FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New A7Riiia and A7Riva Rumour or fact

Page  <123>
Author
MisterAndrew View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 23 April 2014
Country: United States
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote MisterAndrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 May 2021 at 07:19
I wonder if it's hit or miss if you order a new one whether you'll receive the updated model or the old one. The Sony website doesn't show the new ones as available to order so I wonder if they'll send the new one if you order the old one.
 



Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2547
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 May 2021 at 08:00
It wasn't even mentioned when I ordered mine, looking at the receipt it came through as "ILCE7RM4B" but both Sony Australia and the place I ordered it from lists the A7R4 as "ILCE7RM4A"
Exif has the camera make come out as "Sony ILCE-7RM4A".

One caveat at this time though is that the updated model name means it's not yet supported by either Adobe or C One, could likely hack the exif and make things work but hopefully it won't take long before they catch up.
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3429
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 May 2021 at 11:55
The hack of modifying the exif using exiftool is not very difficult. I would need to look up how to do it again.

Edited by QuietOC - 20 May 2021 at 12:00
Sony A7RIV NEX-5T HVL-F45RM LA-EA5 Metabones-IV Sigma MC-11 Yongnuo EF-E II TLT ROKR MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9 AF-P/Q
Back to Top
MisterAndrew View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 23 April 2014
Country: United States
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote MisterAndrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 2021 at 05:11
Sony Australia shows the new 7RM4A model in stock, but it looks like it's not available anywhere else yet. Even Sony Japan says coming soon. I wonder why Australia gets it first. That's cool for Australia, but I want one too. :)

https://store.sony.com.au/interchangeablelenscamera-a7/ILCE7RM4A.html
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2547
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2021 at 10:13
Looks like C One has finally caught up, downloading the latest update right now in the hope it will solve the editing "issue".
Just got to wait for an update on my catalogue before I can try and update the software.
Back to Top
MisterAndrew View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 23 April 2014
Country: United States
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote MisterAndrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2021 at 18:17
I noticed from the Sonyalpharumors page that the 7RM4A is available for pre-order from Focus Camera in the US now. However, at $500 more than the original model it doesn't seem like a very good deal since the higher resolution LCD is the main difference. A replacement 1.44M dot LCD is $92.95 from Encompass. I imagine the 2.35M dot LCD will be priced similar. So I wonder if the older model can be upgraded if you were to buy the new LCD when that part becomes available. That would save about $400. I also wonder if you could install the new LCD onto other models such as the A1.
 



Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3429
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2021 at 18:44
The exif information is different then probably the firmware is different. There's no firmware downloads available for the A models yet. SnowFella, what firmware version is on your A7RIVA?
Sony A7RIV NEX-5T HVL-F45RM LA-EA5 Metabones-IV Sigma MC-11 Yongnuo EF-E II TLT ROKR MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9 AF-P/Q
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2547
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2021 at 22:33
Interesting thought!
Mine came with firmware V1.0 installed, something that surprised me a little. Downloaded the latest A7RIV firmware and tried installing it but the camera refused.
Might well be the reason behind it!
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12234
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2021 at 22:37
I think this means there will be no new firmware for these cameras. It is impossible for Sony to make sure people get the right firmware. There is no firmware available for the RX100 mark 5a either.

Your a brave man trying to install the firmware for a different camera...
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 3264
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2021 at 22:41
Originally posted by SnowFella SnowFella wrote:

Interesting thought!
Mine came with firmware V1.0 installed, something that surprised me a little. Downloaded the latest A7RIV firmware and tried installing it but the camera refused.
Might well be the reason behind it!
I don't think that is very surprising: despite that the differences between these A models and their original counterparts are minor, the hardware changes may have required some software tweaks too.
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2547
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2021 at 22:45
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

Your a brave man trying to install the firmware for a different camera...


Wouldn't call it brave as I didn't even think of the fact that it wasn't for my specific camera! Glad I didn't brick it on day one of ownership!
Back to Top
MisterAndrew View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 23 April 2014
Country: United States
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote MisterAndrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 June 2021 at 01:26
I was looking through the operating instruction manuals for the old and new versions of these cameras and the A7RIV already has USB 3.2, so literally the only change is the LCD. Some of you probably already knew that. However, the A7RIII does get the USB upgraded from 3.1 to 3.2. Not that it really matters if you're using a card reader. So I went ahead and ordered the original A7RIV because it looks like the sale on them will be ending soon. The sale already ended on the A7III. Maybe I'll see in the future if the LCD can be swapped.
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2547
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 June 2021 at 02:22
There's some other very minor updates involved too. Eye AF for example now has settings as for what eye you want to prioritize (Auto, Left, Right), though I haven't found an easy way of changing it without having to go menu diving.
Still have a button on the back of mine not assigned to a function so might have to fiddle around and see if there's something there.

And on another note, Adobe has now also caught up with RAW support.
Back to Top
MisterAndrew View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 23 April 2014
Country: United States
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote MisterAndrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 June 2021 at 17:53
The A7RIVA will be available on 15 June from Sony in the US and is available for preorder.

https://electronics.sony.com/imaging/interchangeable-lens-cameras/all-interchangeable-lens-cameras/p/ilce7rm4a-b

Edited by MisterAndrew - 09 June 2021 at 19:12
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount full frame Page  <123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.