FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New A7Riiia and A7Riva

Page  <1234>
Author
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12961
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 June 2021 at 18:55
Originally posted by SnowFella SnowFella wrote:

There's some other very minor updates involved too. Eye AF for example now has settings as for what eye you want to prioritize (Auto, Left, Right), though I haven't found an easy way of changing it without having to go menu diving.
Still have a button on the back of mine not assigned to a function so might have to fiddle around and see if there's something there.

And on another note, Adobe has now also caught up with RAW support.
My A7r4 non A has that same setting and I do not think you can set it to a button. Maybe with a setting recall?
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
MisterAndrew View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 23 April 2014
Country: United States
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote MisterAndrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 June 2021 at 21:40
That's interesting. Yes, it looks like the original A7RIV has the selectable Eye AF settings.

https://helpguide.sony.net/ilc/1930/v1/en/contents/TP0002727488.html?search=eye%20af
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2601
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2021 at 00:23
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

My A7r4 non A has that same setting and I do not think you can set it to a button. Maybe with a setting recall?

Proves how much you can "trust" DP-Review, was someone there that made the claim and it stuck in my head.
Now that I think about it I remember seeing it in Mark Smith's BIF setup guide and that was using an original A7r4.
Back to Top
MisterAndrew View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 23 April 2014
Country: United States
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote MisterAndrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2021 at 20:23
B&H Photo has the new models listed on their site. No savings on them. Perhaps the discount lasts on the outgoing models until stock runs out.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1645237-REG/sony_ilce7rm3a_b_alpha_a7r_iii_mirrorless.html

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1645238-REG/sony_ilce7rm4a_b_alpha_a7r_iv_mirrorless.html
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2601
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 December 2021 at 21:45
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

I think this means there will be no new firmware for these cameras. It is impossible for Sony to make sure people get the right firmware. There is no firmware available for the RX100 mark 5a either.


Turns out Sony just proved that statement wrong in releasing an V1.10 firmware update for the A7RIVa.
Firmware update.
Still nothing for the A7R3a however.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12961
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 December 2021 at 08:57
Yes, I was wrong.

Nothing for the A7r4 either
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
bonneville View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: East Midlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 2250
Post Options Post Options   Quote bonneville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 December 2021 at 10:45
Yes it does seem that a software update for the RivA was released yesterday, but I generally wait a week or three before loading it to give the, sometimes, nightmares often associated with new updates time to surface, be discussed and fixed.

It wasn't that long ago that Apple's Big-Sur first release (OS11) had some catastrophic outcomes, locking up computers for hours and even bricking older laptops. A fix was hastily pushed out. I'm in no hurry or need to change my RivA yet, it is working just fine as it is

Another point often associated with notices of new updates in forums is that posters sometimes, helpfully, provide a link to the update page, but they may be country/area specific. I have a shortcut in my favourites to the Sony UK site so I don't find I've inadvertently installed the wrong software, especially as these days it seems the fashion to prevent rolling back to the previous or original.

But I'm sure this will be fine
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2601
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2021 at 02:00
Originally posted by bonneville bonneville wrote:

I'm in no hurry or need to change my RivA yet, it is working just fine as it is


Firmly in the same seat here, not a fan of acting like a guineapig for updates and such.
Back to Top
bonneville View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: East Midlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 2250
Post Options Post Options   Quote bonneville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2021 at 12:11
Another small point to note, although it is actually a very important point I have found from experience, is within the instructions for updating the firmware it says:

Use the USB cable supplied with the camera.
Note: Update functionality is not guaranteed with any other USB cable

In the days of the earlier Sony cameras the firmware used to be copied to an SD card and then updated from that, but more recently it has been necessary to plug the camera into the computer. (I always use a laptop so that if the power suddenly goes down I don't lose the connection and brick the camera). I used to think that a USB cable is a USB cable is a USB cable. But that doesn't seem to be the case (I'm no expert so maybe someone can explain the difference).

The USB cable that came with my a7rivA is stamped Sony and is notably thicker. I'm pleased I kept it with the camera in the bag rather than it joining the drawer full of cables and chargers and electrical stuff so that when I do update I can be sure I am not risking a failure due to kit that is not up to the task.

Or am I being too fastidious?
Back to Top
mambo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Winnipeg
Status: Offline
Posts: 1996
Post Options Post Options   Quote mambo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2021 at 12:30
Originally posted by bonneville bonneville wrote:



Or am I being too fastidious?


I suspect so, having updated firmware with many other non-Sony cables in the past.
instagram | website | A6300 | A6400 | A7Riii | A7Riv | A99 |plus an assortment of glass |
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12961
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2021 at 13:11
Not all USB cables are created equally. Can be really annoying!
But you do need the Sony cable, just one with the right specifications I guess.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
4paul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 July 2011
Country: United States
Location: St Petersburg
Status: Offline
Posts: 1536
Post Options Post Options   Quote 4paul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2021 at 15:24
I don't think you are too fastidious. I get called superstitious for things that I say and do, and I'm good with it.

The rule is: if an engineer tells you to use a specific tool, use it, because the engineer knows about some problem. It may only be a theoretical problem that has never happened, but there is always a reason. Maybe not a good reason, but a reason.

Sony's firmware update process has always been sub-standard, compared to other manufacturer firmware updates I have done (my opinion obviously), so I would advocate for fastidiousness. My two pence.
There is a difference between a shaky or out-of-focus photograph and a snapshot of clouds and fog banks. - Schrödinger
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12961
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2021 at 17:08
Originally posted by 4paul 4paul wrote:

The rule is: if an engineer tells you to use a specific tool, use it, because the engineer knows about some problem. It may only be a theoretical problem that has never happened, but there is always a reason. Maybe not a good reason, but a reason.
Or the engineer is lazy and didn't want to test it with the other tools.....
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Micholand View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 30 October 2005
Country: Germany
Location: MUC
Status: Offline
Posts: 16712
Post Options Post Options   Quote Micholand Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2021 at 18:27
Just updated mine without any issues to V1.10, even using a third-party USB-C cable - but knew that this cable has all signals connected through
/Michael

DWEs don't grow on trees! | Posting images&links FAQ
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount full frame Page  <1234>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.