FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Number of exposures?

Author
Swede66 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 04 September 2006
Country: Sweden
Location: Dalecarlia
Status: Offline
Posts: 5287
Post Options Post Options   Quote Swede66 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Number of exposures?
    Posted: 17 December 2018 at 19:10
I've forgotten how to display the total number of exposures on my a77mk2. Please someone help.
website - a99m2 - a99 - a77M2 - a77 - a700 - RX100M3 - KM7D
 



Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 27012
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2018 at 20:32
Here's the shutter count site where you can do that by uploading an original file

Just tested it and it worked fine for my A7ii and A7, but you need to be patient since it took more than a minute to come back with the result.

Good thing is that the A77ii is on the list of supported cameras
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 2048
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2018 at 20:44
And offline solution would be to install ExifTool and then look for field "Image Count". I have feeling that these online services might use this same utility to extract the information from the image file.
Back to Top
Swede66 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 04 September 2006
Country: Sweden
Location: Dalecarlia
Status: Offline
Posts: 5287
Post Options Post Options   Quote Swede66 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2018 at 20:51
Thanks guys, knew I could count on getting an answer here
website - a99m2 - a99 - a77M2 - a77 - a700 - RX100M3 - KM7D
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 27012
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2018 at 20:52
I think the problem is that there is not one field in the EXIF that has the image count, it's a calculation you have to make with the results of 3 different fields in the EXIF.

The correct formula is given in the result of this online tool I linked to, but I don't know if the formula is the same for every model camera.

Originally posted by tools.science.si tools.science.si wrote:

Detected Model: ILCE-7
Shutter actuations made up to file PEG_A7_1_5538_20181211.ARW: 25112
| | | | Sony_Tag9050_0x0032 = 24
| | | | Sony_Tag9050_0x0033 = 98
| | | | Sony_Tag9050_0x0034 = 0
(65536 * 0) + (256 * 98) + 24 = 25112



Another way to do it is download the program "Picture Information Extractor" from https://www.picmeta.com/, there you will also find (next to many, many other variables) the shutter count of your camera, most likely based on the same formula.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
mirthseeker View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2011
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 694
Post Options Post Options   Quote mirthseeker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2018 at 02:12
Originally posted by pegelli pegelli wrote:

Here's the shutter count site where you can do that by uploading an original file

That's the old shutter count tool, the new one is http://tools.science.si/. Much faster, and more cameras added.

Edit: The Shutter Count Thread used to be pinned in Camera Talk, but has been unpinned now the update has been added. Perhaps a mod could pin it again?

Edited by mirthseeker - 18 December 2018 at 02:35
 



Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11348
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2018 at 04:55
Thumbtack applied, thanks for the heads up.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
Swede66 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 04 September 2006
Country: Sweden
Location: Dalecarlia
Status: Offline
Posts: 5287
Post Options Post Options   Quote Swede66 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2018 at 11:06

That's the old shutter count tool, the new one is http://tools.science.si/. Much faster, and more cameras added.


This tool was lightning fast and worked like a charm. Thanks
website - a99m2 - a99 - a77M2 - a77 - a700 - RX100M3 - KM7D
Back to Top
mirthseeker View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2011
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 694
Post Options Post Options   Quote mirthseeker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2018 at 21:49
Yep, I wish all upgrades were as significant as this one! 1000 times faster according to @Guy, with other major benefits as well!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.