FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Sigma 30 F1.4 Art lens in A900

Page  <123>
Author
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 160
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2021 at 14:55
As I mentioned earlier, apparently some (most?) DT lenses over-ride the APS-C OFF setting -- somehow.

With these lenses, IF you want the sensor to read FULL-FRAME, you would need to make some sort of adjustment to the lens. It might be as simple as covering up the three additional electronic tabs that newer lenses have -- as compared to the earlier, 5-contact, lenses. Of course, that means you lose any other features that use those contacts -- such as ADI flash.

Probably a more sensible approach would be to find a similar, earlier, and undoubtedly much less expensive APS-C lens that does not over-ride the camera's APS-C OFF setting.

Konica Minolta, and others, made a TON of APS-C lenses for the MAXXUM mount. The trick is finding the one(s) that meet your need(s).
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2904
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2021 at 15:48
Originally posted by XKAES XKAES wrote:

As I mentioned earlier, apparently some (most?) DT lenses over-ride the APS-C OFF setting -- somehow.

With these lenses, IF you want the sensor to read FULL-FRAME, you would need to make some sort of adjustment to the lens. It might be as simple as covering up the three additional electronic tabs that newer lenses have -- as compared to the earlier, 5-contact, lenses. Of course, that means you lose any other features that use those contacts -- such as ADI flash.

Probably a more sensible approach would be to find a similar, earlier, and undoubtedly much less expensive APS-C lens that does not over-ride the camera's APS-C OFF setting.

Konica Minolta, and others, made a TON of APS-C lenses for the MAXXUM mount. The trick is finding the one(s) that meet your need(s).


Lenses such as the OP is asking about and all the Sony DT lenses I have are all lenses who's AF drive is in the lens , not the camera body .
If you cover up the three contacts you also have a manual focus lens .
The information contacts are still uncovered , as the data contact pin is the same regardless of if it's a five or eight pin lens .
So it would still crop the image .
IIRC with pins covered/damaged on eight pin lenses , the camera sees it as a fault and just comes up error .


If you cover up the data pin , you'll have neither AF or aperture control as the camera doesn't even know a lens is attached !

If someone's going to buy another lens for a full frame camera , I'd suggest buying a full frame lens , not a crop lens and trying to get it to work .

Trying to get something you already have to work is fine , but if you going to buy something , buy something that will work on your camera in the first place .

Full frame A mount lenses are plentyfull and cheap , and only getting cheaper .
Good time to buy .


Edited by neilt3 - 08 November 2021 at 15:55
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13049
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2021 at 15:56
Minolta APS-C lenses work identical to Sony lenses. Sony bought the Minolta camera division.

One petty thing: Maxxum is a brand name used by Minolta in Northern America. In most parts of the world the brand name was Dynax and in Japan is was Alpha. Sony decided to streamline this and just uses the Japanese brand name worldwide.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 160
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2021 at 17:32
Back to the original post.

The poster seemed to have gotten the lens to work full-frame with some vignetting using the "lens release button" -- whatever that is -- as evidenced in the two pictures. So I'm not sure if there is a problem.

My guess is that the OP wants to turn a APS-C lens into a full-frame lens which is not going to happen no matter what you do.

I think I misunderstood the original problem/question.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2904
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2021 at 17:49
Originally posted by XKAES XKAES wrote:

Back to the original post.

The poster seemed to have gotten the lens to work full-frame with some vignetting using the "lens release button" -- whatever that is -- as evidenced in the two pictures. So I'm not sure if there is a problem.

My guess is that the OP wants to turn a APS-C lens into a full-frame lens which is not going to happen no matter what you do.

I think I misunderstood the original problem/question.


The " lens release button" is the button you press to release the lens when you want to change lenses .
When you press it , apart from retracting the pin that locks the lens in place , it also disconnects the lens electronically .
At this point the camera doesn't know a lens is attached , just the same way as if a manual lens is attached .
Because of this the camera doesn't go into crop mode , but obviously the camera can no longer control aperture or AF .

What some people have said , WHICH I DO NOT RECOMMEND is that once you've focussed the lens , by pressing the button and slightly rotating the lens , as if to take it off , the aperture starts to close .
So fine the lens is stopped down a bit , but it is also at risk of falling off !
Which is why I wouldn't recommend this method !

Edited by neilt3 - 08 November 2021 at 17:56
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Idleidolidyll View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2010
Country: New Zealand
Location: Aotearoa
Status: Offline
Posts: 811
Post Options Post Options   Quote Idleidolidyll Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2021 at 18:22
Some time ago, I bought the Sony APS-C 10-18mm F4 OSS lens to use with my QX-1 body. Obviously I also fitted it to my A7R just to see if it could cover full frame.
To my surprise, it DID cover full frame from about 12-15mm but did also vignette below and above that range.
I don't use the QX-1 much now and I sold that lens but I was pleasantly surprised to have a 12-15mm zoom for FF with OSS.

Edited by Idleidolidyll - 08 November 2021 at 19:59
 



Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 160
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2021 at 19:06
Originally posted by Idleidolidyll Idleidolidyll wrote:

Some time ago, I bought the Sony APS-C 10-18mm F4 OSS lens to use with my QX-1 body. Obviously I also fitted it to my A7R just to see if it could cover full frame.
To my surprise, it DID cover full frame from about 12-15mm but did also vignette below and above that range.
I don't use the QS-1 much now and I sold that lens but I was pleasantly surprised to have a 12-15mm zoom for FF with OSS.


So, I assume that this lens is an APS-C lens that does not force the camera into APS-C mode?!?!?!?
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3532
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2021 at 19:15
The A900 and A850 are the only Sony full-frame cameras that force an APS-C crop when a DT lens is attached. Other models like the A7R allow them to be used with full-frame capture.

It is not that uncommon for APS-C lenses to more or less cover 135 full-frame format. Some "full-frame" sensors are less full than others too.

Edited by QuietOC - 08 November 2021 at 19:20
Sony A7RIV LA-EA5
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9
Back to Top
Idleidolidyll View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2010
Country: New Zealand
Location: Aotearoa
Status: Offline
Posts: 811
Post Options Post Options   Quote Idleidolidyll Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2021 at 19:58
Originally posted by XKAES XKAES wrote:

Originally posted by Idleidolidyll Idleidolidyll wrote:

Some time ago, I bought the Sony APS-C 10-18mm F4 OSS lens to use with my QX-1 body. Obviously I also fitted it to my A7R just to see if it could cover full frame.
To my surprise, it DID cover full frame from about 12-15mm but did also vignette below and above that range.
I don't use the QX-1 much now and I sold that lens but I was pleasantly surprised to have a 12-15mm zoom for FF with OSS.


So, I assume that this lens is an APS-C lens that does not force the camera into APS-C mode?!?!?!?


It would certainly seem so. Yes, it automatically switched to APS-C shooting with my A7R BUT all I had to do was go to settings and select 36MP only for full frame shooting and it stayed that way. If you leave the selection in 'Auto' it will then default back to APS-C
Back to Top
AxitNitric View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 August 2020
Country: Vietnam
Location: HoChiMinh City
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote AxitNitric Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 13:09
up date

Edited by AxitNitric - 09 November 2021 at 15:47
Back to Top
AxitNitric View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 August 2020
Country: Vietnam
Location: HoChiMinh City
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote AxitNitric Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 15:46
Originally posted by AxitNitric AxitNitric wrote:

Many DT lens not or very little vignetting as: 30 F2.8 macro, 35 F1.8, sigma 30 F1.4... And it's very lightweight with good image quality
I got a sigma 35 art and 30 art too but with the daylight the 30 F1.4 is very good with the same F, and it lightweight too. So I wonder to use it for the A900 camera
I've tried to cover the lens contract with the body as 5 pin lens Minolta but only eror with no AF
The A900 with 2.0 version firmware ALWAYS crop the images what ever ways I've tried
Now I think there is an only way: A firmware 3.0 with a fix on this problem. Sorry for A mount that's Sony no more support
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2904
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 16:43
Originally posted by AxitNitric AxitNitric wrote:

Originally posted by AxitNitric AxitNitric wrote:

Many DT lens not or very little vignetting as: 30 F2.8 macro, 35 F1.8, sigma 30 F1.4... And it's very lightweight with good image quality
I got a sigma 35 art and 30 art too but with the daylight the 30 F1.4 is very good with the same F, and it lightweight too. So I wonder to use it for the A900 camera
I've tried to cover the lens contract with the body as 5 pin lens Minolta but only eror with no AF
The A900 with 2.0 version firmware ALWAYS crop the images what ever ways I've tried
Now I think there is an only way: A firmware 3.0 with a fix on this problem. Sorry for A mount that's Sony no more support


There will be no further firmware updates .
Sony's answer was to by an a99 or a99ii full frame camera for that option or rather an E mount full frame camera !
Or buy more lenses !!
Sorry ...
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
amrep View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 February 2015
Country: Norway
Status: Offline
Posts: 294
Post Options Post Options   Quote amrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 18:50
If someone really wants to use a lens with a DT lens-ID on A900/A850 (and don't mind tinkering), just swap the lens contacts and ROM chip. Get a cheap full frame lens about the similar focal length (Minolta 28mm 2.8) as a donor. But I am not sure I would do this with an Art lens ...
Exif will of course be altered.

Edited by amrep - 09 November 2021 at 18:53
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2904
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 19:26
Originally posted by amrep amrep wrote:

If someone really wants to use a lens with a DT lens-ID on A900/A850 (and don't mind tinkering), just swap the lens contacts and ROM chip. Get a cheap full frame lens about the similar focal length (Minolta 28mm 2.8) as a donor. But I am not sure I would do this with an Art lens ...
Exif will of course be altered.


And would end up as only a manual focus lens as you've no longer got the motor in the lens connected up to the camera .

You can't just replace five if the eight contacts , as the lens would report itself as the screwdrive lens and the camera would attempt to focus via the in body connection . Except the lens hasn't got a mechanical drive connection .

Even if you retained the other three contacts it would make no attempt at driving the focus drive via the HSM , as the lens chip would say it hasn't got one .

Plus you end up with a lens that could only be sold parts as it'd never AF again !




Edited by neilt3 - 09 November 2021 at 19:34
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount full frame Page  <123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.