (28-56) had a manual focusing ring - I think the 22-80 might be a rather more upmarket lens that has manual focus and other nice stuff like a petal hood that fits a 24/f2.8...
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2678
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 00:20
I have the full set of Vectis SLR and DSLR lenses , bodies and accessories .
All the lenses seem to work fine on the RD3000 , only the 17mm has problems with vignetting on the film cameras .

The 22-80mm and 80-240mm APO are the better set of zoom lenses .
The 28-56mm isn't very well made , and with the 56-170mm gives you the cheaper kit lens set .

The 50mm macro is a very nice lens , the 17mm gives good results too .
The 17mm and A-mount 24-85mm RS lens share the same lens shade too.
Though the 17mm is a rare beast and a shade for it even rarer !

The 400mm reflex does a good job given a sturdy support .
    
Another bonus to the camera is that you can use the flashes intended for film cameras as well as the later "D" flashes .

I think this picture was taken with the 22-80mm lens , exif data doesn't show this ;Llyn Dinas at dusk , Beddgelert , Snowdonia.

This one was with the 50mm macro and a 1200AF macro flash ;Southern comfort with ice.


Edited by neilt3 - 11 March 2014 at 00:52
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Velocina View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 September 2012
Country: Italy
Location: Friuli
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote Velocina Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 01:29
Hi,
thanks a lot for the Info !
This is the Minolta RD-3000 System Card:



According to what you wrote me, that is "the 17mm is a rare beast", I've immediatly bought one here in Italy, so, when all will be home, my set will be composed by an RD-3000 camera body with the following lenses: V22-80, V80-240 APO, V50 Macro and V17.

I've got the 24-85 RS too, so I'll can test the V17 with the shade of the other lens: thanks for the tip !

The SF1 dedicated flash will be the next addition, it is relatively easy to get one on Ebay and it is cheap too, but I'm strongly tempted to buy a 3600 HS-D unit, to employ it on my A700 and A900 DSLRs too.

The 3600HS-D isn't on the System Chart, but the 5600HS is. Do you think it will work properly too ?

Bye.

Luca

P.S.: what about the adapter for A-mount lenses on V-mount camera, deoes it really exist ?

Back to Top
mirthseeker View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2011
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 762
Post Options Post Options   Quote mirthseeker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 04:47
From the Instruction manual, 3600HSD, Page E41:

Using Minolta Digital Cameras
(Dimage RD3000) ......
: Flash is automatic in the P mode. Fill flash is used when a photo is taken while the manual fill-flash on this camera is pressed.
: The shutter speed is set automatically in the S mode
: High-speed sync cannot be used.
: As the RD3000 has no built-in flash, when employing wireless flash, use optional Wireless Flash Remote Control or 5600HS, which is sold separately. Use the spot button for test flash.

Edited by mirthseeker - 11 March 2014 at 04:52
Back to Top
Velocina View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 September 2012
Country: Italy
Location: Friuli
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote Velocina Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 16:32
Thanks for the info !

As I can understand, the 5600HS has an internal wireless controller, while the 3600 HS-D not.
If the higher guide number of the 5600 is not necessary and the flash is connected directly to camera shoe, the 3600 is good as the 5600.

How about the SF-1 dedicated flash, is it so scarce ? Can it operate in TTL mode or not ?
I just own a Metz 54MZ-4 with SCA3302-M9 for Minolta and I use it with my Alpha A700 and A900, but the RD-3000 isn't listed in the manual (but Vectis S1 is !).It is a powerful flash unit, but huge, heavy and a bit difficult to pair with the camera. Definetly a bit bigger for the RD-3000.

In the while I've paid the V 17/3.5. Now I'm waiting for the RD-3000 and four lenses.

Bye.

Luca
 



Back to Top
mirthseeker View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2011
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 762
Post Options Post Options   Quote mirthseeker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 16:39
Try here.
Back to Top
Velocina View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 September 2012
Country: Italy
Location: Friuli
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote Velocina Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 19:47
Wow !
Dyxum forum is better than Google !

As I Can see, SF1 flash unit is less than an integrated one, except for guide number (GN=20), little better respect a usual built-in unit.
The RD-3000 hasn't an integrated flash unit, so SF1 provides one and AF assist light too from 28 mm. FL onward. STOP. All other functions are reserved to upper units (till 5600 HS...).
Cable socket via OS-1100 or FA-CS1AM means (I think..) the unit can be connected off-camera.
I think the only real issue of SF1 is the power supply : 2xCR2 batteries. Two standard Cr2 batteries are around 1/4 to 1/3 of the used flash unit cost, while a wall chargher plus two rechargeable lithium CR2 batteries ( special type, 3V instead of usual 3.6V ) equals the price of a like new SF1 unit..... and a flash unit is well known to be energy-hungry.
I'll do my flash experiments with the "big" Metz, then probably I'll buy an SF1... to complete the RD-3000 set.

I'll keep you in touch about camera when it will be in my hands.

Luca

PS: Why the RD-3000 is not present in Dyxum's camera data base ? It is a
    DSLR with interchangeable lens like NEX cameras (but really a
    reflex)with a proper lens mount (V-mount)and has a 1.5X crop
    factor, like an APSC camera. I think the database of Minolta/Sony
    digital cameras isn't complete without adding the RD-175 (A-mount)
    and the RD-3000 (V-mount) DSLRs near the 5D/7D ones...
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2678
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 20:12
Regarding flashes , the SF-1 is very common but the 2 batteries for it will cost more to buy than what you'll pay for the flash !
Get one if you want one to add to a collection , make sure it has it's case and wide angle diffuser .

As far as what flash to get goes , the 3600HS/D is not listed on the leaflet as at the time the camera was made , that flash didn't exist .

The 5400HS will work fine on the RD3000 and all Dynax film cameras , but it will not work TTL with your A700 or any other DSLR or SLT .

If your looking at buying a flash unit , you may as well get something that works with current cameras as well .
The Minolta 3600HS/D and Sony HVL-36 are the same unit , just rebranded . Both will work wirelessly with DSLR's and SLT's , plus any film camera that supports wireless flash . Supports high speed sync and bounce flash .

The Minolta 5600HS/D and Sony HVL-56 , again are the same flash and work as per the 3600HS/D / HVL-36 , with the additional benefit that they can trigger appropriate flashes wirelessly and apart from bounce flash they can tilt down for close up shot's and swivel too to bounce off wall's or the ceiling in portrait's .

The other Minolta flash for film or digital use is the Minolta 2500d , works fine on film cameras and earlier DSLR's , but I seem to remember it has inconsistent results on later DSLR's and probably SLT's . So best to leave it , cheep though.

Later Sony flashes dropped compatibility with film cameras , and therefore will not work with the RD3000 .

One suggestion would be to get the Minolta wireless flash controller to trigger the flashes and a couple of 3600HS/D's . This would be quite a cheep setup to play with and your A700 will trigger them with it's built in flash .

As far as your Metz flash goes , as it states it works with the Vectis S1 then that means it is compatible with all the Minolta film cameras that it fit's , and therefore the RD3000 which uses the metering system as film . Your RD175 works in the same way .

     

   

see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
darosa View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 23 March 2007
Country: Netherlands
Location: Westland
Status: Offline
Posts: 13355
Post Options Post Options   Quote darosa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 20:22
Luca, Dyxum was an A-mount forum since it started. With the success of the NEX, E-mount was added recently.

V-mount began and ended before Dyxum started. There was never any reason to make it part of Dyxum.

But it is an interesting episode of Minolta history and I'm looking forward to your results with the RD-3000.

I have a few V-lenses and I'm trying to get them to work on the NEX.
Not easy, as focus and aperture lack a (true) manual mode; and I'll have to make a DIY adapter.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2678
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 20:24
Originally posted by Velocina Velocina wrote:

Wow !
Dyxum forum is better than Google !

As I Can see, SF1 flash unit is less than an integrated one, except for guide number (GN=20), little better respect a usual built-in unit.
The RD-3000 hasn't an integrated flash unit, so SF1 provides one and AF assist light too from 28 mm. FL onward. STOP. All other functions are reserved to upper units (till 5600 HS...).
Cable socket via OS-1100 or FA-CS1AM means (I think..) the unit can be connected off-camera.
I think the only real issue of SF1 is the power supply : 2xCR2 batteries. Two standard Cr2 batteries are around 1/4 to 1/3 of the used flash unit cost, while a wall chargher plus two rechargeable lithium CR2 batteries ( special type, 3V instead of usual 3.6V ) equals the price of a like new SF1 unit..... and a flash unit is well known to be energy-hungry.
I'll do my flash experiments with the "big" Metz, then probably I'll buy an SF1... to complete the RD-3000 set.

I'll keep you in touch about camera when it will be in my hands.

Luca

PS: Why the RD-3000 is not present in Dyxum's camera data base ? It is a
    DSLR with interchangeable lens like NEX cameras (but really a
    reflex)with a proper lens mount (V-mount)and has a 1.5X crop
    factor, like an APSC camera. I think the database of Minolta/Sony
    digital cameras isn't complete without adding the RD-175 (A-mount)
    and the RD-3000 (V-mount) DSLRs near the 5D/7D ones...



Look's like you were replying in the time it took to type mine up ( while eating my Dinner !) .

Yes the flash cable and flash socket are fully compatible with both the RD3000 , RD175 and A700 .

Regarding the data base , Dyxum is dedicated to A-mount cameras (Minolta and Sony) and more recently the E-mount cameras due to cross compatibility .
The Vectis S1 ,S100 and DiMage RD3000 are not A-mount but V-mount and apart from a common flash system had no other system integration than the earlier SR mount ( manual focus cameras).Thus nothing to do with Dyxum as such .
The RD175 uses the same flash and lenses as the film and digital cameras , so could have been included , but as has been discussed previously , it ain't going in !       
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11810
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 20:24
Originally posted by Velocina Velocina wrote:

The 3600HS-D isn't on the System Chart, but the 5600HS is. Do you think it will work properly too ?

If you look closely at the system card you will see that is mentions the older 5400, not the newer 5600....

The 3600 works on my older filmcameras like the 800si, so, I expect it will work with the RD3000.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2678
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 20:54
Originally posted by darosa darosa wrote:

I have a few V-lenses and I'm trying to get them to work on the NEX.
Not easy, as focus and aperture lack a (true) manual mode; and I'll have to make a DIY adapter.



I have a few of the Vectis lenses that I have already dismantled , also to make them work with my NEX cameras .

Some one with knowledge and expertise with electronics would be able to make an adapter that would control the motor for the focus motor and aperture without modifying the lens.

Sadly , I'm not that clever ( ) so I'm altering mine in a different way .
It's a long term project that I'm doing as and when I get chance , almost ready to start assembly .
The design I'm working too is to replace the lens motors with the kind of servo's that you use on remote control cars and planes etc .
These are to be wired into the contacts on the lens mount so they can be controlled via the adapter .

The adapter I have planned will have a few switches on the body and hold a battery . To focus , the power to the servo will be switched ( +/- or -/+)to adjust , same for the aperture . When built I need to work out what voltage is needed to turn the servos in such a way that sufficient power is present to move it , but slow enough that it is controllable .
There will be no electronic connections between the adapter and the camera body .It's a shame the Vectic range was never that big as a similar adapter to the Canon EOS to NEX adapter could be made . Very similar lens system .

If , as and when they ever take shape , and I get it to work , I will show the results then .
Just don't hold your breath !     
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2678
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2014 at 20:57
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

Originally posted by Velocina Velocina wrote:

The 3600HS-D isn't on the System Chart, but the 5600HS is. Do you think it will work properly too ?

If you look closely at the system card you will see that is mentions the older 5400, not the newer 5600....

The 3600 works on my older filmcameras like the 800si, so, I expect it will work with the RD3000.


I can confirm ALL Minolta flashes with the iISO shoe are fully compatible with the RD3000 .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > Other mount lenses Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.