FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

SLT compatibility and dyxum lens database

Page  <1234 12>
Author
roweraay View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 May 2008
Country: United States
Location: Minnesota, USA
Status: Offline
Posts: 4043
Post Options Post Options   Quote roweraay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2010 at 21:38
Originally posted by Dumont Dumont wrote:

What I am trying to say is don't be so sure mounting the lens and taking a few test pic's is a sure sign your Sigma lens is working.


I tried it again today, after the lens sat on the camera overnight and still worked like a charm. Both for stills and video.
A900/2470ZA/85ZA/50f1.4/50f2.8Macro/35-105Mino/70-300G & A7r/2470/55f1.8/35f2.8
 



Back to Top
kiklop View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum owner

Joined: 14 July 2005
Country: Croatia
Location: Rovinj
Status: Offline
Posts: 10563
Post Options Post Options   Quote kiklop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 October 2010 at 10:33
Thanks to all for your feedbacks.

Honestly, i'm still not sure what should we do regarding our lens database info. It is kind of hard stating that a particular lens is or is not SLT comatible if end users do experience one thing and manufacturer is stating otherwise.

Maybe, i was too fast in adding SLT compatibility field in our database after all   

I will keep tracking this thread and after we get more feedbacks it may be easier to decide how to handle this.

P.S.
Personally, i don't read sony forums anymore. For this reason i would really appreciate if this thread will be used for sharing links about this issues as well. All cases are important; if someone is reporting a SLT ok lens or if someone is reporting problems with sigma lenses and SLT cameras.

Thank you !
Back to Top
MichelvA View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group
Knowledge Base Contributor

Joined: 26 April 2008
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 17381
Post Options Post Options   Quote MichelvA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 October 2010 at 11:35
Originally posted by Kiklop Kiklop wrote:

Maybe, i was too fast in adding SLT compatibility field in our database after all   

No it was the right decision as now there is a dicussion going on. I think it is also right to hold on to the manufacturer specs.   
Back to Top
roweraay View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 May 2008
Country: United States
Location: Minnesota, USA
Status: Offline
Posts: 4043
Post Options Post Options   Quote roweraay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 October 2010 at 22:35
Originally posted by Kiklop Kiklop wrote:

...a particular lens is or is not SLT comatible if end users do experience one thing and manufacturer is stating otherwise.


Yeah, but in their advisory, they clearly state that it *MAY* experience an incompatibility, which is more like a hedge against the problem than a conclusive statement that it *WILL* be incompatible.

I agree that it makes our job a lot more difficult, when trying to gauge the (in)compatibility. It has to be done on a case-by-case basis, which makes it a tedious process.

PS: I noticed that the Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 EX HSM OS lens is now listed in the db. The lens is SLT compatible - verified !
A900/2470ZA/85ZA/50f1.4/50f2.8Macro/35-105Mino/70-300G & A7r/2470/55f1.8/35f2.8
Back to Top
Göran Larsson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 January 2006
Country: Sweden
Location: Linköping
Status: Offline
Posts: 625
Post Options Post Options   Quote Göran Larsson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 October 2010 at 23:02
Originally posted by roweraay roweraay wrote:

Yeah, but in their advisory, they clearly state that it *MAY* experience an incompatibility, which is more like a hedge against the problem than a conclusive statement that it *WILL* be incompatible.

The incompatibility is a mechanical problem with the mount preventing the aperture from (sometimes) open after an exposure. It is probably some part of the mount that is just a bit too large in one area (because Sigma didn't know the exact limits from the specification) ans is interfering with the new aperture mechanism in the A33/A55. The manufacturing tolerances on the lens mount and body are such that the problem only occur on some lenses. This would explain Sigmas statement but also make it impossible for users to say that a lens model is compatible just by testing a few lenses on a few camera bodies.
Back to Top
roweraay View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 May 2008
Country: United States
Location: Minnesota, USA
Status: Offline
Posts: 4043
Post Options Post Options   Quote roweraay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2010 at 02:36
Originally posted by Göran Larsson Göran Larsson wrote:

Originally posted by roweraay roweraay wrote:

Yeah, but in their advisory, they clearly state that it *MAY* experience an incompatibility, which is more like a hedge against the problem than a conclusive statement that it *WILL* be incompatible.

The incompatibility is a mechanical problem with the mount preventing the aperture from (sometimes) open after an exposure. It is probably some part of the mount that is just a bit too large in one area (because Sigma didn't know the exact limits from the specification) ans is interfering with the new aperture mechanism in the A33/A55. The manufacturing tolerances on the lens mount and body are such that the problem only occur on some lenses. This would explain Sigmas statement but also make it impossible for users to say that a lens model is compatible just by testing a few lenses on a few camera bodies.


Thanks, but where did you read about the above ? I could not find anything from Sigma that indicates that this is a mechanical issue and not some firmware glitch that causes the lens to behave differently from the way the A55/33 operates. The people who have had the problem with their lenses, discovered it within the day, with the camera giving the error right away. I doubt when Sigma "fixes" the lenses that are sent into them for repair, are changing any mechanical components (mount or otherwise) but just doing a firmware update and sending the lens back. If they have to change the mount in any way, then they would just go bankrupt at the sheer number of lenses they would need to repair (and mechanical components they would need to keep on stock).

I believe it is somehow related to the video function of the A33/55, where the firmware instructs the aperture to be kept at a constant f/3.5 (in lenses/FLs with max aperture at or greater than f/3.5) and/or at the max aperture (in lenses with apertures smaller than f/3.5).....and somehow the previous firmware is unable to make the lens behave this way, since no previous Sony (or any other) camera had a reason to keep the aperture open this way. Their firmware update would essentially fix this firmware glitch.....JMO of course.
A900/2470ZA/85ZA/50f1.4/50f2.8Macro/35-105Mino/70-300G & A7r/2470/55f1.8/35f2.8
 



Back to Top
Göran Larsson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 January 2006
Country: Sweden
Location: Linköping
Status: Offline
Posts: 625
Post Options Post Options   Quote Göran Larsson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2010 at 10:37
Originally posted by roweraay roweraay wrote:

Thanks, but where did you read about the above ? I could not find anything from Sigma that indicates that this is a mechanical issue ..

Sigma has been quiet. I did read a while back about a tester that described the problem as the aperture sometimes not opening after exposure and closing down even more the following exposure. I also read about a user that already had a lens fixed by sigma. The mount had been replaced. Unfortunately I did not bookmark the sites.

This explanation is also the one I find moat likely. The aperture mechanism is purely mechanical and is not controlled by any firmware in the lens. The only thing even close to firmware in the lens, that has anything to do with the aperture, is the lens ROM data.

Originally posted by roweraay roweraay wrote:

If they have to change the mount in any way, then they would just go bankrupt at the sheer number of lenses they would need to repair (and mechanical components they would need to keep on stock).

Sigma drastically reduced the number of lenses they need to fix by demanding that the lens owner be the first owner and can show proof that they own an A33 or A55 camera. If the upgrade was easy and cheap, then why not think about the resale value of Sigma lenses?

Originally posted by roweraay roweraay wrote:

I believe it is somehow related to the video function of the A33/55, where the firmware instructs the aperture to be kept at a constant f/3.5

The aperture is kept at a constant aperture by the camera, not the lens.

Originally posted by roweraay roweraay wrote:

... since no previous Sony (or any other) camera had a reason to keep the aperture open this way.

Any long exposure at f/3.5 needs to keep the aperture at f/3.5 the whole exposure. What is different between video for 10 minutes and a B exposure at f/3.5 for 10 minutes?
Back to Top
MarkyM View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 24 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote MarkyM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2010 at 17:40
So far so good with my Sigma 17-70 OS HSM that I purchased from Amazon stock about a month ago. No sticker on the box. Used it for both stills and video yesterday with no issues.

--Mark--

Edited by MarkyM - 09 October 2010 at 17:41
Back to Top
Lcarus View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 August 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 732
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lcarus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 October 2010 at 13:13
Just tried a sigma 10-20 on it - didn't work (didn't recognise it as a lens)

What a great little camera though!
http://leecarus.500px.com/
Back to Top
joel22484 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 April 2009
Country: United States
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
Posts: 260
Post Options Post Options   Quote joel22484 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 October 2010 at 11:30
The 30mm f1.4 Sigma lens is definitely not compatible at the moment. I could not get it to focus on anything at all. However the newest version of the 70-200 f2.8 seems to work just fine. It's heavy on the little camera, but it works
Back to Top
kyledr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 October 2010
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote kyledr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 October 2010 at 17:26
Minolta 50mm 1.7 is compatible (not a big surprise, I suppose?) after extensive use.
Back to Top
cruiser View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 February 2009
Status: Offline
Posts: 214
Post Options Post Options   Quote cruiser Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 October 2010 at 13:40
Hi,

wouldn`t it be good to add 'AF noise' to the lens database. With the new Sony line-up videos will gain importance. Additionally HSM, SSM,SAM are becoming more and more popular, and even standard AF lenses have different noise levels.

Cruiser
Back to Top
huggybear View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 07 April 2006
Location: Taiwan
Status: Offline
Posts: 203
Post Options Post Options   Quote huggybear Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 November 2010 at 18:07
Both of my Sigmas (30mm f1.4 and 24-70mm f2.8 hsm) work flawless on the a55v so far. I have taken them for several walks and so far there were absolutely no focus/aperture issues. I shot a good amount of video and also switched the aperture consistently. Focussing is spot on with both.

Please also note that my 30mm f1.4 is a very early sample as I got it right after Sigma released it. I have no idea why the 30mm f1.4 seems to be working on my a55v, maybe just luck (knock on wood)
Back to Top
joel22484 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 April 2009
Country: United States
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
Posts: 260
Post Options Post Options   Quote joel22484 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 November 2010 at 18:48
Originally posted by huggybear huggybear wrote:

Both of my Sigmas (30mm f1.4 and 24-70mm f2.8 hsm) work flawless on the a55v so far. I have taken them for several walks and so far there were absolutely no focus/aperture issues. I shot a good amount of video and also switched the aperture consistently. Focussing is spot on with both.

Please also note that my 30mm f1.4 is a very early sample as I got it right after Sigma released it. I have no idea why the 30mm f1.4 seems to be working on my a55v, maybe just luck (knock on wood)


I think this goes to show that you can't say a particular lens will or will not work with the new SLT cameras. My Sigma 30mm won't work at all with my a55. Not even a chance of it working.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > A-mount lenses Page  <1234 12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.097 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.