FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Tether cable alternatives A7RIII

Author
igirl View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 May 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 226
Post Options Post Options   Quote igirl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tether cable alternatives A7RIII
    Posted: 21 October 2018 at 15:01
I'm looking for a way to avoid buying "The Emperor's New Cable" from Tether Tools and find one that's actually priced like all other normal cables.

It does need to be 15ft - longer is even better of course. I don't mind using something to act as an extension to the short Sony cable that comes in the box..... But buying random cables from Ebay/Amazon is a risk for compatibility/quality. Plugging the Type A end into a powered hub and then into the computer was an idea but not sure if it would work.

It also 100% needs to be a USB 3.0 cable - to take full advantage of the camera's 3.0 speed. Finding this Type A to Micro B configuration in USB 3.0 at long length is proving to not be so easy. So work arounds or reliable sources would be appreciated.
 



Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3348
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 October 2018 at 11:37
There may be a reason for the expensive cable. I think the maximum useable cable length is not specified for USB 3 but I would expect it to be less than the 5m specified for USB2, and I have seen 3m recomended as a maximum. To get even this does require a quality cable.

Any longer than this and you need an active repeater (amplifier, if you like). So, if you want 5m (15 feet), you should look for one 3m cable with an active repeater and one without, making sure the repeater ends up in the middle!

The quality cable issue is often non-obvious. My wife and I had both lots of trouble with USB charging leads - her for her Ipad/Iphone and me for USB-charging cameras, and in both cases we seemed to be killing the chargers.

It turned out to be cheap leads that were the problem- they passed enough current for the camera/phone to recognise a USB cable was fitted, but not enough to actually *charge* the battery. Thick cables trump thin ones and cables supplied with commercial products that are intended to be powered by the cable beat oens sold for signal-only connection.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
igirl View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 May 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 226
Post Options Post Options   Quote igirl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 October 2018 at 14:55
Thanks for the reply Miranda - I was just hoping there was more than just one source for known working cables. It seems having a monopoly as the sole supplier allows them to price fix without challenge.
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11333
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 October 2018 at 17:35
Here's one for less than 20 bucks, I can't vouch for it or the company as it just came up in a search.

http://www.valuetechsupply.com/usb-3-0-active-repeater-ext-cable.html?utm_source=googlepepla&utm_medium=adwords&id=60088857765&gclid=CjwKCAjw9sreBRBAEiwARroYmxaDeiQNxaLeTo7aoPkVTt0bNEYaaX5aTzONtRypOflxzM9dvjPTrhoCWEUQAvD_BwE

I don't know how important speed is to you or how much faster USB 3 is to USB 2 when tethering but I have no problems using a USB 2 cable tethering the a99II to Capture One Pro on the PC using two monitors. The smaller 19" monitor shows me the Live View window and the capture window is on the main monitor and it takes just a second or two for the image to load into COP.

I use this IOGEAR cable along with the Sony adapter cable and it makes for a nice package. I have velcro dots on the booster box which sticks to my tripod, it takes the slack off the cable port and it's easier to detach the cable from the box if you want to remove the camera from the tripod.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount full frame

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.