FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Sony a7iv

Page  <1 4567>
Author
Micholand View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 30 October 2005
Country: Germany
Location: MUC
Status: Offline
Posts: 16817
Post Options Post Options   Quote Micholand Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 June 2022 at 19:19
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

Thanks for providing that link .
I'm on LR5 and since getting the a7Riv last year and an a99ii this year , neither work on that with RAW files .
I had been considering Capture One , or trying to figure out how to use darktable (?) But I give that ago .
By the looks of it you can import the full card in one go now , rather than one file at a time .
When you do that does just one DNG file per image get saved on your harddrive or both a DNG and a Sony RAW file get saved . IE , two file for each image ?

( I started reading the website , but as I'm on my phone the writings to small to read !)

You have the possibility to select the folder with images to convert and another folder to save the converted files; and even embed the original RAW into the DNG. But presumably you cannot use it as an importer of the card to transfer the RAW and at the same convert to DNG (have never tried that).
In my workflow I import the RAW files from the card into a folder on the computer first and then do the conversion into the same folder (not embedding the RAWs), which gives me RAW + DNG for each image. After that the folder can be imported into LR(5); only the DNG will show up in the catalog, the RAWs will be skipped as they are not supported.
/Michael

DWEs don't grow on trees! | Posting images&links FAQ
 



Back to Top
Micholand View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 30 October 2005
Country: Germany
Location: MUC
Status: Offline
Posts: 16817
Post Options Post Options   Quote Micholand Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 June 2022 at 19:24
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

Do you get the lens corrections for newer with the older LR versions?

Sure, it's quite simple to "update" the lens profiles for older LR versions to the latest supplied for free with the DNG converter. You just need to copy the complete CameraRaw/LensProfiles folder into the folder location used by LR.

Posted already back then here.
/Michael

DWEs don't grow on trees! | Posting images&links FAQ
Back to Top
Fred_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 January 2017
Country: Netherlands
Location: Noord Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 11680
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fred_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 19:45
Originally posted by Micholand Micholand wrote:


You have the possibility to select the folder with images to convert and another folder to save the converted files; and even embed the original RAW into the DNG. But presumably you cannot use it as an importer of the card to transfer the RAW and at the same convert to DNG (have never tried that).


Direct transfer withe conversion from a card to your computer works fine !
Back to Top
Fred_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 January 2017
Country: Netherlands
Location: Noord Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 11680
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fred_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 19:50
What a fine camera so far!
It can do macro too and room fro cropping too





Both with Sigma 2.8/105mm EX DG Macro HSM OS (a-mount) via LA-EA5.

One problem though, the AF picks up fine dust particles if you try to shoot through a dirty window (instead of the subject behind the window
Back to Top
Fred_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 January 2017
Country: Netherlands
Location: Noord Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 11680
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fred_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 19:51
Originally posted by Fred_S Fred_S wrote:

What a fine camera so far!
It can do macro too and room f0r serious cropping too





Both with Sigma 2.8/105mm EX DG Macro HSM OS (a-mount) via LA-EA5.

One problem though, the AF picks up fine dust particles if you try to shoot through a dirty window (instead of the subject behind the window
Back to Top
Harm vb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2019
Country: Netherlands
Location: Gorinchem
Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote Harm vb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 20:04
Originally posted by Fred_S Fred_S wrote:

Originally posted by Micholand Micholand wrote:


You have the possibility to select the folder with images to convert and another folder to save the converted files; and even embed the original RAW into the DNG. But presumably you cannot use it as an importer of the card to transfer the RAW and at the same convert to DNG (have never tried that).


Direct transfer withe conversion from a card to your computer works fine !

You do include the RAW's in the DNG?
Harm, with A7iv+A7iii plus 6-400mm glass.
My Flickr
 



Back to Top
Fred_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 January 2017
Country: Netherlands
Location: Noord Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 11680
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fred_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 20:24
No I don't. Not sure what that should bring me?
Back to Top
Harm vb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2019
Country: Netherlands
Location: Gorinchem
Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote Harm vb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 20:26
But you don't use the RAWfiles then?
Harm, with A7iv+A7iii plus 6-400mm glass.
My Flickr
Back to Top
Fred_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 January 2017
Country: Netherlands
Location: Noord Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 11680
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fred_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 20:29
Nope, I use the DNG files
Back to Top
Harm vb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2019
Country: Netherlands
Location: Gorinchem
Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote Harm vb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 20:30
OK, RAWfiles to be deleted .
Harm, with A7iv+A7iii plus 6-400mm glass.
My Flickr
Back to Top
Fred_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 January 2017
Country: Netherlands
Location: Noord Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 11680
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fred_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 20:35
I do, unless somebody here tells me better not to
Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 3619
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 21:35
Originally posted by Harm vb Harm vb wrote:

OK, RAWfiles to be deleted .
Many photography competions (at least nature/wildlife related) often require RAW files for review if your picture has been chosen into final stages of competion. And this means original RAWs, not ones converted into DNG. Of course, this matters only if ever enter into competions that check originals to see if you have followed rules and not made too drastic image manipulation.
Back to Top
gigo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 March 2008
Country: Japan
Location: Yokohama
Status: Offline
Posts: 418
Post Options Post Options   Quote gigo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2022 at 23:02
The RAW files have a great deal of SONY-specific shooting information, even if they are known.

https://exiftool.org/TagNames/Sony.html

These are not stored in DNG.
Do not delete such information unless you are confident that you will no need it now and in the future.

BTW1:
Someone may have a thread on how to use this information. That thread will probably be very long and will be a source of a lot of useful information.

BTW2:
LightRoom's subscriptions are angry, but not worthless. To be honest, I don't want to go back to the previous version. Rather, I endure the urge to re-develop old RAW data(16TB!) with the latest version of new features.
ILCE-1, FE:14/24/35/STF/135/10400GM, 90M/24105/200600G+6, 1.4x/2xTC
ILCE-QX1, Full Sprctrum NEX-5R, E:2
LA-EA5, A:35G/100S/200M/500R,3x-1x +7, SIGMA MC-11 + Canon EF8-15 FishEye
Back to Top
Jozioau View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 13 May 2007
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Online
Posts: 8328
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jozioau Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 June 2022 at 02:09
Originally posted by Fred_S Fred_S wrote:

What a fine camera so far!


Fred,
Happy to see you're liking your new camera, and appreciating its capabilities.

You of course have several earlier e-mount bodies to compare it with.

In my case, the a7iv was my first leap into the e-mount camera pool. I did attend a launch function by Sony Australia for the original a7 some 9 years ago and was able to test shoot with it but back then I thought it quite fiddly, less robust and far less ergonomic than my then a-mount bodies and stayed away until recently.

Clearly there has been significant evolution over the years and I certainly feel the a7iv is very satisfactory in its build quality and ergonomics, and technically at the leading edge of things. I am able to switch between it and my a99ii without any drama, and with the LA-EA5 find I'm tending to use it as my first choice camera with my a-mount lenses on an everyday basis.

Look forward to seeing lots more of what you're able to do with yours.



"Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst" - Henri Cartier-Bresson
My FlickrPro site
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount full frame Page  <1 4567>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.