FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Teleconverter question

Author
wespenn56 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 04 August 2014
Country: United States
Location: Toronto, Ohio
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote wespenn56 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Teleconverter question
    Posted: 01 August 2022 at 18:16
Shooting stills of a heron nest across a small lake with a Sony A7 III and Sigma 100-400mm. Sigma does NOT have the license to produce a 2X teleconverter for the lens, but Sony does have a 2X teleconverter that works with G Master series zooms. I'm thinking that as the electronics should be the same, I's asking if anyone has tried the Sony 2X work with the Sigma 100-400mm?
 



Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 3669
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 August 2022 at 19:15
I do not own either that lens nor the teleconverter, but I doubt that would work, it is quite possible it isn't even physically compatible. Sony teleconverters (I do have 1.4 TC) have this protruding front element and many lenses (including many Sony lenses) do not have suitable space in the rear to accomodate this.
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3565
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 August 2022 at 19:25
I have FE 1.4X TC and the Sigma 100-400 C.

The teleconverter does physically mount to the lens. I was surprised by that. The lens will manually focus if switched on the lens to MF. The aperture values are showing like the teleconverter isn't there and the focal length isn't showing up at all. The lens has firmware 02.

Sigma is offering teleconverters for the L-mount mount version of this lens. Clearly the E-mount version was also designed to accept teleconverters. Sigma may need some lens firmware code to get the lens working correctly with the Sony teleconverters.

Edited by QuietOC - 01 August 2022 at 20:29
Sony A7RIV LA-EA5
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9
Back to Top
Dopol View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 17 May 2007
Country: Netherlands
Location: Utrecht
Status: Offline
Posts: 8295
Post Options Post Options   Quote Dopol Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 August 2022 at 19:33
Both the 70200GM and the 100400GM have a special 'hole' that fits the convertor.
Other Sony lenses do not have such a 'hole' and can not accommodate the convertor.
The same (probably) is the case for the Sigma lens, so I think it will not work.
Be yourself; everyone else is already taken
Back to Top
ilBrino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 11 August 2022
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote ilBrino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 August 2022 at 22:24
This is actually the comment I was looking for.

One question, does the camera shoot in MF? or is it like "jammed" and you can only view?

thanks
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3565
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 August 2022 at 23:11
The shutter works.
Sony A7RIV LA-EA5
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9
 



Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4023
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2022 at 15:25
I'd be interested to know how that works for you. Every long zoom lens I've tested has had significantly less resolution than the camera sensor at the longest end, based on 20Mp APS-C or 42Mp FF which is about the same pixel size.
I guess the A7III would have slightly larger pixels, but I wouldn't have thought you'd get enough benefit at full 400mm zoom to offset the loss of aperture with the TC.
I do know that wide aperture teles can benefit from a TC, and I've had good results with long primes too.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3565
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2022 at 17:22
This Sigma 100-400 DN C is quite sharp on the A7RIV at the long end.

I haven't really tested the image quality with the Sony 1.4x teleconverter, but I suppose I could.

I took it on a hike yesterday (no teleconverter) which was pretty much a complete fail. As noted above, it has the latest firmware. The Sony 200-600 G OSS works great for me even with the 1.4x.

Edited by QuietOC - 16 August 2022 at 18:20
Sony A7RIV LA-EA5
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9
Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 3669
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2022 at 17:37
Originally posted by QuietOC QuietOC wrote:

This Sigma 100-400 DN C is quite sharp on the A7RIV at the long end.

I haven't really tested the image quality with the Sony 1.4x teleconverter, but I suppose I could.

I took it on a hike yesterday which was pretty much a complete fail. As noted above, it has the latest firmware. The Sony 200-600 G OSS works great for me even with the 1.4x.
If I have understood correctly, non-Sony lenses do not work with Sony E mount teleconverters...
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3565
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2022 at 18:19
Originally posted by Hezu Hezu wrote:

If I have understood correctly, non-Sony lenses do not work with Sony E mount teleconverters...


It partially works with this one. There is definitely something wrong with the Sigma firmware though. What seems to work: mount the lens with TC with the camera off. Turn the camera on and then off and back on again gets the aperture and manual focus working. I just took some pictures of flowers with it.
Sony A7RIV LA-EA5
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3565
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 August 2022 at 16:02
Some samples with the Sigma 100-400 DN C on the Sony FE 1.4X Teleconverter:





Sony A7RIV LA-EA5
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9
Back to Top
TomV View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 29 September 2015
Country: United States
Location: Annapolis MD
Status: Offline
Posts: 57
Post Options Post Options   Quote TomV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 August 2022 at 22:25
Is that the TC adding all the purple fringe on the flowers?
TomV
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > Adapters and converters

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.