FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Time Lapse question

Page  12>
Author
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 178
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Time Lapse question
    Posted: 09 May 2019 at 04:54
With the addition of the intervalometer to the A7iii I am going to be trying for a time lapse shortly in a somewhat challenging situation- sunset on Santorini Island in Greece. I am pretty novice at time lapse and have the following concern. Plan on shooting with a 10 stop ND filter using the A7iii & Zeiss 16-35 f4 using 250 shots at ~ 10 seconds each (will figure out the exact exposure time once I am there based on actual conditions). With a few seconds in between this will still most likely end up being an hour or more and exposure will most likely change significantly during that time. I want to avoid flicker when putting together in post so I was planning on using shutter priority once I get the exact time worked out but was wondering if I would possibly be better of using manual with fixed shutter and aperture and using auto iso to balance out exposure but was uncertain if this would add to much noticeable grain. Which option is recommended or any different additional advice appreciated.
Thanks in asvance to the community - J
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
 



Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11289
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2019 at 14:53
Look into using bulb ramping, there are a few mentions on the web that the a7RIII can do this automatically with Auto ISO in Aperture priority but the shutter has to be in bulb mode.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 178
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2019 at 15:03
Can the A7iii not RIII do this. It was missing intervalometer which was recently added?
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11289
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2019 at 15:15
I would assume so since it was a firmware update for both cameras that added that feature. The only way to know for sure is to go out and test it this evening.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 178
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2019 at 15:29
Thanks didn't realize it was new to the riii as well. Will take a look want silky smooth water but hopefully the 10 stop nd filter will allow this.
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11289
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2019 at 17:09
Here's our topic on the update and what was added to the a7III and a7RIII.
https://www.dyxum.com/dforum/3-0-firmware-update-for-a7-m3-and-a7r-m3_topic134252.html
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
 



Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 178
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2019 at 19:21
I am aware an intervalometer was added (also have an external one that I have not used which I had got for remote shutter to avoid shake before I realized my phone could do this) but all bulb ramping things that I am reading are speaking of using computer controlled software which will not be an option or manual adjusting exposure. This is going to be ~ 250-300 shots over 60-90 minutes so I am trying to figure out the best in camera settings to apply without constant adjustment. It would seem I can either auto adjust ISO, Shutter speed or aperature. Which would be the best to avoid flicker? I haven't tried before but I guess I can try and adjust in post. Not for any type of critical work, just trying to learn something new and possibly get a great keepsake from a trip .
I am leaning towards manual with fixed aperture and shutter and allowing iso to adjust and probably placing a cap on min/max iso but if there is a better way to do it I am open.
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Online
Posts: 3284
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2019 at 11:18
Can't you fix the shutter speed and let both aperture and ISO adjust themselves?

Don't forget to set manual WB beforehand ...
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14176
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2019 at 14:36
Originally posted by jkkyler jkkyler wrote:

It would seem I can either auto adjust ISO, Shutter speed or aperature. Which would be the best to avoid flicker?

In the time lapses I've made (and seen) where flicker is present it occurred even in fully manual exposure mode because the lens diaphragm did not close down to the same precise aperture for each shot. A variance of even 1/4-1/6 stop (not uncommon) will show flicker in the result. My best solution with A-mount was to use only a lens with a manually adjusted diaphragm. If you know your lens will stop down precisely each time, you should be okay.

I am leaning towards manual with fixed aperture and shutter and allowing iso to adjust and probably placing a cap on min/max iso but if there is a better way to do it I am open.

I personally would let ISO and shutter speed float.
Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 178
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2019 at 12:58
duplicate - see below

Edited by jkkyler - 11 May 2019 at 13:11
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 178
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2019 at 13:10
Originally posted by jkkyler jkkyler wrote:

Sybersitizen, thanks for that. I do have a manual lens that will be with me, 14mm 2.8 rokinon so that may be an option. Was planning on using my Zeiss 16-35 f4 (stopped down to f8 most likely) but perhaps manual is a better option.

I will be staying in a b&B in this cliffside and the opportunity to try for the 'holy grail' is too much to pass by. Chance of a lifetime. EVen if I end up woth some flicker the capture is just for me and friends/family. As long as I get a few individual captures that are breathtaking I will be happy. With a few hundred captures I should be able to get several 'keeper' solo grabs.



EDIT: AAAARGH just occurred to me that my 14mm Rokinon won't accept a ND filter (large bulbous front end - no threads). I have 10 stop ND and a CP filter that fit my 16-35 Zeiss and also my SONY 24-240
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
C_N_RED_AGAIN View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 July 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1046
Post Options Post Options   Quote C_N_RED_AGAIN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2019 at 14:28
Why I kept my a7rii for the smooth reflection app
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14176
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2019 at 15:31
Originally posted by jkkyler jkkyler wrote:

AAAARGH just occurred to me that my 14mm Rokinon won't accept a ND filter (large bulbous front end - no threads). I have 10 stop ND and a CP filter that fit my 16-35 Zeiss and also my SONY 24-240

Do you really need 10-second exposures (thus the filter) for the time lapse you described? Is it because you want to blur the water motion? If so, do some time lapse tests in manual mode with your native lenses ahead of time to see if they stop down precisely for each shot. With E-mount's electronic aperture control, they might.
Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 178
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2019 at 16:34
Yea, the long exposures are to smooth out the water. Good idea about checking an unrelated time lapse ahead of time to see how accurate the Zeiss stops down. Luckily if I don't get a total flicker free time lapse it isn't a huge loss. I can always try and fix in post as well when I get back to the states. As long as I get some great stills it will all be okay. Will have 4 chances on Santorini to try and get it right. MIght as well try at Meteora too although I will only be there 2 days (1 night/sunset) to try and get that one right - gonna try that one from this locale

Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Other photographic topics Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.061 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.