FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Seeking confirmation in transitioning to mirrorles

Page  <12
Author
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13047
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2022 at 08:52
The A6000 is hardly better in low light - going to the A6000 will gain you nothing. It has the same sensor, it only has the SLT that will cost you 1/3rd of a stop. Enjoy your A77m2 and share some pictures here
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2904
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2022 at 09:19
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

The A6000 is hardly better in low light - going to the A6000 will gain you nothing. It has the same sensor, it only has the SLT that will cost you 1/3rd of a stop. Enjoy your A77m2 and share some pictures here


I think the OP planned on continuing to use his existing lenses with an LA-EA2 .
So same loss of light with the SLT , just an inferior AF unit compared to a77ii .
So definitely a downgrade .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4021
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2022 at 13:08
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:


I don't get why Sony disable their own A-mount TC's.

I don't either, but I think that when A-mount cameras see Sony's own TC, they select a profile in the camera corresponding to the lens and camera (is the same table as used for lens corrections?), whereas with other manufacturer's TCs, the TC itself modifies the lens rom data and the camera doesn't know.
It's therefore clear why they work differently on the LA-EA2/4, but why the E-mount cameras didn't include the same lens+TC data, I don't know, unless they actually abandoned this kind of data altogether, as E-mount lenses handle all the lens corrections themselves.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3531
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 January 2022 at 13:26
My understanding is the first party teleconverters just report their ID along with passing on the info from the lens and the camera handles everything. They are very dumb devices. The adapters evidently use the same process to report themselves. There is no provision for stacking a third ID in. Stacking the first party teleconverters also doesn't work.

The chipped third-party teleconverters basically create a new lens which works fine with the LA-EA adapters. All the LA-EA's work with the chipped third-party A-mount teleconverters. I've stacked multiple Kenkos on the LA-EA adapters and gotten working AF. The camera doesn't know the third-party teleconverters are there.

Most of the A-mount Lens Compensation are based on the Lens ID and the full-frame E-mount bodies support those. My A7RIV applies the DT 50mm F1.8 SAM Lens Compensations when I use the Tamron SP 60mm F2 Macro on the LA-EA adapters because that Tamron borrows the Lens ID of that Tamron. The lens reports 60mm as its focal length. Just like when using a third-party teleconverter the focal length and aperture don't need to line up with the Lens ID.

With the V.4 firmware of the Monster LA-EA4r only one of my A-mount lenses was getting Lens Compensation on it--the old AF 28mm F2.8.   

Edited by QuietOC - 04 January 2022 at 13:43
Sony A7RIV LA-EA5
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9
Back to Top
schwizzle View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 20 September 2012
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote schwizzle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 January 2022 at 16:12
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

Originally posted by schwizzle schwizzle wrote:

So, I feel a bit silly. I thought my actuations were close to 100k, but I'm only at 13k. Must have been tired the last time I looked.


13k ? That's almost new !
You need to use what you've got more rather than wondering what to replace it with !

Regarding high ISO , I don't have a problem with my a77ii RAW files , processed in lightroom .
What are your issues with it ?



How high of ISO do you use? It's been a while since I have tried low light/nighttime shooting.

From what I remember, I started getting noticeable grain at even just 3200...but I may have been too critical/pixel peeping much at the time too. I haven't had a lot of time to take pics the last five years due to life circumstances, but I am starting to get a little more time, so will have to start trying low light photography again. To give some context..I'm largely an amateur still. There are some areas of photography that I am decent at, but others that I still need to take some time to read up on/learn more about.

Like you said, software can probably clean up a lot of the grain. I've used CaptureOne in the past, but can't remember to what degree I tried using it's noise reduction capabilities.

Edited by schwizzle - 05 January 2022 at 23:03
A77II; Sony DT 35mm SAM; Minolta 50mm 1.4; Sigma EX 50mm Macro; Tamron 90mm Macro 2.8; Sony DT 16-50mm SSM; Min 35-105(Orig); Tamron 70-300 Di USD
Back to Top
schwizzle View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 20 September 2012
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote schwizzle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 January 2022 at 16:16
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

The A6000 is hardly better in low light - going to the A6000 will gain you nothing. It has the same sensor, it only has the SLT that will cost you 1/3rd of a stop. Enjoy your A77m2 and share some pictures here


Agreed. I went to Orange Beach, Alabama and Rocky Mountain National Park recently; will see if I can get time to upload some pics. Most of them will be unedited besides maybe some light correction using my iPad. I used to shoot RAW and edit in CaptureOne for a lot of my pics but haven't recently again due to time.

Edited by schwizzle - 05 January 2022 at 16:19
A77II; Sony DT 35mm SAM; Minolta 50mm 1.4; Sigma EX 50mm Macro; Tamron 90mm Macro 2.8; Sony DT 16-50mm SSM; Min 35-105(Orig); Tamron 70-300 Di USD
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13047
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 January 2022 at 17:44
Originally posted by schwizzle schwizzle wrote:

From what I remember, I started getting noticeable grain at even just 3200...
That is about right - I tend to keep my A77m2 and A6000 below 3200iso (in fact, below 1600, but I consider 3200 useable). Newer cameras have a slightly better JPEG-engine, so, there is some more room, but not much.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2904
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2022 at 02:04
Originally posted by schwizzle schwizzle wrote:

Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:



Regarding high ISO , I don't have a problem with my a77ii RAW files , processed in lightroom .
What are your issues with it ?



How high of ISO do you use? It's been a while since I have tried low light/nighttime shooting.

From what I remember, I started getting noticeable grain at even just 3200...but I may have been too critical/pixel peeping much at the time too. I haven't had a lot of time to take pics the last five years due to life circumstances, but I am starting to get a little more time, so will have to start trying low light photography again. To give some context..I'm largely an amateur still. There are some areas of photography that I am decent at, but others that I still need to take some time to read up on/learn more about.

Like you said, software can probably clean up a lot of the grain. I've used CaptureOne in the past, but can't remember to what degree I tried using it's noise reduction capabilities.


I've had a look at a load of random pictures , not easy to check for a specific camera as I use several cameras . Film and digital .
The highest ISO I seem to use on the a77ii is ISO 3200 .
I shoot in RAW and process in Lightroom 5 , I'm quite happy with that .
That's with hand held shots , I frequently use a tripod , in which case I use a lower ISO and have a longer exposure .
I'll also change from using a zoom lens to a fast prime to get more light in , if needed , to keep the shutter speed up and ISO down . All depends on what I'm doing .
My main interests are landscape photography , and typically fast shutter speeds and high ISO aren't needed ( or wanted ) .
Where I've needed a faster shutter speed to stop action , rather than being in low light , I'm also happy to use a higher ISO .
Noise doesn't show up the same in daytime as it does in the dark .

In these cases , if I'm not happy with a shot , it's not the ISO that was the issue . Most likely missed focus or it's down to me , not the camera.


see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount APS-C Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.