FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Sony's EVIL GUI revealed (a bit) in CP+

Page  <12345 20>
Author
Mud.Starrr View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 October 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 353
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mud.Starrr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 18:20
Originally posted by frodeni frodeni wrote:

Originally posted by Mud.Starrr Mud.Starrr wrote:

Maybe this is interesting:
Not really. There is no quality rumor source for Sony. The best you get is this very forum, and we are about the last ones to know anything. Most of the credible "rumors" on rumor websites are quoted from here or dpr forums.

Please do not cram this thread with pointless and fake rumor site quotes.

Frode

Sorry.
I have to say I didn't look much into it.
Just thought it might interest you guys (I am not really interested in this kind of cam anyway).
www.dekunstvanfotografie.nl
Sony A7RIII | A7III | A7
Zeiss: 25mm F/2.0 | 55mm F/1.8 | 85mm F/1.8
Sony: 12-24 F/4 G | 24-70 F/2.8 GM | 100-400 F/4.5-5.6 GM
 



Back to Top
groovyone View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 November 2006
Country: United States
Location: Denver, CO
Status: Offline
Posts: 4114
Post Options Post Options   Quote groovyone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 18:25
Originally posted by Mud.Starrr Mud.Starrr wrote:

Originally posted by frodeni frodeni wrote:

Originally posted by Mud.Starrr Mud.Starrr wrote:

Maybe this is interesting:
Not really. There is no quality rumor source for Sony. The best you get is this very forum, and we are about the last ones to know anything. Most of the credible "rumors" on rumor websites are quoted from here or dpr forums.

Please do not cram this thread with pointless and fake rumor site quotes.

Frode

Sorry.
I have to say I didn't look much into it.
Just thought it might interest you guys (I am not really interested in this kind of cam anyway).


No harm done.    
A99|A900|A100IR|A7|Maxxum 7|Maxxum 5|Polaroid
Back to Top
TallPaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 March 2006
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2824
Post Options Post Options   Quote TallPaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 18:26
Originally posted by Kiklop Kiklop wrote:

The first thing i noticed with this rumor image is that the camera is supposed to record both craw and raw. That is IMHO so non-sony for this type of camera IMHO so i'm quite skeptical about it.


Kiklop, but as per my post above before the rumour site got mentioned, the screenshots on the Sony site clearly show Raw+J in the review screen, look at the top of the screenshot bottom right:


Its easier to see in the video on the first link in the OP, but you can just make it out here.

Unless you meant the camera actually supporting RAW not just cRAW?
A900, 16-35/2.8Z, 70-200/2.8G, 85/1.4Z, 28-75/2.8, 50/1.7. Nex 6, 16-50mm & Rokkor MC/MD lenses.
Back to Top
pakodominguez View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 August 2007
Country: United States
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Posts: 622
Post Options Post Options   Quote pakodominguez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 18:27
Originally posted by Kiklop Kiklop wrote:

The first thing i noticed with this rumor image is that the camera is supposed to record both craw and raw. That is IMHO so non-sony for this type of camera IMHO so i'm quite skeptical about it.

That sheet is fake for sure: this camera will belong to the Alpha family, not to the Cybershot family. But, after the screen shots they start showing yesterday, the Slimline will support RAW and the GUI will be closer to the Cybershot than to the A700/A900/A850.
In other hand, I like the sweat-Panorama
;-)
-------------------

Pako Dominguez
www.pakodominguez.photo/blog
Back to Top
groovyone View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 November 2006
Country: United States
Location: Denver, CO
Status: Offline
Posts: 4114
Post Options Post Options   Quote groovyone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 18:31
Originally posted by TallPaul TallPaul wrote:


Unless you meant the camera actually supporting RAW not just cRAW?


I would be surprised if it has cRAW support, and not just a single RAW option. (Or RAW +J which it looks like it does.)
A99|A900|A100IR|A7|Maxxum 7|Maxxum 5|Polaroid
Back to Top
kiklop View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum owner

Joined: 14 July 2005
Country: Croatia
Location: Rovinj
Status: Offline
Posts: 10564
Post Options Post Options   Quote kiklop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 18:42
Originally posted by TallPaul TallPaul wrote:

Unless you meant the camera actually supporting RAW not just cRAW?

Yes, that's what i referred to. AFAIK, even recent alpha DSLR cameras do not support both but rather just the compressed version so i don't believe Sony will change this with EVIL cameras (i could be wrong of course)
So, i have no doubt that about craw file format or craw+jpg mode but just about uncompressed RAW.

Edited by Kiklop - 11 March 2010 at 18:42
 



Back to Top
kiklop View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum owner

Joined: 14 July 2005
Country: Croatia
Location: Rovinj
Status: Offline
Posts: 10564
Post Options Post Options   Quote kiklop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 18:44
Originally posted by groovyone groovyone wrote:


I would be surprised if it has cRAW support

My bet is different*; i believe they will provide craw only (of course, because of inconsistency in their terminology it will be called raw)

*i don't have recent amount cameras but i'm told a550 for example does craw only (named as raw).
Back to Top
lenswideopen View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 25 May 2009
Country: Denmark
Location: Copenhagen
Status: Offline
Posts: 111
Post Options Post Options   Quote lenswideopen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 18:57
Originally posted by Kiklop Kiklop wrote:


*i don't have recent amount cameras but i'm told a550 for example does craw only (named as raw).


you are right there and therefore I also guess it's cRaw as in the A450/500/550 which is also called only Raw
A550, KM5D, Dynax 7, 505si super, Minolta 50mm 1.7, Sigma 10mm Fisheye, 17-35mm, 50mm Macro, 70-300, SAL 16-105mm

My website

Back to Top
groovyone View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 November 2006
Country: United States
Location: Denver, CO
Status: Offline
Posts: 4114
Post Options Post Options   Quote groovyone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 18:59
Originally posted by Kiklop Kiklop wrote:

Originally posted by groovyone groovyone wrote:


I would be surprised if it has cRAW support

My bet is different*; i believe they will provide craw only (of course, because of inconsistency in their terminology it will be called raw)

*i don't have recent amount cameras but i'm told a550 for example does craw only (named as raw).


I agree.
A99|A900|A100IR|A7|Maxxum 7|Maxxum 5|Polaroid
Back to Top
RubberDials View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 03 January 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1339
Post Options Post Options   Quote RubberDials Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 19:03
Originally posted by PhotoTraveler PhotoTraveler wrote:

If aperture is nothing but a slider, will with be driven nuts trying to get it where we want. Hopefully there will be up/down buttons at the ends of the slider.

There is a very real chance they go too flashy/iPhone ish on the interface.


I don't think the 'slider' is a control at all, just a visual indicator of what changing the aperture will do. There is no thumb moving it on the video and you actually hear an electronic clicking sound suggesting that a dial is being turned.
Back to Top
sdm9465 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 February 2008
Country: Canada
Location: Nova Scotia
Status: Offline
Posts: 1180
Post Options Post Options   Quote sdm9465 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 19:15
Originally posted by RubberDials RubberDials wrote:

Originally posted by PhotoTraveler PhotoTraveler wrote:

If aperture is nothing but a slider, will with be driven nuts trying to get it where we want. Hopefully there will be up/down buttons at the ends of the slider.

There is a very real chance they go too flashy/iPhone ish on the interface.


I don't think the 'slider' is a control at all, just a visual indicator of what changing the aperture will do. There is no thumb moving it on the video and you actually hear an electronic clicking sound suggesting that a dial is being turned.

I agree it's an indicator. Also, isn't it indicating focus point distance rather than aperture? The value on the LCD remains at F2.8 while the indicator is moving and the focus point of the image in the LCD is clearly changing.

Edited by sdm9465 - 11 March 2010 at 19:17
Back to Top
kefkafloyd View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 July 2006
Country: United States
Location: Massachusetts
Status: Offline
Posts: 2455
Post Options Post Options   Quote kefkafloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 19:41
Originally posted by sdm9465 sdm9465 wrote:

Originally posted by RubberDials RubberDials wrote:

Originally posted by PhotoTraveler PhotoTraveler wrote:

If aperture is nothing but a slider, will with be driven nuts trying to get it where we want. Hopefully there will be up/down buttons at the ends of the slider.

There is a very real chance they go too flashy/iPhone ish on the interface.


I don't think the 'slider' is a control at all, just a visual indicator of what changing the aperture will do. There is no thumb moving it on the video and you actually hear an electronic clicking sound suggesting that a dial is being turned.

I agree it's an indicator. Also, isn't it indicating focus point distance rather than aperture? The value on the LCD remains at F2.8 while the indicator is moving and the focus point of the image in the LCD is clearly changing.


It's the aperture control, because it uses their common icon for "narrow" and "wide" apertures, if you've seen the a550 GUI. Focus is controlled on the lens.
Back to Top
dca1213 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 December 2008
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Posts: 3780
Post Options Post Options   Quote dca1213 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 20:20
I think it's a zoom indicator.
Dennis
Back to Top
ijsvogel View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 14 September 2008
Country: Netherlands
Location: netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 1915
Post Options Post Options   Quote ijsvogel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 March 2010 at 20:23
if you use a adapter than you can use A-mount-lenses
if you use SAM or SSM-lenses the AF shall stay

greetings
gustav
my picture`s

www.gkiburg.nl A77 A99 SAL70-400 GII SAL300mm 2.8 SSM-G   SAL500mm F4 SSM-G SAL70-400 SSM-G
http://yourshot.nationalgeographic.com/profile/109172/
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk Page  <12345 20>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.