FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Windows 10 (FREE) for Win 7 & 8 users

Page  123 17>
Author
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 2640
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Windows 10 (FREE) for Win 7 & 8 users
    Posted: 05 November 2019 at 11:23
I bought a couple of used HP desktops without drives and was worried I might have to purchase Windows licenses. But I installed 10 Pro and found them already fully activated. 10 also just boots up when I've swapped the system drive between different hardware. Though the Pro version doesn't activate on a machine previously activated with Home.

For installing 10 I made a UEFI bootable installer on my fastest SD card. Just a warning. Don't use Sony's in camera format option on such a card. The camera will happily use it, but the card will be unreadable by Windows. I had to PhotoRec the images.

I am still using 7 for work, but they are supposedly upgrading it soon.

Edited by QuietOC - 05 November 2019 at 14:10
Sony A7II A6000 A77II LA-EA3 LA-EA4 MC-11 MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14225
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 November 2019 at 06:02
Over most of the 4+ years since this thread was started, I've been happily using Windows 7 on all my computers. However, Microsoft has now forced my hand by declaring the end-of-life for Win 7 support in January 2020, so I figured I might as well take action before the official deadline.

I recently converted two of my computers to Win 10, and I'm glad I waited for a more solid level of software maturity. No weird incompatibilities or other regrettable surprises. Minimal disruption. And it's still a free upgrade.

One more computer to go and I'll be done. Anyway, no big deal ... just bumping the thread for the helluvit, I guess.
Back to Top
Pirate View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Liverpool
Status: Offline
Posts: 5757
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pirate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2017 at 20:31
Ahoy!

I received an email message from Build 2017 the developer of the Windows 10 Creators Edition OS to advise there will be a new release in the autumn/fall (depending on where on the planet you are) called the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update which you read about here to see what it's all about, so it's just some heads-up should you be interested (or not)

If not already signed-up, it might be a good idea to register for the Windows Insider Programme so you get a notification message advising when it's available either by direct download or using the Windows Update and Security option in the PC Settings of Windows 10.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3397
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 09:03
Glad you found it!
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11353
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2017 at 12:50
It was in the Internet Options>General>Tabs>Tabbed Browser Settings and it had changed from Open a New Tab to Open a New Tab in my News Feed. I do have Chrome installed but am used to IE and am aware of Firefox but never felt a need for it. But that might have changed.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3397
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2017 at 09:12
Originally posted by stiuskr stiuskr wrote:

Re: automatic updates. Yesterday I fire up the laptop and there's a notice about restarting to install updates. Which I did and now I've got to fix it. With Internet Explorer opening a new tab would bring up Google and my most visited sites, now it's a link to the neverending Microsoft Live page and is totally useless.


You should be able to find the google home page, enter the 'tools/internet options' tab in IE, then select 'use current' in the general tab as your home page. I'd recommend using either Chrome or Firefox, though, and Firefox has better privacy arrangements. I use both.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
 



Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 27331
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 13:18
Rob, rather then fixing it maybe just switch to Mozilla Firefox

Two big advantages:
- I till brings up the page with links to your most visited sites
- It's properly colour managed

I've been using it for several years now, and for me it's been virtually hassle free (and financially free)
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11353
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 12:48
Re: automatic updates. Yesterday I fire up the laptop and there's a notice about restarting to install updates. Which I did and now I've got to fix it. With Internet Explorer opening a new tab would bring up Google and my most visited sites, now it's a link to the neverending Microsoft Live page and is totally useless.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
Cliff View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 November 2006
Country: United States
Location: Richmond Va
Status: Offline
Posts: 702
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cliff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 April 2017 at 13:26
Originally posted by IanL IanL wrote:

[QUOTE=petesidewalk]

I encountered a similar Win 10 problem with my Graphics Driver, which I use to feed a large TV screen. Previously, I could use the ATI utility to set a custom resolution to get a good fit to the screen. No more - stuck with a very limited set of resolutions, none of which are quite right.

However, a Google search led me to the freeby Custom Resolution Utility, which works beautifully. Perhaps there is something similar for your problem.


One thing I do like about Win10 is the ability to set multiple monitors at different settings. On my desktop I use a 28" monitor turned vertically for OS, icons, email, etc and a larger, 42" 4k screen for photos. Prior versions of Windows set the monitors at their defaults and that was that. Now I can customize resolution, font size, icons, etc for each. Pretty nice really.

FWIW, I'm using an AMD Firepro adapter, It was not terribly expensive and does a nice job with 4k and handling both screens. Sometimes it is time to give up older (expensive) beloved hardware that we know intimately when new stuff does what we need and more easily.

Time to the dumpster can be shorter than mean time between failures, and that hurts. But, it is sorta like Nikons, Canons and the A9. It ain't going to be backwards compatible with a mirror. "The latest and greatest" often is. Moore's Law derivatives are still in the IT driver's seat.
Contax RF, Minolta7000i, Sony A100, A65, Nex5T, A7ii, A6500. 2 many lenses, mostly ordinary Minolta & 3rd party A, MC/D, other mf, vintage Vivitars & cats, LA-EA2,3,4 E16-50&55-210mm
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11353
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 17:55
I don't have a problem installing updates, I have a problem when Windows decides now it's time to install that update no matter what you're doing. I want to update when I'm ready to and not be restricted to a 12 hour daily window where they can do what they want, it may be their program but it's my machine.

edit: addy, thanks for that, will read it later. I don't want it disabled, I want the updates to auto download but I want to be able to tell it, no, not now. Just like Win7

Edited by stiuskr - 20 April 2017 at 17:59
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2113
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 17:53
Originally posted by petesidewalk petesidewalk wrote:


Greetings all,

I realize this is a photography based site, not a video based site, so here goes. I owned Sony Vegas 12 in the past and updated to Magix Vegas 14 when I updated my video processing computer to Windows 10. I had no idea that Windows 10 updates were not easily subject to choice when I installed W10. I used AVC MainConcept rendering which would only use Nvidia drivers into the low 340's for my GTX 590. Upon update, bam... no GPU acceleration. Same with my raid drivers for my esata hardware, it cooks hard drives now. I was interested in running an Radeon RX card with an old Fermi series GTX in tandem on my motherboard, but you can only do that on Windows 7....


I encountered a similar Win 10 problem with my Graphics Driver, which I use to feed a large TV screen. Previously, I could use the ATI utility to set a custom resolution to get a good fit to the screen. No more - stuck with a very limited set of resolutions, none of which are quite right.

However, a Google search led me to the freeby Custom Resolution Utility, which works beautifully. Perhaps there is something similar for your problem.
Ian
Back to Top
Cliff View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 November 2006
Country: United States
Location: Richmond Va
Status: Offline
Posts: 702
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cliff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 14:45
"There is a perfectly good reason most people should update their Windows machine automatically: security."

You got it. My personal and company machines have all had auto updates turned on for close to 20 years. Before the millennium one of my techies came to me and said "I'm getting really tired of watching for Windows updates, and I end up almost always pushing them to everyone anyway. How about if we turn on auto updates?" I agreed, and it's worked pretty well ever since. It is just irritating that Microsoft has taken the choice away from users, or made it difficult to do.

The metered connection trick is available off the desktop and does not require editing group policies.

Contax RF, Minolta7000i, Sony A100, A65, Nex5T, A7ii, A6500. 2 many lenses, mostly ordinary Minolta & 3rd party A, MC/D, other mf, vintage Vivitars & cats, LA-EA2,3,4 E16-50&55-210mm
Back to Top
petesidewalk View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 December 2007
Country: United States
Location: Oklahoma
Status: Offline
Posts: 391
Post Options Post Options   Quote petesidewalk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 14:33

Greetings all,

I realize this is a photography based site, not a video based site, so here goes. I owned Sony Vegas 12 in the past and updated to Magix Vegas 14 when I updated my video processing computer to Windows 10. I had no idea that Windows 10 updates were not easily subject to choice when I installed W10. I used AVC MainConcept rendering which would only use Nvidia drivers into the low 340's for my GTX 590. Upon update, bam... no GPU acceleration. Same with my raid drivers for my esata hardware, it cooks hard drives now. I was interested in running an Radeon RX card with an old Fermi series GTX in tandem on my motherboard, but you can only do that on Windows 7.

I like the added security of Windows 10, but the "one size fits all" driver update policy has been a disaster for me. Come to think of it, I have an ACER i5 tablet and the widows update took out it's g sensor and automatic screen rotation capability. The hardware compatibility tool in the first release really didn't fare well in my opinion. I look forward to downloading this update to see if some of these glitches have been addressed, and I really won't be able to tell if I try (which has been the root of the problem).

Thanks all,

Greg


Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 9908
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 13:56
There is a perfectly good reason most people should update their Windows machine automatically: security.

Anyway, you can disable it and it is easy to find if you just google it: http://www.pcworld.com/article/3085136/windows/two-ways-to-control-or-stop-windows-10-updates.html
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  123 17>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.