FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Problem with auto Steadyshot & LA-EA3?

Author
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Online
Posts: 1907
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Problem with auto Steadyshot & LA-EA3?
    Posted: 25 September 2018 at 23:06
My recent experiences with the Tamron SP 70-300mm USD lens mounted on an LA-EA3 adaptor on an A7 III camera make me believe that Steadyshot IBIS is not activated automatically in this combination.

I wonder if anyone else has experienced this - either with this combination or with any other E/FE mount camera with Steadyshot. Failing that, is there a fix I can try?

I have used the following combinations on an A7 III body; using 1/60s, 200mm focal length

* LA-EA3, Tamron SP 70-300 USD: auto SS setting - shake is not suppressed+
* LA-EA3, Tamron SP 70-300 USD: manual SS setting at 200mm - shake is much reduced

(+By this I mean that with auto SS on the image visibly jumps around in the viewfinder when I half-press the shutter and a blurred image results; when a manual setting of 200mm is dialled in I get a steady view and the resulting image is sharp.)

* LA-EA4, Tamron SP 70-300 USD: auto SS setting at 200mm - shake is much reduced

I also tried a Minolta 70-210 beercan lens on the LA-EA3 and while there was no AF, there was shake reduction (and only manual focus is possible). With an LA-EA4, shake reduction was good (and AF worked).

Comments and suggestions would be welcome!



Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
 



Back to Top
Photosopher View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 13 June 2010
Country: United States
Location: St. Louis Mo
Status: Offline
Posts: 4178
Post Options Post Options   Quote Photosopher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 September 2018 at 02:36
I don't think Sony is keeping the LAEA adapters up to date on the newest cameras. I can't get 135/1.8ZA to work with LAEA4 on a7RIII. Always gives "incompatible lens" message.
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 2566
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 September 2018 at 03:13
Originally posted by Howard_S Howard_S wrote:

My recent experiences with the Tamron SP 70-300mm USD lens mounted on an LA-EA3 adaptor on an A7 III camera make me believe that Steadyshot IBIS is not activated automatically in this combination.

I wonder if anyone else has experienced this - either with this combination or with any other E/FE mount camera with Steadyshot. Failing that, is there a fix I can try?

I have used the following combinations on an A7 III body; using 1/60s, 200mm focal length

* LA-EA3, Tamron SP 70-300 USD: auto SS setting - shake is not suppressed+
* LA-EA3, Tamron SP 70-300 USD: manual SS setting at 200mm - shake is much reduced

The Tamron uses the Lens ID of the 70-300G, but they are quite different lenses. The Tamron has very little focus breathing, but the Sony has quite a bit. If you are on the long end of the focal length range and focusing close the camera may be using the wrong amount of correction.
Sony A7II A77II LA-EA3 LA-EA4 MC-11
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Online
Posts: 1907
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 September 2018 at 15:16
@QuietOC - thanks. I wasn't aware of focus breathing. I was testing by shooting a church tower about 50m away.

Here it is with Steadyshot on, auto detect


And with a manual setting of 200mm


With the LA-EA4 there is no problem, and it's just a shame that the camera/adapter lens combo doesn't behave for steadyshot in the same way with the LA-EA3. Perhaps it comes down to the LA-EA4 camera behaving like an A65 and the LA-EA3 combo missing something in translation, as it were.
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Online
Posts: 1907
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 October 2018 at 19:38
I'm glad to report that the Firmware update for the A7 III (v 2.0) seems to address this issue.
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
lonsdale50 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 April 2019
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Lancashire
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote lonsdale50 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 April 2019 at 12:37
Reviving this thread...
Have exactly the same combo of A7M3 and newly purchased Tamron 70-300 USD SP lens and note with the recent v3.0 A7M3 firmware I have the same issue as Howard did originally.

Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to test the lens with the previous v2.10 firmware as I upgraded on the same day as getting the lens - oops.

Its very noticable that IBIS/steadyshot is not working compared to say my older screwdriven Minolta telephoto lenses eg 100-300mm apo & 100-400mm with LA-EA4.

In my case I was wanting to try out all the funky A7M3 focus modes that aren't available with LA-EA4 and would probably use the Tamron for BIF. So with BIF in mind, my shutter speed would be quite high anyway so not have steadyshot/IBIS wouldn't be a total disaster. Or I might just put this back on Ebay and look for the Sony equivalent 70-300 G lens - decisions decisions!
 



Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Online
Posts: 1907
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 April 2019 at 13:45
Thanks for this.

I upgraded to v3 firmware as well and see the problem. Choosing low-ish shutter speeds like 1/60 or 1/125 and at a focal length of 300mm, I see shake with the lens and Auto steady shot.

Dialing in a Manual steady shot setting of 300mm the picture quality improves a lot.

I do wonder if I saw an improvement before, or perhaps it was lost with 2.1, which I never downloaded.

Like you I will probably get an FE mount zoom one day as I'm not convinced this combo works correctly.
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 2566
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 April 2019 at 15:12
Are the recorded focal lengths accurate?

I didn't use it much, but SteadyShot on my A7II seemed to work fine with the Tamron 70-300 USD on the LA-EA3. The focusing wasn't great, but I can't say it was much worse than the 70-300GII. I sold the Tamron a month ago.

I just bought an A77II for telephoto zooms--mainly for the 55-300 SAM. That combination makes more sense to me.
Sony A7II A77II LA-EA3 LA-EA4 MC-11
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Online
Posts: 1907
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 April 2019 at 18:33
I took some test pictures at the extreme zoom end which is 300mm (and not relying on barrel marking). And the EXIF shows 300 mm too.

I have an A65 and the steady shot with the lens is fine there, as it is on the LA-EA4, which is very similar, I believe.
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
lonsdale50 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 April 2019
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Lancashire
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote lonsdale50 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2019 at 00:38
@Howard_S - thanks for the confirmation that it is not just me.

and yes likewise the camera sees the correct focal length (eg even with a 1.4x TC at 300mm, making it 420mm). All a bit strange.

Thanks





Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3360
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2019 at 09:17
IME the notional FL of IBIS can be quite a bit different from the actual FL and it still works well, so I would be surprised if a small error in that was causing the issue. Sounds more like a failure to implement it at all.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
nervus_opticus View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 01 March 2015
Country: Germany
Location: near STR
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote nervus_opticus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2019 at 11:25
Topic: Problem with auto Steadyshot & LA-EA3?
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 23:06

Here are some additional infos, how the combo works with an A7R_Mk3 and new Firmware 3.0

Setup: A7R_Mk3, LA-EA3, Tamron USD 70-300, FL about 200mm.

Steady Shot adjust AUTO: there is a observable increasing of shaking, the VF-image is sort of jumping flashlike in every direction. That indicates IMHO a communications problem between the lenses' chip and the camera (Tamron is not Sony and more like Sigma...)
Steady Shot adjusted to MANUAL, FL 200mm: everything is fine, AF is fast, shake reduction works well.

Best regards, Knut
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Online
Posts: 1907
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2019 at 11:34
Yes, that's a good description of what I see as well.

Interesting to note that pictures taken with Steady Shot set to Auto record the focal length in the EXIF, showing that the data reaches the camera and is handled correctly at least in recording the data.
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.064 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.