FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

SLT compatibility and dyxum lens database

Page  123 13>
Author
kiklop View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum owner

Joined: 14 July 2005
Country: Croatia
Location: Rovinj
Status: Offline
Posts: 10564
Post Options Post Options   Quote kiklop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: SLT compatibility and dyxum lens database
    Posted: 14 September 2010 at 19:04
I have upgraded our lens database with the info about SLT compatibility.

SLT status is reported on lens detail page and a new SLT compatibility option is added to our lens search facility.

At this moment we have a SLT compatibility warning displayed for ALL sigma lenses with official Sigma advisory notice.



Edited by Kiklop - 15 October 2011 at 00:19
 



Back to Top
roweraay View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 May 2008
Country: United States
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
Posts: 4049
Post Options Post Options   Quote roweraay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 October 2010 at 21:18
I just received my new Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 EX DC OS lens (not yet listed in the Dyxum database) and noticed right away that the box did not contain the sticker that should have stated "A33, A55 compatible" (as per this link) and I was all set to return the lens back.

I then mounted the lens on the camera, and cycled through several of the apertures and took pictures, and absolutely no problem whatsoever.   

I then shot a couple of movie clips using the lens, zoomed in and out through the various zoom ranges and absolutely no problem at all ! I played the movies back on the camera and it came out really well.

Just to make doubly certain, I formatted my memory card and shot both stills and movies again. The stills were shot through various apertures and various zoom ranges. Worked well !

PS: Since this is a new OS (optical in-lens stabilization) lens, I turned off the in-body stabilization while trying the above out. Bottomline, the lens worked really well, even without the sticker that was supposed to be on such "fixed" lenses. I am assuming that since this is a newly introduced lens, Sigma probably had already updated the firmware, enabling it to work with the A33/55 cameras.

The below link will take you to the lens:

Click here for lens

The below is Photozone's review of this lens, done on a Canon APS-C camera:

Click here for review on Canon APS-C

Edited by roweraay - 06 October 2010 at 21:54
A7RIV/135f1.8GM/20f1.8G/35f1.4GM/85f1.4DGDNSigma/100-400GM/35-150f2-2.8Tamron/12-24f2.8GM
Back to Top
MichelvA View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group
Knowledge Base Contributor

Joined: 26 April 2008
Country: Netherlands
Status: Online
Posts: 19257
Post Options Post Options   Quote MichelvA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 October 2010 at 21:22
Think you forgot some signs roweraay           edit: you've solved most of it already..
What i really would like to know - if you are able to choose the stabilisation method- which works best for you.
And congrats on your new toy .

Edited by MichelvA - 06 October 2010 at 21:24
Back to Top
roweraay View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 May 2008
Country: United States
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
Posts: 4049
Post Options Post Options   Quote roweraay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 October 2010 at 21:34
Originally posted by MichelvA MichelvA wrote:

What i really would like to know - if you are able to choose the stabilisation method- which works best for you..


Actually, there are 2 things here:

a) Video: For shooting hand-held video, the in-lens is the only practical option, since using the in-body stabilization will overheat the system in around 9 minutes. I am guessing this is because unlike stills, the in-body stabilization will need to work 60 times every second, when shooting 1080 60i video. Of course on a tripod, we would just turn off stabilization completely.

b) Stills: I need to do some back-to-back testing to see how the in-lens compares to the in-body systems. Without testing it, I am leaning towards leaving the in-lens system on, all the time, unless I am mounting one of the other Alpha lenses.....since I don't want to be switching back-and-forth between the two, when shooting video and stills.

PS: Hope we are not using up this thread by going off-topic, since Kiklop intended this thread purely for feedback on lens compatibility with SLT cameras.

Edited by roweraay - 06 October 2010 at 21:39
A7RIV/135f1.8GM/20f1.8G/35f1.4GM/85f1.4DGDNSigma/100-400GM/35-150f2-2.8Tamron/12-24f2.8GM
Back to Top
Stef. View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 07 November 2007
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 1230
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stef. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 October 2010 at 22:30
Originally posted by Kiklop Kiklop wrote:


At this moment i set all lenses as compatible with SLT cameras except Sigma lenses (all of them).


Not sure whether I understand this correctly? I have used the Nex 5 camera with adapter and Sigma 70mm macro f2.8 without a problem on the camera. Manual focus for the time being until the firmware upgrade but it does work in video and picture shooting mode? But perhaps this thead is excluding Nex cameras?
Stef.
Back to Top
sirwired View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 28 April 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 142
Post Options Post Options   Quote sirwired Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 00:00
This thread specifically refers to the SLT cameras. (Currently the A33 and A55.) The issue has not been reported to affect the NEX line.
a500/SAL1855SAM/SAL55200SAM/T17-50 2.8/Ʃ18-250 3.5-6.3/Vivitar 100 3.5/SAL35F18
 



Back to Top
al View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 10 August 2008
Country: United States
Location: SF Bay Area
Status: Offline
Posts: 1704
Post Options Post Options   Quote al Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 00:00
Originally posted by Stef. Stef. wrote:

Originally posted by Kiklop Kiklop wrote:


At this moment i set all lenses as compatible with SLT cameras except Sigma lenses (all of them).


Not sure whether I understand this correctly? I have used the Nex 5 camera with adapter and Sigma 70mm macro f2.8 without a problem on the camera. Manual focus for the time being until the firmware upgrade but it does work in video and picture shooting mode? But perhaps this thead is excluding Nex cameras?
Stef.


SLT applies to the A33 and A55. Nex cameras are not SLT cameras, so this compatibility issue doesn't apply to your Nex 5.
Back to Top
klw10 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 May 2009
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1366
Post Options Post Options   Quote klw10 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 06:08
I just tested the a55 with the Sigma 20mm f1.8 EX DG and the Sigma 180mm f3.5 Macro EX DG and they autofocus fine so far. The 20mm one is an older Sigma lens with the green case. Maybe this only applies to real old Sigma lenses.

Hope this helps.
Back to Top
Sick View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 July 2009
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 1200
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 14:21
@
klw10
I believe the problem is about aperture.
But if your camera does not show an error message it seems to fine.
Back to Top
klw10 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 May 2009
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1366
Post Options Post Options   Quote klw10 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 14:39
Originally posted by Sick Sick wrote:

@
klw10
I believe the problem is about aperture.
But if your camera does not show an error message it seems to fine.


Ah. Got ya. I was mistaken then. I changed the aperture on both though and they both seemed to work fine. I did not get any error messages but maybe I should test them some more.

I even shot some video with the 180mm and it seemed to work great.

Edited by klw10 - 07 October 2010 at 14:40
Back to Top
mambo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Winnipeg
Status: Offline
Posts: 1996
Post Options Post Options   Quote mambo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 14:59
I received my A55 yesterday and promptly attached my Sigma 18mm f/3.5 Zen lens. No issues here. Took a number of pics......everything worked as it should. I did not try the video funtion. So perhaps this sigma imcopartibility issue may turn out to be the new millennium bug   
instagram | website | A6300 | A6400 | A7Riii | A7Riv | A99 |plus an assortment of glass |
Back to Top
roweraay View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 May 2008
Country: United States
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
Posts: 4049
Post Options Post Options   Quote roweraay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 15:16
Originally posted by mambo mambo wrote:

I received my A55 yesterday and promptly attached my Sigma 18mm f/3.5 Zen lens. No issues here. Took a number of pics......everything worked as it should. I did not try the video funtion. So perhaps this sigma imcopartibility issue may turn out to be the new millennium bug   


I think they were stressing the "may" exhibit an incompatibility, while referring to this potential issue. So I believe this was mainly a hedge against some older lenses that probably were using firmware that was outdated.

Check the below link out, with the bolded "may":

Click here for advisory
A7RIV/135f1.8GM/20f1.8G/35f1.4GM/85f1.4DGDNSigma/100-400GM/35-150f2-2.8Tamron/12-24f2.8GM
Back to Top
roweraay View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 May 2008
Country: United States
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
Posts: 4049
Post Options Post Options   Quote roweraay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 15:19
Originally posted by mambo mambo wrote:

I received my A55 yesterday and promptly attached my Sigma 18mm f/3.5 Zen lens. No issues here. Took a number of pics......everything worked as it should. I did not try the video funtion. So perhaps this sigma imcopartibility issue may turn out to be the new millennium bug   


I believe it is the video function that could exhibit this situation. The video in the A33/55 is designed to have the lens aperture set to f/3.5 (for lenses with apertures at or larger than f/3.5) and set to the max aperture (for lenses with apertures smaller than f/3.5). Thus it is in the video arena that you will encounter this potential issue, in the affected units.
A7RIV/135f1.8GM/20f1.8G/35f1.4GM/85f1.4DGDNSigma/100-400GM/35-150f2-2.8Tamron/12-24f2.8GM
Back to Top
Dumont View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 February 2006
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey, USA
Status: Offline
Posts: 1846
Post Options Post Options   Quote Dumont Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 20:42
I tested a few Sigmas, some older (like 15mm/2.8 FE, 28-75/2.8), some newer (100-300/4) all screw focus and at first it seemed they worked fine but took them to the zoo the other day and after a few minutes mounted the AF would just hunt back and forth without locking. This happened in stills and video. Sometimes just turning the camera off and back on would not clear the problem. I am not sure if always keeping the camera on still mode will avoid the problem. the camera would still work in MF mode though. I can't test it further since I returned it. I thought I would enjoy video more than I did. I guess there is a reason my old Sony camcorder is collecting dust...

What I am trying to say is don't be so sure mounting the lens and taking a few test pic's is a sure sign your Sigma lens is working.

I am happy with my A900, I just hope the eventual replacement does not have any issues with Sigma lenses. Or in anticipation I might just go ahead and sell my Sigma's now before they become somewhat obsolete.

Darren

Edited by Dumont - 07 October 2010 at 21:10
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > A-mount lenses Page  123 13>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.