FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

problem downloading image from a6500

Page  <1234>
Author
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 05:04
😢
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
 



Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11168
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 06:13
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

I don't know about missing data but looking at the EXIF Exposure Bias is -1.3 EV.
might be the issue.


That and the Brightness Value is at -10, not really sure how that scales to EV but I'd think the number would be lower than that. What metering mode were you using, maybe all the similar monotones was screwing with that, and you were also at f18 so diffraction is coming into play.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2176
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 08:12
Going by Exif it was "Average" so I guess bright clouds combined with -1.3Ev really kicked in some underexposure.
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 25855
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 12:06
Originally posted by Coast Coast wrote:

Hi, thanks
What I wrote is I'm not an expert, just my guess. I'm looking at according to the camera settings the noise and grain of the image is highly excessive
Have you analyzed the EXIF of the photo ?, thats not the grain or noise for an ISO of 200
The grain and noise are most evident in a little enlargement of the sky or any thing else
thanks again
Classic mistake I think. Noise is not determined by ISO but by the amount of light reaching te sensor. So if you're underexposing two stops (-1.3 EV in a situation where where probably +0.3 or +0.7 was needed) your picture is showing similar noise as a correctly exposed picture at 800 ISO.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 18:12
Thanks everyone, I appreciate it
I don't remember putting the EV to -1.3. I can tell you that at 7,000 ft on a very sunny day, its surprising to be that under exposed. The reason I said it looks to me that data is missing, for lack of a better way to describe the photos just looking greyed out, faded.
What I did was put it on aperture, set ISO at 200 and put creative on autumn leaves.
The consensus seems to be -1.3 EV is the problem, so be it.

I'm going to try to contact Sony, see what they say, anything about putting it on autumn leaves and see if they have any suggestions on a remedy. I'll get back here as to what they say if anything. If you look thru some of the photos that are pp'ed, you can tell it was a very special day. Its still heartbreaking.

thanks guy's!________Coast
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1167
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 18:58
Autumn Leaves over saturates hence the noise.
It was very bright hence auto exposure brightness at 10+
 



Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 1796
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 20:19
Originally posted by Coast Coast wrote:

I don't remember putting the EV to -1.3. ________Coast


Hmmm, I wonder if this is a case of classic inadvertent jogging of the dial on the back of the camera. I'm not sure exactly how EV is set on the A6500, but I think the rear dial is involved?

I've had the NEX-7, A7, and A7 III and I've been capable of making adjustments on that dial just through hanging the camera over my right shoulder. Usually it is ISO (NEX-7 and A7) but on the A7 III I can move the drive mode setting to e.g. Continuous WB bracketing. Harmless but not helpful! Might be worth checking on your camera?
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11168
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2018 at 00:16
Happens to me all the time with the a9911, I have EV comp on the front wheel and it turns really easy without me knowing I even touched it.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2018 at 04:11
Thanks Everyone!
I contacted Sony support today. So I have contacted Apple support and now Sony support and the winner is
"Dyxum Members"

I was surprised how fast I got thru to them and how they tried to help. But basically we went around and round and didn't really get anywhere. Mostly I had wanted them to look at the photo and just tell me what went wrong and if the photos could be salvaged.
From Apple I did get to update my a6500 firmware, surprisingly from 1.03 to 1.05. I had missed the updates when I check in daily w blogs like "sonyalpharumors". Is it possible to get specific updates from Sony when they come out?

From Sony after an hour they ended w giving me this free Sony editing software.
https://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/app/imagingedge/en/download/
The Sony guy "Josh" did say at the beginning the photo was underexposed

It was the Dyxum members who said "Hey Dummy the problem is your EV is set at -1.3" and I appreciate knowing.
So now I have the editing software: Photos (Apples app), Photscape, Polarr and now, Imaging Edge. If anyone knows of a software that can salvage the photos I would be willing to buy it. If you see some of the edited photos, you can see that at least for me, they have the possibilities of being some of the finest I have ever taken. The colors were magnificent the clouds were better than perfect the day was magnificent. I have never seen the Canyon look this good!

The villain is exposure -1.3 and I'm screwed!
Thank you all ______Coast

I took about a 2 week trip around the Southwest, driving the "Purple Bullet" close to 2,500 miles. It was Great.
Got to see as many places as I wanted, including Monument Valley which is on Navajo tribal land and was a moving experience. Have photos that turned out very nicely As far as I can tell all on 0-EV, non on Autumn leaves    I'm OK

Edited by Coast - 17 October 2018 at 04:52
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
rosspa29 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 24 March 2012
Country: Australia
Location: Kerang Victoria
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote rosspa29 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2018 at 08:25
HI Coast
The best and easiest software I have tried for removing noise is DXO Photolab Prime noise. Particularly if you have the raw image.
There is a trial version if you want to give it a try.
https://www.dxo.com/us/photography/photo-software/dxo-photolab/features
Regards Ross
Ross
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3157
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2018 at 08:33
Originally posted by stiuskr stiuskr wrote:

Happens to me all the time with the a9911, I have EV comp on the front wheel and it turns really easy without me knowing I even touched it.


Do you have the 'lock dials' thing set?

Coast - glad you got the problem sorted, but maybe checking the histogram after (or even before!) taking the picture might help? I know it can be difficult to assess images in-camera in bright light.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, 5d, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2176
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2018 at 09:37
Originally posted by Miranda F Miranda F wrote:


Coast - glad you got the problem sorted, but maybe checking the histogram after (or even before!) taking the picture might help? I know it can be difficult to assess images in-camera in bright light.


Indeed, once had the stepson complain over several holiday snaps with the kids ending up severely underexposed out of his A6000....with -3EV dialed in by accident.
It's an EVF camera with live JPG histogram available in the viewfinder. For JPG just look through it and dial exposure comp up/down until it looks right, for RAW you can even start clipping a touch on the right side as it will be recoverable in post.
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2018 at 02:53
Originally posted by rosspa29 rosspa29 wrote:

HI Coast
The best and easiest software I have tried for removing noise is DXO Photolab Prime noise. Particularly if you have the raw image.
There is a trial version if you want to give it a try.
https://www.dxo.com/us/photography/photo-software/dxo-photolab/features
Regards Ross

Hi Ross I looked at your recommendation And it looks promising. Thanks
Meanwhile I've a few things to do. Shortly I'll try it and let you know how it goes. Also send you some of the results. Appreciate the advice and hoping for the best Thank you ____Coast
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
rosspa29 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 24 March 2012
Country: Australia
Location: Kerang Victoria
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote rosspa29 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2018 at 11:10
I hope it goes well.
Just a few hints to set you in the right direction with the DXO software.
When you open the software it should be able to locate your files on the left of the screen.
When the files are displayed along the bottom, select the customize button near the top left of the screen.
This should start the editing tools to the right.
Make the exposure changes first. (there are a lot of changes made by default on opening the files. they can be disabled and enabled to see the difference.
To use the prime noise it must be selected! HQ noise is selected by default.
Then export the changes.
Good luck.
Regards Ross
Ross
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount APS-C Page  <1234>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.