FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The dreaded “Camera Error”

Author
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2187
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: The dreaded “Camera Error”
    Posted: 22 May 2018 at 08:42
Anyone have any idea what usually causes it?
Until this afternoon only had it happen once with my A77, cycled the power on/off and it went away. Sounded like the shutter cycled as I powered the camera back on.
Now had it happen 6 times in conscecutive shots, set for a ~6 sec exposure from a tripod and the camera locks up instantly. Once power cycled I can hear the shutter re-open and the resulting shot is massively underexposed, no where near what a 6 sec exposure should be.

Quick test to unmount the lens and fire an equal long exposure had no errors occur.
 



Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2187
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2018 at 09:52
Might add here, there's some serious weirdness going on with exposure.
These are 2 shots taken while the error was happening, disregard focus as the tripod was on a wobbly deck and I wasn't trying to stand still as the shots were taken.
All the same settings (ISO50 and F/9) apart from shutter speed.

0.6sec

DSC00696 by Johan Olsson, on Flickr

8sec

DSC00698 by Johan Olsson, on Flickr

There was one shot taken between the above 2, at 2.5sec and it's more or less even in exposure.
Shot using EFCS turned on, almost making me think the second curtain somehow trips way early and then locking everything up.

Edited by SnowFella - 22 May 2018 at 09:55
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 24921
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2018 at 11:09
Do you get proper exposure on faster speeds without the lockup?
Back to Top
amrep View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 February 2015
Country: Norway
Status: Offline
Posts: 228
Post Options Post Options   Quote amrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2018 at 11:21
I think "Camera Error" means one of the servo motors in the camera body are not operating properly. Most frequently the aperture control motor has problems. This may of course affect exposure. Check what happens when shooting wide open and without a lens. Inspect the "iris ring" (aperture actuator ring) inside the mount.
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2187
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2018 at 11:50
Shot a handful with the same lens, no changes, just an hour before and had no issues.
Post “problem” I un-mounted the lens and triggered 10+ exposures without problem. Then another few with lens mounted anf finally another few long exposures that went fine.
Really got me scratching my head here!
Back to Top
Heavy-NL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 August 2018
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote Heavy-NL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 August 2018 at 15:04
I found out that the error occurs with one of the lenses I have, the Sony 75-300 beercan lens. Cleaning the contact of the a-mount helps a bit.
 



Back to Top
twb119 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 03 June 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 623
Post Options Post Options   Quote twb119 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 August 2018 at 18:00
try different battery if you have one and/or charge the one you have remove install battery, try different lens, try cleaning the contacts with a pencil eraser gently on camera and lens, i have dropped mine before and it and a error message, turned off camera removed battery waited a few moments put battery in and worked fine, that was over a year ago. Check that lens iris will snap back when you move the lever with your finger.
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2187
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 August 2018 at 05:15
Kind of an old issue now that since haven't come back even once.
Think I messed up the lens change somehow and something didn't line up correctly.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.