FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

problem downloading image from a6500

Page  <1234>
Author
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11168
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2018 at 11:29
Originally posted by Miranda F Miranda F wrote:

Originally posted by stiuskr stiuskr wrote:

Happens to me all the time with the a9911, I have EV comp on the front wheel and it turns really easy without me knowing I even touched it.


Do you have the 'lock dials' thing set?


Yeah, but I've never used it before because I never could seem to get it to work and now I see why, and now that I see why I doubt I'll use it in the future. Having to hold the Fn button down for that long of a period of time (seems like 5 seconds) is too long to wait for when I'll want to change aperture values so I've changed the dial set up back to default settings removing EV comp from the front dial.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
 



Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 November 2018 at 06:44
Hi Ross, and everyone:
I did try your DoX, that was an excellent suggestion thanks, I have a before and after here
unedited downloads by Coast, on Flickr


Grand Canyon, Fall 2018 - after by Coast


DoX worked well for me, after much trial, I think this is about as good as I can get it. Unless members have advice, which I welcome. It is a fine line, getting as much as you can out of an imperfect image without going over the line and destroying it. I was concerned mostly about the grain in the sky and this was best by far. When I would edit in other programs the sky would get grainy. This let me edit far more without the grain appearing.

The photos will never be as good as from a good copy, (LAbernethy) but I have to make every effort to salvage the day. Thats how special the Grand Canyon was. Me and my former colleague were walking around all day w our jaws dropped and our mouths wide open, going Wow! The colors, the clouds, everything, it was that spectacular. Maybe that's what happened. Both of us are pretty jaded characters by now and have seen a lot. He currently lives here in Williams (the Gateway to GC) and I used to live just down the road a piece in Flagstaff. We've been here before (many times)

I would like to address why I thought, for a lack of more precise evaluation, a loss of data happened :
I loaded into editing apps from my Sony thru a card and my Mac.
When I first opened a file in the app, 1st Apples editing app, seemingly a good image appeared and within a second it faded down into the before photo like the one above. I tried the same procedure into 3 different editing apps. The 3rd being DoX w exactly the same results. I saw seemingly good images seemingly fade right in front of my eyes. Any thoughts please, even that I'm just delusional   

thanks Coast

Edited by Coast - 09 February 2019 at 06:40
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14115
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 November 2018 at 06:52
Originally posted by Coast Coast wrote:

When I first opened a file in the app, 1st Apples editing app, seemingly a good image appeared and within a second it faded down into the before photo like the one above. I tried the same procedure into 3 different editing apps. The 3rd being DoX w exactly the same results. I saw seemingly good images seemingly fade right in front of my eyes. Any thoughts please, even that I'm just delusional

You were presumably being shown the embedded JPEG thumbnail until the RAW conversion was done; then the display switched to the interpretation of the actual image data.
Back to Top
rosspa29 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 24 March 2012
Country: Australia
Location: Kerang Victoria
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote rosspa29 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 November 2018 at 07:08
HI Coast, Syber is correct.
There is always a small imbedded JPG for review on the camera. Some software even uses the JPG for review on computers as they don't always have the correct profile to view the raw image.
The Raw always holds a lot more data than a JPG and allows more chance of recovery.
The edited version looks great!
I am really glad you have some shots that you are happy with. We live in a big world and it is hard to go back and see the same image a second time.

I am glad you found DXO worth while. I see they have just released a new version.
Regards Ross
Ross
Back to Top
ABDurbs View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 October 2011
Country: South Africa
Location: Durban
Status: Offline
Posts: 851
Post Options Post Options   Quote ABDurbs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 November 2018 at 07:51
Glad you managed to sort your image out and solve the mystery.

My suggestion is to shoot in manual mode

Regards
Allan
A99 + VG, A77ii + VG, 70-400G, Zeiss 85mm f1.7, CZ16-80, Tamron 70-200 USD Tamron 24-70 USD, HVL-43, Minolta 8000i, Minolta 50mm f1.7
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 November 2018 at 21:31
Thanks Ross, Syber, everyone,
You all have been really helpful. I'm able to enjoy the photos now and re-live that wonderful day.
Not being in the camera or photography business, or anywhere near it, I just like going to beautiful places and taking beautiful photos (hopefully). I have relied on this forum often and often gotten a lot of help. This is the only forum I visit, I don't have time for more, except Flickr.
Thank you, I much appreciate it
Now if I can only stop making mistakes🤓

I'll be posting the completed Grand Canyon album
Still busy working on all the other places I photographed. (those pictures all turned out as good as I hoped)

thanks again_______Coast
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
 



Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 February 2019 at 05:18
Sorry members, but this unresolved problem is still keeping me up at night:
How could I go all day shooting the Grand Canyon and not know what I'm doing? I remember looking at the photos in camera and they looked fine! on that day.

I still have the memory card of the shoot, put it into the camera, played them and they looked today as the day I photographed, fine. Not like they download into the editing programs, all of them, totally faded.

So what am I to do? If I can't trust what I see in my display. Has anyone ever heard of this?
thanks_______Coast
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14115
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 February 2019 at 06:06
Originally posted by Coast Coast wrote:

I still have the memory card of the shoot, put it into the camera, played them and they looked today as the day I photographed, fine. Not like they download into the editing programs, all of them, totally faded.

I see some of the earlier photos you posted in the thread are no longer showing up.

Do you have a way to make a couple of the original files from the memory card available? If they look bad to us, then your camera's display is fooling you.
Back to Top
AudioDoc View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2006
Country: United States
Location: SLC Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 2463
Post Options Post Options   Quote AudioDoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 February 2019 at 00:20
Joe,

Just guessing of course, but this sounds more like your monitor not displaying the photos correctly than a problem with your files. Didn't you say in a post a couple years ago that you were using a TV as a display? If you are using a non calibrated monitor, the default setting for many LCD monitors are normally much too bright for photo editing

I would recommend that you shoot either just jpegs or raw plus jpeg at least until you get this sorted out.

Are you using On1 Photo Raw 2019 now? If so I believe it is using On1 Standard to display your RAW photos because when you click on the develop tab that is what is set as default. What color preset (Creative Style) do you have your camera set for? I normally set my cameras for Camera Standard.

As Syber Says, it would be helpful if we could see one or two of your files.

Kelly

Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 February 2019 at 06:50
Hello
this are the photos downloaded into editing programs (all of the programs)
above I stated for a second They look fine just like in the camera and then they fade right away into what they look like here
Thats why I said it looks like I lose half of my data, for lack of a better description.
unedited downloads by Coast, on Flickr



unedited downloads by Coast, on Flickr



unedited downloads by Coast, on Flickr

thanks Guys for hangin in w me
Joe
I forgot but I have successfully downloaded many times
this is the only time it happened, the time I really want the pictures
I just don't know how I would keep this from reoccurring agin

Edited by Coast - 09 February 2019 at 06:53
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 25855
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 February 2019 at 07:44
Joe, these look to me like underexposed raws and that somehow the in-camera jpg is brightened (based on your jpg settings or camera LCD brightness), so fooling you in the field.

For instance the first image is f14, 1/1000 at iso 200.

Following the "sunny 16" rule I would expect such a scene to require f16, 1/200 at iso 200. So your shot is about two stops underexposed vs. what is expected, explaining the too dark image.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2176
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 February 2019 at 09:12
Not sure if it's what's going on but DRO at a high setting might boost the viewfinder "brightness" for shadow areas while at the same time not being captured in a RAW without some heavy editing.

Have you tried Sony's IDC, now discontinued unfortunately, as it will automaticly apply any in-camera tweaks to a RAW file?
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14115
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 February 2019 at 16:35
Originally posted by Coast Coast wrote:

They look fine just like in the camera and then they fade right away into what they look like here ...

Well, you're showing us converted JPGs instead of the original ARW files.

However, EXIF confirms that original ARW files were underexposed for the lighting conditions. You were shooting in 'A' mode at ISO 200 with -1.3 stop exposure compensation. If EC had been at 0 or maybe even slightly on the plus side, you might have had perfect ARW results. So, the dark results we see above are presumably what the camera settings produced.

The image that looks just fine on the camera's display and for a brief moment when loading the ARW version is the embedded JPEG thumbnail that exists in every ARW file. The processing applied by the camera to that embedded JPEG thumbnail made it look great.

I've often seen considerable discrepancies between ARW brightness and embedded JPEG brightness in my own images, but they typically occur only with extreme examples like night sky photography. Whatever the reason here, the camera did indeed fool you by producing a nice looking JPEG thumbnail from a very underexposed ARW image.

One experiment you can try is to convert those ARWs using something other than Photos 4.0. Maybe Sony's own RAW converter (either the old Image Data Converter or the current Imaging Edge) or some other tool will somehow produce better default results than what you're getting with Photos 4.0. They'll still look underexposed, but maybe not as much.
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14115
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 February 2019 at 16:50
I wonder if Photos 4.0 is treating these ARW files improperly. It occurs to me that it might be processing the images that are already 1.3 stops underexposed as shot, and then improperly subtracting another 1.3 stops to make its default presentation.

You could experiment by shooting a test scene at -2, -1, 0, +1, and +2 stops and then seeing if the discrepancy between the embedded JPEG and the Photos 4.0 default conversion gets even more extreme as the numbers diverge from zero.

The good news either way is that you should always be able to override the program's default presentation and make your own adjustments as needed to 'match' the embedded JPEG.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount APS-C Page  <1234>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.