FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

SD card database file for a77

Author
Tjeiken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 23 January 2008
Country: Denmark
Location: Odense
Status: Offline
Posts: 608
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tjeiken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: SD card database file for a77
    Posted: 18 October 2021 at 10:13
Hi,
I have an old a77 which had was damaged by water at some point.
This means that the buttons on the rear of the camera does not work anymore.
I can still use the camera to take photos.
but my problem is now, that I recently inserted a new SD card, and the camera needs to create the database files on the SD card for it to work.

And since I cannot use the rear buttons on the camera, I am not able to make the camera create these files

So my question is: is there anyone in here who can upload a set of database files for the SD card for an a77 (mk1), that I can manually put on the SD card, so I can hopefully use it to take pictures with once again?
Sony a77II | SAL1650F2.8 | SAL16105 | SAL35F18 | Minolta 50F1.7 | Minolta 70-210 F4 (BC) | Samyang 8mm | Sigma wide CPL | Metz 58 AF-2 | Curiosity and ingenuity
 



Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 2361
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2021 at 11:04
I guess I can do this - what size card have you got (in case size matters).
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2883
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2021 at 11:24
Presumably you haven't got another Sony camera to format the card in ?
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Tjeiken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 23 January 2008
Country: Denmark
Location: Odense
Status: Offline
Posts: 608
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tjeiken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2021 at 11:54
It's a 32GB card.

and yes, I do have an a77II as well.. Actually I haven't tried re-formatting in this one first, but I think it was already formatted in the mkII before I switched it over.
Sony a77II | SAL1650F2.8 | SAL16105 | SAL35F18 | Minolta 50F1.7 | Minolta 70-210 F4 (BC) | Samyang 8mm | Sigma wide CPL | Metz 58 AF-2 | Curiosity and ingenuity
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2883
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2021 at 13:19
I used a card out of one Sony camera in another and not reformatted in that camera as there were images I wanted on it ( not something I usually do , but just testing a newly bought used camera ).
And I've not had a problem .
Try formatting the card in the a77ii and then fit it in the a77 .
It'll probably be fine .
You would know if it isn't as the camera will ask you something on the lines of " do you want to set up image database' or words to that effect where you then need to press "OK" , and that's where it sounds you'll have an issue .
Worth a try first though .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3515
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2021 at 14:19
I believe the A77 uses the current database standard. You should be good with a card formatted by any newer Sony camera. I haven't had any issues swapping cards between Sony cameras, and I haven't used any older than the A77.
Sony A7RIV NEX-5T HVL-F45RM LA-EA5 Metabones-IV Sigma MC-11 Yongnuo EF-E II TLT ROKR MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9 AF-P/Q
 



Back to Top
Tjeiken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 23 January 2008
Country: Denmark
Location: Odense
Status: Offline
Posts: 608
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tjeiken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 October 2021 at 14:37
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

I used a card out of one Sony camera in another and not reformatted in that camera as there were images I wanted on it ( not something I usually do , but just testing a newly bought used camera ).
And I've not had a problem .
Try formatting the card in the a77ii and then fit it in the a77 .
It'll probably be fine .
You would know if it isn't as the camera will ask you something on the lines of " do you want to set up image database' or words to that effect where you then need to press "OK" , and that's where it sounds you'll have an issue .
Worth a try first though .


Exactly, @Neilt3 I cannot press "OK".
I'll try formatting on the a77II when I'm back home, and see if that does the trick first.
Sony a77II | SAL1650F2.8 | SAL16105 | SAL35F18 | Minolta 50F1.7 | Minolta 70-210 F4 (BC) | Samyang 8mm | Sigma wide CPL | Metz 58 AF-2 | Curiosity and ingenuity
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2792
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2021 at 02:12
Do you own the Sony VGC77AM Vertical Grip?

Edited by LAbernethy - 19 October 2021 at 02:18
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 2361
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2021 at 10:34
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

Do you own the Sony VGC77AM Vertical Grip?


Great idea - a Meike grip would also do the job. Either would make the camera a lot more useable.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.