FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Samyang Lens firmware update

Author
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4019
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Samyang Lens firmware update
    Posted: 01 January 2022 at 00:10
I bought a new Samyang lens station yesterday and updated the firmware on my three f2.8 primes today. Two updates went perfectly (18mm & 35mm), the other failed and has left the previously-working 24mm lens totally dead.
No lens comms with station, none with camera either.
Oh, and the station's user manual button won't open that either.
Not impressed ...

Happy 2022 everybody!
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
 



Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Online
Posts: 3515
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 January 2022 at 12:16
Yikes! I have read about people having that happen.   I haven't heard about any fixes. Sorry.
Sony A7RIV NEX-5T HVL-F45RM LA-EA5 Metabones-IV Sigma MC-11 Yongnuo EF-E II TLT ROKR MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9 AF-P/Q
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4019
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 January 2022 at 19:25
The lens station interface is very poor. At the very least I'd expect it to check the lens type/model from the firmware present there and check the new firmware loaded (if any) is of the right type, and reject it with reasons if not.
The comms interface is very flaky and keeps dropping out with a text box to select comm1 or comm3 (why?)
You can't revert to the previous firmware or an earlier one even if you have it, you can't reload the same firmware.
I'm not a professional programmer but even I'd be ashamed to release something this bad.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2884
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 January 2022 at 22:48
I don't know if this will help you , but it might be worth a try ; https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/64561181

Is your lens still under guarantee and does it cover it ? it should as it's their firmware that's done it .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4019
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 January 2022 at 20:40
It's been repaired by Samyang under warrantee, so thanks to them. I shall collect it soon.
Thanks for the Link, Neil. It seems other people have had similar issues with the crappy computer interface. I will probably not try updating the firmware again. Anyone want to buy a nearly-new lens station?

Edited by Miranda F - 19 January 2022 at 20:47
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2884
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2022 at 00:39
Glad you got it sorted .
I had been considering their 18mm , but also possibly the Tamron 20mm .
Either way , you can keep your lousy lens station !
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2884
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 February 2022 at 01:45
On the back of this thread and finding out it wasn't a one off the problem you've had I went for the Tamron 20mm ( used ).
It came with version 1 firmware on it and I've just updated to version 2 , with the lens mounted on a NEX 6 the same as any FW updates for Sony bodies or lens .
No problems whatsoever .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4019
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 February 2022 at 12:54
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:


It came with version 1 firmware on it and I've just updated to version 2 , with the lens mounted on a NEX 6 the same as any FW updates for Sony bodies or lens .
No problems whatsoever .

Just the way it should be done!
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2884
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 February 2022 at 14:06
Never had this problem with my Samyang 85mm f/1.4 manual focus lens .
Something they need to work on , I think .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > E-mount lenses

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.