FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

PLEASE include a sale location

Author
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8520
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: PLEASE include a sale location
    Posted: 13 July 2012 at 08:58
It would help everyone if you put the location of your items for sale in the title. For instance: US, EU, UK, ASIA, etc. It would help out the buyer knowing the location of the seller and help prevent offers from overseas if you are only willing to sell and ship 'domestically'.

Many thanks.

Edited by nigelbrooks - 11 September 2013 at 14:46
Away until August 2014 at the earliest.
My son's website http://www.stephenbrooksphotography.com
 



Back to Top
Pirate View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Liverpool
Status: Offline
Posts: 5733
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pirate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 February 2014 at 12:41
Is it possible to have the Webmaster create a pop-up when sellers list and/or make a location selection as part of the listing process? This is a common issue even today where sellers don't include the location in the title.   
Back to Top
Kilkry View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 August 2008
Country: Sweden
Location: ISO1600
Status: Offline
Posts: 2492
Post Options Post Options   Quote Kilkry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 February 2014 at 13:13
I don't think I've seen any sale topic including a "domestically only" without a region. I agree that it would be nice if all for sale topics included location, because the U.S pays hardly any import taxes and the E.U does, but obviously an "only" would need to be included too where the seller was not of the mind to ship abroad.

F.i.

"US: Sony 70-200 2.8 SSM" and
"US only: Sony 70-200 2.8 SSM".

We'd know the second one resided in the US and would only go to another address in the US, whereas the first resided in the US but could be shipped mostly anyplace.


-
Back to Top
rickztahone View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 June 2011
Country: United States
Location: Pacoima CA
Status: Offline
Posts: 4855
Post Options Post Options   Quote rickztahone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 February 2014 at 00:18
Originally posted by Kilkry Kilkry wrote:

I don't think I've seen any sale topic including a "domestically only" without a region. I agree that it would be nice if all for sale topics included location, because the U.S pays hardly any import taxes and the E.U does, but obviously an "only" would need to be included too where the seller was not of the mind to ship abroad.

F.i.

"US: Sony 70-200 2.8 SSM" and
"US only: Sony 70-200 2.8 SSM".

We'd know the second one resided in the US and would only go to another address in the US, whereas the first resided in the US but could be shipped mostly anyplace.




Good point, but as a Dyxum shopper you might not want any items from the US to avoid all the extra fees. In this way, when someone makes an add, e.g., "(US)Minolta 24 2.8 $150", the potential buyers knows to not open that thread because he/she isn't willing to do overseas purchases. YMMV
a99+VG|a77+VG|a55|Nex6|HVL-56/58|minO|58 1.2|24|Tam|90|SAL||16-50|70-200|∑|50 1.4|∑| 24-70 2.8
[URL=http://www.flickr.com/photos/rickztahone/]Flickr
Back to Top
Pirate View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Liverpool
Status: Offline
Posts: 5733
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pirate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2014 at 00:03
Still not many Dyxum sellers following these instructions. It's annoying to find an item only to see it's on another continent and the seller won't post/ship outside of ther country etc. Is there any way to have a pop-up or other message to state that the location is required before the post can be made 'live'?
Back to Top
bengeo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 September 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 344
Post Options Post Options   Quote bengeo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2014 at 12:35

How about "UK" for UK only and "UK+" for available to ship overseas?

Andy

 



Back to Top
Pirate View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Liverpool
Status: Offline
Posts: 5733
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pirate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2014 at 18:44
Originally posted by bengeo bengeo wrote:


How about "UK" for UK only and "UK+" for available to ship overseas?

Andy


Or as I normally use . . . [UK] [UK/EU] [Worldwide]

I've seen some as [CONUS] continental USA (upper 48 states), but it's not difficult is it?
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Sell / Buy equipment > External Sales & Discussion

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.