FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

[SOLVED] Please Help! My a77ii can't AF! [SOLVED]

Author
tzk1810 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 28 July 2020
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Post Options Post Options   Quote tzk1810 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: [SOLVED] Please Help! My a77ii can't AF! [SOLVED]
    Posted: 19 October 2020 at 05:02
I was shooting my a77ii with 70400G then I put it down for a rest. Then when I pick it back up I found out my camera could not AF anymore. In the camera, the AF/MF mode turned grey (the switches is on AF) and cannot be changed, however, the button on the lens seems like still working. Then I tried my Sigma 70-200, same and the camera just can't AF and the AF option was grey out. What should I do now? I am very desperate


EDITED 20/10/2020 AEST 10:41 PM:
A big thanks for everyone who replied to my post. I didn't have much time yesterday because my backup a6000 + LA-EA4 also suffered in problems. I spent a whole night trying to fix it but end up buying another new one.

Back to a77ii, I tried the hard reset method then cleaning the contacts, it doesn't work initially (screwdriver lens rotates but doesn't catch on the focus, SSM lense no reaction) but somehow it starts working in the next day when I woke up trying to do another factory reset. That's very weird but yes now all AF points are back on screen and AF start working like usual. Thank you for everyone who replied this thread.

This problem is resolved now. Thank you.

Edited by tzk1810 - 20 October 2020 at 12:55
 



Back to Top
wangavagusbanjo View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 October 2008
Country: New Zealand
Location: North Island
Status: Offline
Posts: 50
Post Options Post Options   Quote wangavagusbanjo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2020 at 05:29
It could be the fuse. I used an a99 ages ago that could not AF SSM lenses but could focus screw drive lenses, and it was the fuse. The service agent replaced it.

Can it AF screw drive lenses?
Back to Top
tzk1810 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 28 July 2020
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Post Options Post Options   Quote tzk1810 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2020 at 06:16
No. I tried a reflex 500 on it and the AF option in the camera still grey out and remain MF. But it does reset the focus point when powering on.
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2460
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2020 at 06:58
I'd say check and cycle all the AF switches on the camera, front/AF-on button and in the menu just to hedge all bets.
Plus if it's set to to MF anywhere a press of the joystick should revert the camera to center point AF-S if you have it set to "standard focus"...least if my memory of the A77 is correect.

Edited by SnowFella - 19 October 2020 at 07:01
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26337
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2020 at 11:10
Clean the contacts?

Are there any lenses that the camera will AF with?
Back to Top
Stuart1701 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 October 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 464
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stuart1701 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2020 at 11:25
Found this for A77. Not sure if it will help, but it might.

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/53938932
Stuart M.
 



Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11412
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 October 2020 at 11:49
What with those being fairly long and heavy lenses and with the contacts being at the 12 o'clock position take some test shots in portrait/vertical position (and also upside down) and see if it will then AF to rule out a loose camera lens mount.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
mambo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Winnipeg
Status: Offline
Posts: 1798
Post Options Post Options   Quote mambo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 October 2020 at 12:28
Originally posted by tzk1810 tzk1810 wrote:

I was shooting my a77ii with 70400G then I put it down for a rest. Then when I pick it back up I found out my camera could not AF anymore. In the camera, the AF/MF mode turned grey (the switches is on AF) and cannot be changed, however, the button on the lens seems like still working. Then I tried my Sigma 70-200, same and the camera just can't AF and the AF option was grey out. What should I do now? I am very desperate


Does the camera AF with the older "screwdriver lens" and not the newer ones? If so, then this is a problem that I and a few others have had and is related to the motherboard failure.
Charles M

A99, Minolta:|200f2.8G|∑35f1.4Art|A6400|A7Riii| Viltrox 85f1.8|SEL200600G|Zeiss32f1.8|Sigma16f1.4|Samyang 45 f1.8; 35 f2.8; 24 f2.8|
instagram
Back to Top
tzk1810 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 28 July 2020
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Post Options Post Options   Quote tzk1810 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 October 2020 at 12:55
A big thanks for everyone who replied to my post. I didn't have much time yesterday because my backup a6000 + LA-EA4 also suffered in problems. I spent a whole night trying to fix it but end up buying another new one.

Back to a77ii, I tried the hard reset method then cleaning the contacts, it doesn't work initially (screwdriver lens rotates but doesn't catch on the focus, SSM lense no reaction) but somehow it starts working in the next day when I woke up trying to do another factory reset. That's very weird but yes now all AF points are back on screen and AF start working like usual. Thank you for everyone who replied this thread.

This problem is resolved now. Thank you.
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26337
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 October 2020 at 13:37
Glad to hear!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.