FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

PC Upgrade - graphics card Upgrade

Page  <12
Author
rastapartaman View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 03 March 2007
Country: Portugal
Location: Berkshire
Status: Offline
Posts: 456
Post Options Post Options   Quote rastapartaman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 February 2019 at 08:44
The better way to upgrade is more RAM and a fast SSD (M2) Even in old systems you will see huge jump in performance.
Don't think, Just click it!!

my Flickr
 



Back to Top
mikey2000 View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
OoU co÷rdinator

Joined: 10 January 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 10955
Post Options Post Options   Quote mikey2000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 February 2019 at 09:22
I have a latop with what is now considered a rather ancient 'fast GPU for laptops' NVIDIA GTX960M (4GB GPU RAM) and 32GB main ram. I have a 1TB ssd and it makes the rest of the machine blazingly fast.

With an I7 2.6GZ (8 core) processor, Lightroom seems to spend most of it's busy-time with the i7 maxed out.   (Eg during export, zooming to 1:1 and complex re-rendering after eg lens correction)

The GPU usage in LR seems almost zero. I just see the occasional blip, but never any sustained GPU activity.   From what I read, it seems LR mainly uses the GPU for User Interface graphics, not for the heavy number crunching behind panoramas, HDR, export to JPG etc.

So, I'd personally go for the the fastest main processor possible, a big SSD and 32GB ram.   Then worry about the GPU.
Want to know more about
  • Jozioau? Just click!
  • Back to Top
    stiuskr View Drop Down
    Moderator Group
    Moderator Group

    Joined: 01 September 2006
    Country: United States
    Location: West Virginia
    Status: Offline
    Posts: 11173
    Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 February 2019 at 13:38
    Originally posted by happyjack happyjack wrote:

    Oh, and I've decided to go with the ASUS TUF Z390-PLUS GAMING LGA1151 atx as the PC travels with me in my caravan so the tuffer the better.


    I'm assuming this already is a SSD equipped rig, can't imagine HDD's lasting very long caravanning.
    Rob Suits Jr.
    a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
    Back to Top
    happyjack View Drop Down
    Emeritus group
    Emeritus group

    Joined: 10 April 2007
    Country: Australia
    Location: Kingaroy
    Status: Offline
    Posts: 3248
    Post Options Post Options   Quote happyjack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2019 at 00:31
    Originally posted by stiuskr stiuskr wrote:

    Originally posted by happyjack happyjack wrote:

    Oh, and I've decided to go with the ASUS TUF Z390-PLUS GAMING LGA1151 atx as the PC travels with me in my caravan so the tuffer the better.


    I'm assuming this already is a SSD equipped rig, can't imagine HDD's lasting very long caravanning.


    SSD for OS, but may change to Samsung EVO950 500GB NVMe or some such

    HDD for photo and docs storage.
    When travelling the PC & Monitor are cushione and retained.
    the only disaster has been when I copied my docs partition from the 3B drive to my spare 2TB. After checking all ok, repartioned the #TB to omne.
    Then dropped the 2TB
    DEAD.
    #TB at data recovery to hopefully get the docs back.
    7D turned A77,77M2,MIN 50/1.4,MIN100/2.8macro,Sig10-20,F4-5.6,SAL70-300G,18-250,CZ16-80,SAL70-200/2.8,75-300,24-80/2.8SAM, TAm 150-600G2

    My ZF
    Back to Top
    Miranda F View Drop Down
    Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined: 11 January 2014
    Country: United Kingdom
    Location: Bristol
    Status: Offline
    Posts: 3170
    Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 February 2019 at 14:39
    Further to what mikey2000 says, for intensive non-games apps I usually find a fast (but not ridiculously expensive) motherboard with good integrated graphics and an SSD beats expensive graphics cards added onto an older pc. Integrated graphics nowadays is pretty good because of the short path to the processor - and unless you're gaming you may not notice the lack of large dedicated graphics memory.
    Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, 5d, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
    Back to Top
    vitor View Drop Down
    Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined: 10 August 2006
    Country: Portugal
    Location: Lisbon
    Status: Offline
    Posts: 1896
    Post Options Post Options   Quote vitor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 February 2019 at 23:07
    Just to add my two cents to the discussion

    I have added an nvidia quadro and I got a noticeable improvement when previewing and editing in lightroom and photoshop. The improvement was very noticeable, to the point that browsing was imediate and applying filters too.
    I just suggest you get a decent cpu, enough memory and fast disk. Ssd isn't a choice for me as I keep all my photos in one place (backup is done to an offline storage) in this case on a raid 0 (stripping). Just be aware that you should backup often when using this configuration.
     



    Back to Top
    happyjack View Drop Down
    Emeritus group
    Emeritus group

    Joined: 10 April 2007
    Country: Australia
    Location: Kingaroy
    Status: Offline
    Posts: 3248
    Post Options Post Options   Quote happyjack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2019 at 07:49
    OK kind and gentle folks, a few tweeks;
    Case: Tessseract SW Midi red

    PSU: CORSAIR RMX Series RM650x 650 Watt Fully Modular 80+ GoldCORSAIR RMX Series RM650x 650 Watt Fully Modular 80+ Gold

    MB: https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/TUF-H370-PRO-GAMING/

    CPU i7-8700

    CPU Cooler: Cryorig-h7-cpu-cooler

    GPU: bought used, fully tested. NNVIDIA Quadro K4200
    https://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Quadro+K4200&id=2944

    RAM: 2x = 32Gb Kingston HyperX Fury HX426C16FB2K2/16 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 Black


    STORAGE: all existing.

    OS:Samsung Evo 860 ssd 500Gb SATA.
    Later I may just make this my Docs & Data drive and install a
    2x = 32Gb Kingston HyperX Fury HX426C16FB2K2/16 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 BlackSamsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB NVMe 1.3 M.2 (2280) 3-Bit V-NAND SSD - MZ-V7S500BW

    Photos: on HDD: Seagate ST3000DM008 3TB Barracuda 3.5" 7200RPM SATA3 and same for backup
    Data HDD: either Seagate 2TB or the old laptop 2.5" Hitachi 750GB HDD

    Backups: Clone OS, backup HDDs using an orico-6629us3cbk-superspeed-usb-3-sata-dual-hdd-docking-station-black

    I set up a spreadsheet with columns for prices from 2 PC upgrade guys, and 3 different suppliers, all colour coded etcetera etcetera.
    and 2 suppliers ended up within $3 of each other - except only one had the Cryorig H7 cooler.
    I worked on it all weekend and If I had pushed the button last night I would have saved $34 on freight but needed a couple of answers thus morning. Too late, she cried

    This afternoon my itchy trigger finger fired up, so now it's just a waiting game.
    7D turned A77,77M2,MIN 50/1.4,MIN100/2.8macro,Sig10-20,F4-5.6,SAL70-300G,18-250,CZ16-80,SAL70-200/2.8,75-300,24-80/2.8SAM, TAm 150-600G2

    My ZF
    Back to Top
    SnowFella View Drop Down
    Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined: 21 April 2013
    Country: Australia
    Location: Sydney
    Status: Offline
    Posts: 2176
    Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2019 at 09:46
    Might be coming from someone who once upon used to do extensive 3D work and texture painting (think several dozens of layers in PS) and when I once looked into the Quadro cards it just wasn't worth it.
    They are almost exclusively designed towards 3D work and any half decent gaming GPU easily does the same kind of load when it comes to simple editing.

    CPU, RAM and a fast HDD will make more of an impact than the fancy Quadro cards ever will do!

    As for PSU, might be behind the mark here but my 10 year old 3D rig got built with a 1100W PSU, better too much wattage than a marginal rig that could be power limited. Do them maths to what your build will need...and add a harddrive or 3 to the equation.
    Back to Top
    happyjack View Drop Down
    Emeritus group
    Emeritus group

    Joined: 10 April 2007
    Country: Australia
    Location: Kingaroy
    Status: Offline
    Posts: 3248
    Post Options Post Options   Quote happyjack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2019 at 11:14
    thanks -
    I did many hours of research especially websites on building a PC for LR & PS.
    Performance/benchmark comparisons
    I think I pretty well analysed all the info and came up with that final choice

    Vitors comment on using a Quadro: I have added an nvidia quadro and I got a noticeable improvement when previewing and editing in lightroom and photoshop. The improvement was very noticeable, to the point that browsing was imediate and applying filters too.
    I picked up Quadro on a good deal - $239. vs say a 1060 at $330+

    All the PSU info and advice i got was that to high wattage is just a waste of money and chews up power you wont use. All the PSU calculators had my total rig at about 430 watts and recommended both the one i went with or the 750W - and all suppliers told me 650w was plenty, 750 W overkill for my setup - including all the drives shown.
    Ditto CPU & RAM


    Edited by happyjack - 18 February 2019 at 23:48
    7D turned A77,77M2,MIN 50/1.4,MIN100/2.8macro,Sig10-20,F4-5.6,SAL70-300G,18-250,CZ16-80,SAL70-200/2.8,75-300,24-80/2.8SAM, TAm 150-600G2

    My ZF
    Back to Top
    happyjack View Drop Down
    Emeritus group
    Emeritus group

    Joined: 10 April 2007
    Country: Australia
    Location: Kingaroy
    Status: Offline
    Posts: 3248
    Post Options Post Options   Quote happyjack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 February 2019 at 05:01
    The Quadro installed, and running after finding out something I did not know and is not any any GPU instruction that i saw.
    Initially all i got was a blank screen. My local pc guy did not give me an answer so rang the supplier (sells used pcs & parts)
    with my old Radeon R& a used the HDMI port, but the Quadro has 2 Displayports and a DVI only.
    I did not know that my monitor needs to be set for input - it was set to HDMI, so after setting to Auto Detect all go!

    My initial observations is that now in LR Classic 8.2 the slider edits are virtually instant compared to the old card. I'm not too sure if it was function of the card or the rest of the system but sometimes it would be really slow, even freezing for a few or more seconds.
    I wonder if it the difference of 2GB vs 4GB?

    The eggsitement builds for this old rooster - the rest of the gear arrives tomorrow!
    Watch this space - or not.

    And then i better pull my finger out and start posting some images of my recent traveling. The only problem is the farmsit is in a valley midway between 2 towers 30km apart and at times the reception is RS, even with an external aerial.
    sometimes it's great and others, so Slooowwww.

    Edited by happyjack - 20 February 2019 at 05:25
    7D turned A77,77M2,MIN 50/1.4,MIN100/2.8macro,Sig10-20,F4-5.6,SAL70-300G,18-250,CZ16-80,SAL70-200/2.8,75-300,24-80/2.8SAM, TAm 150-600G2

    My ZF
    Back to Top
    Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  <12

    Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



    This page was generated in 0.051 seconds.

    Monitor calibration strip

    Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

    In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

    Feel free to contact us if needed.